Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
removing pipewire from my system (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Spanik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 961
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 1:35 pm    Post subject: removing pipewire from my system (solved) Reply with quote

While trying to find out why Jamin doesn't want to start anymore I found that for some reason unknown to me Pipewire is running on my system. Now I do not really want this. I use Alsa and Jack and that suits all my needs fine. I have no idea how pipewire came onto the system in the first place.

Is there a way to find out which packages installed it and start it at startup?
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions


Last edited by Spanik on Sat Nov 18, 2023 10:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 3879

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can run
Code:

emerge -cav pipewire

and see what pulled it.
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 961
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
daw ~ # emerge -cav pipewire

Calculating dependencies... done!
  media-video/pipewire-0.3.77-r2 pulled in by:
    kde-plasma/kpipewire-5.27.7 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=
    kde-plasma/kwin-5.27.7-r2 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=
    kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.27.7-r1 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=
    media-libs/libsdl2-2.28.1 requires media-video/pipewire:=[abi_x86_64(-)], media-video/pipewire:0/0.4=[abi_x86_64(-)]
    media-sound/mpd-0.23.12-r2 requires media-video/pipewire:=, media-video/pipewire:0/0.4=
    media-video/wireplumber-0.4.14 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3.65-r1:=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3.65-r1:0/0.4=
    sys-apps/xdg-desktop-portal-1.16.0-r1 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=

>>> No packages selected for removal by depclean


Looks like Plasma did a number on that. Silly that it starts that because just killing the processes has no effect on sound. going to see if I can change the use to -pipewire.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4311
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanik wrote:
Looks like Plasma did a number on that. Silly that it starts that because just killing the processes has no effect on sound. going to see if I can change the use to -pipewire.

Yes, use-flag "pipewire" is now default in a plasma-profile (desktop-profile also ?)
Maybe it is sufficient to set this in package.use:
Code:
media-video/pipewire -sound-server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garrison
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2023 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:

Yes, use-flag "pipewire" is now default in a plasma-profile (desktop-profile also ?)

You probably wanted to say that 'pipewire USE sound-server' is now default in plasma desktop profile, that is correct. You do not want to operate 'USE screencast' because that is about screencast using video part of pipewire.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 961
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:
Spanik wrote:
Looks like Plasma did a number on that. Silly that it starts that because just killing the processes has no effect on sound. going to see if I can change the use to -pipewire.

Yes, use-flag "pipewire" is now default in a plasma-profile (desktop-profile also ?)
Maybe it is sufficient to set this in package.use:
Code:
media-video/pipewire -sound-server


Put in the flags, emerged the whole lot with -uvUD but still pipewire and wireplumber running. I think I'll need to learn how to write a startup script that just kills them each time. The dependencies have shrunk however:

Code:
daw ~ # emerge -cav pipewire

Calculating dependencies... done!
  media-video/pipewire-0.3.80 pulled in by:
    kde-plasma/kpipewire-5.27.8 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=
    kde-plasma/kwin-5.27.8-r3 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=
    kde-plasma/plasma-workspace-5.27.8-r1 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=
    media-video/wireplumber-0.4.14 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3.65-r1:0/0.4=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3.65-r1:=
    sys-apps/xdg-desktop-portal-1.16.0-r1 requires >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:=, >=media-video/pipewire-0.3:0/0.4=

>>> No packages selected for removal by depclean


That xdg-desktop-portal seemt to come from flatpak. Going to start kicking that out. I remember I wanted to try something that was only available as a flatpak but I never got it working.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garrison
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spanik wrote:

Put in the flags, emerged the whole lot with -uvUD but still pipewire and wireplumber running. I think I'll need to learn how to write a startup script that just kills them each time. The dependencies have shrunk however:

Without 'USE sound-server' pipewire and wireplumber are only handling video. Check used devices with 'wpctl status', you should be fine already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 961
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2023 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That gives:
Code:
daw ~ # wpctl status
Could not connect to PipeWire
daw ~ #


So that seems to be ok. Next step finishing that @world update. There is a new kernel I see.

Thanks guys!
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum