make oldconfig alternative for major kernel upgrades
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Section_8
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2023 7:57 pm    Post subject: make oldconfig alternative for major kernel upgrades Reply with quote

I have been upgrading kernels for many years, using make oldconfig to migrate .config to the new kernel. This is fine for most upgrades, but for upgrading to a new release, make oldconfig can be very tedious, answering all of the many questions. I have tentatively settled on the following procedure as an alternative to make oldconfig, for major kernel upgrades, to address this:

1 - Copy the old .config to /usr/src/linux
2 - make helpnewconfig > whatever.txt - saves off all "new" config options and help text.
3 - make olddefconfig - default all new config settings.
4 - make menuconfig, browse the output from step 2, change settings from defaults if needed.

I am still experimenting with this, trying to decide if this can introduce problems, or at least more problems than make oldconfig. One thing I am not absolutely sure about, is does helpnewconfig output the same settings that make oldconfig queries?
pietinger

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2023 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This sounds very interesting (I like new ideas) ... but I dont understand where is the time advantage ... because you have to read your "whatever.txt" the same as you have to read all queries when doing "make oldconfig" (and as you already mentionend, it should be the same text).

Okay, you can print "whatever.txt" and do the reading offline ... one plus point ;-)

Please report your further investigations - I like to know all kernel things :-D
CaptainBlood
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2023 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It happened many times here to make an erroneous select at oldconfig.