[SOLVED] by using steam-overlay. Cannot launch CS:GO
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
midnite
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2022 10:31 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] by using steam-overlay. Cannot launch CS:GO Reply with quote

I am new to Linux gaming. Should I install Steamcmd or the steam-overlay? As the later is from external repositories, I prefer the former one. And Steamcmd seems more lightweight. But it did not work.

I was playing Counter-Strike Global Offensive on Windows with Steam. I have emerged games-server/steamcmd. /opt/steamcmd/steamcmd.sh itself seems working fine. I can login to my steam account. Then I do not know which one to download from the Steam Application IDs list, 740 or 730? 740 is having a dedicated server, so I tried 740 first but it failed to start. Then I downloaded 730 also and it fails to start too.

Starting 740 gives the following outputs. And it halts at the last line. No game is started. I have to exit it by Ctrl+c.
https://dpaste.com/38E7DNM6L
Code:
% /home/midnite/Steam/steamapps/common/Counter-Strike\ Global\ Offensive\ Beta\ -\ Dedicated\ Server/srcds_run
/home/midnite/Steam/steamapps/common/Counter-Strike Global Offensive Beta - Dedicated Server/srcds_run: line 33: cd: too many arguments
WARNING: No map specified! Defaulting to de_dust
Server will auto-restart if there is a crash.
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/midnite/Steam/steamapps/common/Counter-Strike Global Offensive Beta - Dedicated Server/bin:/home/midnite/Steam/steamapps/common/Counter-Strike Global Offensive Beta - Dedicated Server:/home/midnite/Steam/steamapps/common/Counter-Strike Global Offensive Beta - Dedicated Server/bin:/usr/lib64/nvidia:
#
#Console initialized.
Initializing Steam libraries for secure Internet server
[S_API] SteamAPI_Init(): Loaded local 'steamclient.so' OK.
CAppInfoCacheReadFromDiskThread took 18 milliseconds to initialize