View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2024 9:42 am    Post subject: An idiot try nftables Reply with quote

Hello,

So, to keep on the up-to-date good way of doing things, I find out it's not a good things to use iptables anymore. New cool toy seems to be ntftables.

What a pain ! 

First things first: I'm not very good with network, to stay nice.

Before, I was doing an iptables conf file just sending the rules at each boot while a service was made to be enabled and run theses rules. Was perfectly working, specially my needs were merely to disable everything and allow 80/443/22, plus a few stuff as ICMP.

It seems almost the same with nftables, from what I read on the wiki, but way more sophiscated (and complicated).

From what I understand, it works with at least a configuration files, which can call other modules files with their own sets of rules (DCHP, ICMP, SSH…).

So far as I was used to, there was three type of rules (with IPTables): IN, OUT and FORWARDED.

I tried to follow this page, by doing the magic thinking (while reading a bit what it was adding) and so from the wiki page I have now theses files:

- /etc/nftables.rules
- /etc/nftables.conf.d/:
00-definitions.rules 01-drop-policy.rules 01-icmp.rules 05-dhcp.rules 05-lan-nat.rules 21-ntp.rules 22-ssh.rules

Without modification from the wiki.

Then I try to test the configuration, and the first problem arise:

Code:
Mephistopheles /etc # nft -c -f nftables.rules
Mephistopheles /etc # nft -c -f nftables.conf.d/00-definitions.rules
Mephistopheles /etc # nft -c -f nftables.conf.d/01-drop-policy.rules
Mephistopheles /etc # nft -c -f nftables.conf.d/01-icmp.rules
nftables.conf.d/01-icmp.rules:14:14-26: Error: No such file or directory
    ip saddr @trusted_nets icmp type $trusted_icmp_types counter accept