View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jankom Guru
Joined: 30 Aug 2021 Posts: 342 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2023 10:13 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] No sound - Alsa |
|
|
I have not been playing music very often on my fitlet2 home desktop machine, but in the past it worked. My system is completely updated and works fine. However, today I did some CD ripping and mp3 comversion, so when I tryed to play az audio file there was no sound. Some relevant xterm command outputs: Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ lspci | grep -i audio
00:0e.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Celeron N3350/Pentium N4200/Atom E3900 Series Audio Cluster (rev 0b)
janos@andraslinux ~ $ aplay -L
null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=PCH
HDA Intel PCH, ALC1150 Analog
Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
HDA Intel PCH, ALC1150 Analog
Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
HDA Intel PCH, ALC1150 Analog
Front output / input
4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
...
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=2
HDA Intel PCH, HDMI 2
HDMI Audio Output
janos@andraslinux ~ $ cat /sys/class/sound/card*/id
PCH
janos@andraslinux ~ $ speaker-test -t wav -c 2
speaker-test 1.2.9
Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 64 to 1048576
Period size range from 32 to 524288
Using max buffer size 1048576
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 262144
was set buffer_size = 1048576
0 - Front Left
1 - Front Right
Time per period = 2.685985
...
janos@andraslinux ~ $ | and it keeps going 0 - 1.. without any sound. I ran out of troubleshooting ideas. Can anyone please help?
Could it be that my fitlet2 sound output hardware became defective?
jankom
Last edited by jankom on Sat Nov 25, 2023 2:05 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wanne32 n00b
Joined: 11 Nov 2023 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 6:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | unalias grep
ps -ef | grep -E '(pipe|pulse|X)' |
Does the fallowing help?
Code: | gentoo-pipewire-launcher |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
jankom Guru
Joined: 30 Aug 2021 Posts: 342 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 3:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ unalias grep
janos@andraslinux ~ $ ps -ef | grep -E '(pipe|pulse|X)'
root 1845 1840 3 09:52 tty7 00:00:11 /usr/bin/X :0 vt7 -auth /var/lib/xdm/authdir/authfiles/A:0-zopWdh
janos 2074 1994 0 09:52 ? 00:00:00 /bin/bash --login /usr/lib64/X11/xdm/Xsession
janos 2571 2568 0 09:57 pts/2 00:00:00 grep -E (pipe|pulse|X)
janos@andraslinux ~ $ gentoo-pipewire-launcher
bash: gentoo-pipewire-launcher: command not found
janos@andraslinux ~ $
| I do not have pulseaudio installed, I have alsa as slected: Quote: | media-libs/alsa-lib-1.2.9
media-libs/alsa-oss-1.1.8
media-libs/alsa-topology-conf-1.2.5.1
media-libs/alsa-ucm-conf-1.2.9
media-sound/alsa-utils-1.2.9
| One thing I noticed that when I turn on or off the computer I do hear a click in the speakers, therefore the computer hardware (audio out) is probably not defective.
I did folllow (checked again) the gentoo alas instructions. Do I need pulseaudio on top of alsa?
jankom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22578
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
PulseAudio is only required if you have usage requirements that cannot be met by simple ALSA. More importantly for this thread, PulseAudio cannot work unless ALSA works, so if ALSA is currently broken for you, PulseAudio will also be silent. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jankom Guru
Joined: 30 Aug 2021 Posts: 342 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Understood.
Strange thing: is alsa running? Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ rc-status
Runlevel: default
sysklogd [ started ]
ntpd [ started ]
dovecot [ started ]
avahi-daemon [ started ]
netmount [ started ]
display-manager [ started ]
apache2 [ started ]
cronie [ started ]
cupsd [ started ]
postfix [ started ]
local [ started ]
Dynamic Runlevel: hotplugged
Dynamic Runlevel: needed/wanted
dbus [ started ]
display-manager-setup [ started ]
Dynamic Runlevel: manual
iwd [ started ]
dhcpcd [ started ]
janos@andraslinux ~ $ su -c "rc-service alsasound stop"
Password:
* WARNING: you are stopping a boot service
* Storing ALSA Mixer Levels ... [ ok ]
janos@andraslinux ~ $ | Alsa does not show in services at current run level. Should I add it to "default" run level? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 5:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jankom,
What does show for your audio devices?
What is the content of /proc/asound/devices?
It looks like you have several audio devices.
Which one do you want to use?
The alsasound service saves and restores alsa settings across boots.
If its not started you sound will be muted at boot time. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jankom Guru
Joined: 30 Aug 2021 Posts: 342 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 6:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | 00:0e.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Celeron N3350/Pentium N4200/Atom E3900 Series Audio Cluster [8086:5a98] (rev 0b)
DeviceName: Onboard - Sound
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Celeron N3350/Pentium N4200/Atom E3900 Series Audio Cluster [8086:7270]
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
| is the only audio or snd related output of "lspci -nnk". On the otherhand, Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 65536 1
snd_hda_codec_realtek 135168 1
snd_hda_codec_generic 77824 1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
ledtrig_audio 16384 1 snd_hda_codec_generic
snd_hda_intel 40960 0
snd_intel_dspcfg 16384 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec 122880 4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hwdep 16384 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_hda_core 86016 5 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_pcm 135168 4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
led_class 16384 4 snd_hda_codec_generic,sdhci,input_leds,iwlmvm
snd_timer 32768 1 snd_pcm
snd 94208 8 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,snd_pcm
soundcore 16384 1 snd
janos@andraslinux ~ $ | and Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ cat ~/.assoundrc
pcm.!spdif {
type hw
card 0
device 0
}
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm "spdif"
}
}
# Share a single card with multiple applications
#pcm.!default {
# type plug
# slave.pcm "dmix:CARD=0,DEVICE=1,RATE=48000"
#}
janos@andraslinux ~ $ | I do not have /etc/asound.conf file.
jankom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jankom,
Your chipset requires SND_SOC_INTEL_SKYLAKE together with the SND_SOC_codecs and the sys-firmware/sof-firmware package to provide the firmware.
You did not post the content of /proc/asound/devices.
I suspect that its almost empty. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jankom Guru
Joined: 30 Aug 2021 Posts: 342 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 9:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@Neddy Seagoon
Sorry, I missed that: Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ cat /proc/asound/devices
2: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
3: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
4: [ 0- 1]: digital audio playback
5: [ 0- 3]: digital audio playback
6: [ 0- 7]: digital audio playback
7: [ 0- 8]: digital audio playback
8: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
9: [ 0- 2]: hardware dependent
10: [ 0] : control
33: : timer
janos@andraslinux ~ $
| The funny thing that sound worked fine a few months ago, and all I did was occasional eix-sync and some network related stuff.
Yes, I did compile the most recent kernel but did not change kerenel configuration.
EDIT - add'l info: Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ su -c "alsactl init"
Password:
Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC1150" "HDA:10ec0900,00000000,00100001 HDA:8086280a,80860101,00100000" "0x8086" "0x7270"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method
janos@andraslinux ~ $ amixer sset Master unmute
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Playback 0 - 87
Mono:
Front Left: Playback 60 [69%] [-20.25dB] [on]
Front Right: Playback 60 [69%] [-20.25dB] [on]
jaamixer: Unable to find simple control 'Headphone',0
janos@andraslinux ~ $ amixer sset Speaker unmute
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'Speaker',0
janos@andraslinux ~ $ speaker-test -c 2
speaker-test 1.2.9
Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 2048 to 16384
Period size range from 1024 to 1024
Using max buffer size 16384
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 1024
was set buffer_size = 16384
0 - Front Left
1 - Front Right
Time per period = 5.651390
0 - Front Left
^CWrite error: -4,Interrupted system call
xrun_recovery failed: -4,Interrupted system call
Transfer failed: Interrupted system call
janos@andraslinux ~ $ | I guess the Headphone is where I plug in my external speakers. I do not have internal speakers in the tiny fitlet2 box. So apparently the Headphone is not working.
jankom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gorg86 Guru
Joined: 20 May 2011 Posts: 308
|
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 11:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Start up alsamixer, select the device with F6 and crank up + unmute everything. Sometimes the names of the outputs are just inaccurate. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
APolozov Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2006 Posts: 194 Location: Voronezh, Russia
|
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2023 7:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I see in your .asoundrc mixed "spdif" (digital output) and "card 0 device 0" (analog output), IMHO it is wrong.
Try rename this config (to .asoundrc.bak for example) and run "sudo /etc/init.d/alsasound restart" _________________ Excuse my bad English, I only study it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jankom Guru
Joined: 30 Aug 2021 Posts: 342 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2023 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you all for offering ideas. Here is the latest (and this also corrects one of my earlier "code" posting): Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ su -c "/etc/init.d/alsasound restart"
Password:
* WARNING: you are stopping a boot service
* Storing ALSA Mixer Levels ... [ ok ]
* Restoring Mixer Levels ... [ ok ]
janos@andraslinux ~ $ amixer sset Master unmute
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Playback 0 - 87
Mono:
Front Left: Playback 83 [95%] [-3.00dB] [on]
Front Right: Playback 83 [95%] [-3.00dB] [on]
janos@andraslinux ~ $ amixer sset Headphone unmute
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'Headphone',0
janos@andraslinux ~ $ amixer sset Speaker unmute
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'Speaker',0
janos@andraslinux ~ $ | Still no sound, no assound or .assound file after restartting alsasound daemon
jankom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54572 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
jankom,
Code: | janos@andraslinux ~ $ cat /proc/asound/devices
2: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback |
That's you front stereo analogue output the [ 0- 0] means card 0 device 0, which is what alsa will use by default.
There is no remapping.or anything required, so no /etc/asound.conf or ~/asoundrc.
Hide those files if you have them.
Open alsamixer and mute everything.
Unmute only Front, Mastar, Headphones and PCM then set the sliders to 70%
snd_hda_intel can operate at the 48kHz or 44.1kHz sample rates but only one at a time.
If any digital outputs are enabled only digital outputs work.
Digital controls have IEC or S/PDIF in their names. Hence mute everything, then only unmutes what yo may need. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jankom Guru
Joined: 30 Aug 2021 Posts: 342 Location: USA
|
Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2023 2:04 pm Post subject: Thanks NeddySeagoon |
|
|
SOLVED!
That was it. So simple yet frustrating. S/PDIF controls were not muted in alsamixer.
Back to listening to good music on my favorite linux computer.
Lessons learned:
* There is no ~/.asoundrc or /etc/asasound.conf file, sound works fine without it.
* "speaker-test -c 2" command works and you can hear which side is Right or Left.
* alsa daemon "/etc/init.d/alsasound" starts at boot level and it is running, but rc-status command (current, default run level) does not show it.
Thanks again,
jankom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|