No kernel and initrd in /boot after installing gentoo-kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
PCNet3000
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2024 12:13 pm    Post subject: No kernel and initrd in /boot after installing gentoo-kernel Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm a gentoo newbie and am currently following the Handbook to finish my first gentoo installation.
For the kernel section, I chose to install the distribution kernel:
Code:
emerge --ask sys-kernel/gentoo-kernel

During the installation there was a minor hiccup with emerge asking me to add the USE flag 'dracut' to the package 'installkernel', and I did that manually in /etc/portage/package.use/use.
However, after I installed GRUB2 and used `grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg`, it didn't detect any linux kernel. As a result the new intallation cannot be booted.
I checked and there are no kernel and initrd in /boot.
Code:

(chroot) # ls /boot
efi gentoo grub loader

However there seems to be something in /boot/gentoo/.6.13-gentoo-dist/:
Code:

(chroot) # ls -lah /boot/gentoo/6.6.13-gentoo-dist/
29M initrd
12M linux

What am I doing wrong? Thanks!

Some information
Hardware: Intel Atom D2550 (EMT64 disabled in firmware, amd64 is not supported)
Stage3: stage3-i686-systemd-mergedusr-*.tar.xz

Please tell me if more information is needed.
GDH-gentoo
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2024 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PCNet3000 wrote:
During the installation there was a minor hiccup with emerge asking me to add the USE flag 'dracut' to the package 'installkernel', and I did that manually in /etc/portage/package.use/use.

Also set the grub USE flag for sys-kernel/installkernel.
As a packager I just don't want things to get messier with weird build systems and multiple toolchains requirements though :)
AndrewAmmerlaan
Developer
Developer