View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
pabloblo n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2024 9:13 pm Post subject: question about graphical |
|
|
hello
i have this problem : https://bpa.st/ODNQ
I'm on xfce and the graphical interface still works, I don't understand
i follow this tutorial : https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU
all modules are selected in the kernel |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5109 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2024 11:24 pm Post subject: Re: question about graphical |
|
|
pabloblo wrote: | all modules are selected in the kernel |
Maybe a typo ... ?
Just show us (copy it) the line CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="... from your kernel .config _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pabloblo n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
hello pietinger,
yes i found this line, CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""
this is in the .config, there is no extra firmaware but i installed it, i have sys-kernel/linux-firmware-20240610 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2429
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pabloblo wrote: | hello pietinger,
yes i found this line, CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""
this is in the .config, there is no extra firmaware but i installed it, i have sys-kernel/linux-firmware-20240610 |
You need to integrate the firmware in the kernel if you have the drivers statically compile into the kernel. The firmware is not available until filesystems are mounted and this happens after the drivers are loaded. You can verify that by running:
Code: | dmesg | grep firmware |
It'll print a bunch of errors of firmware not being found.
Best Regards,
Georgi
Last edited by logrusx on Wed Jun 19, 2024 3:09 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 1:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pabloblo,
That's required but not sufficient.
If you build any module that needs firmware as built into the kernel its firmware must be listed in CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=""
For built in modules, firmware is loaded as part of initailsation which happens before root is mounted. Therefore /lib/firmware cannot be read.
Firmware listed in CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="" is copied into the kernel at kernel build time, so it works.
When you choose to build modules that need firmware as loadable modules, they are not loaded until after root is mounted, so /lib/firmware can be used too. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5109 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
pabloblo n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok I will read this page, thx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mrbassie l33t
Joined: 31 May 2013 Posts: 821 Location: Go past the sign for cope, right at the sign for seethe. If you see the target you've missed it.
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've been attacking the same thing today with an intel skylake cpu, building in the firmware did not help. After some searching I found this
Code: | generix February 28, 2024, 11:27am 8
For your cpu, likely setting
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE
to
i915/skl_dmc_ver1_27.bin i915/skl_guc_70.1.1.bin i915/skl_huc_2.0.0.bin
and
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR
to
/lib/firmware
should be necessary.
|
Applied the suggest changes (meaning guc and huc), rebuilt kernel + initramfs, rebooted and still got the error in dmesg.
Code: | CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="i915/skl_dmc_ver1_27.bin.zst i915/skl_guc_70.1.1.bin.zst i915/skl_huc_2.0.0.bin.zst regulatory.db regulatory.db.p7s iwlwifi-7265D-29.ucode.zst"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
CONFIG_FW_LOADER_COMPRESS_ZSTD=y |
Then build i915 as a module, rebuilt etc. and the firmware loaded successfully.
Any light to be shed on this? _________________ I spent a christmas in Vienna twenty something years ago. It was a beautiful city. Everyone was so friendly. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5109 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mrbassie wrote: | I've been attacking the same thing today with an intel skylake cpu, building in the firmware did not help. [...]
Applied the suggest changes (meaning guc and huc), rebuilt kernel + initramfs, rebooted and still got the error in dmesg.
Code: | CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="i915/skl_dmc_ver1_27.bin.zst i915/skl_guc_70.1.1.bin.zst i915/skl_huc_2.0.0.bin.zst regulatory.db regulatory.db.p7s iwlwifi-7265D-29.ucode.zst"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"
CONFIG_FW_LOADER_COMPRESS_ZSTD=y |
Then build i915 as a module, rebuilt etc. and the firmware loaded successfully.
Any light to be shed on this? |
If you want configure your i915 statically into your kernel AND you need firmware for it THEN you should use uncompressed firmware files (== dont set use-flag "compress-zstd" for package "linux-firmware") because <Help> of CONFIG_FW_LOADER_COMPRESS says:
Quote: | Compressed firmware support does not apply to firmware images that are built into the kernel image (CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE). |
_________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mrbassie,
There is a knob in gentoo-sources to list the firmware in dmesg as it loads.
I suspect that you have one or more firmware files missing from your CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE= list, or as you cite versions, the module want's to load a version you don't list.
Thus building works as all the bits are found but runtime files as its an incomplete/incorrect list of files.
Firmware files change with kernel versions, which makes built in fragile. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2429
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
To add to Pietinger's comment, compressing firmware and/or microcode does not make sense. Those are binary data files which not only do not benefit from compression but also compression might increase the size because of compression overhead(headers, dictionaries, et.c. which are useless with binary data).
The kernel need the firmware/microcode at boot time, which automatically eliminates compression.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mrbassie l33t
Joined: 31 May 2013 Posts: 821 Location: Go past the sign for cope, right at the sign for seethe. If you see the target you've missed it.
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 6:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | mrbassie,
There is a knob in gentoo-sources to list the firmware in dmesg as it loads.
I suspect that you have one or more firmware files missing from your CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE= list, or as you cite versions, the module want's to load a version you don't list.
Thus building works as all the bits are found but runtime files as its an incomplete/incorrect list of files.
Firmware files change with kernel versions, which makes built in fragile. |
I added skl_dmc_ver1_27.bin is because that's what dmesg complained about failing to load. I assumed specificity was deriguer. Could I just put skl_dmc_ver1? (there is no ver2) Or skl_dmc?
pietinger wrote: |
If you want configure your i915 statically into your kernel AND you need firmware for it THEN you should use uncompressed firmware files (== dont set use-flag "compress-zstd" for package "linux-firmware") because <Help> of CONFIG_FW_LOADER_COMPRESS says:
Quote: | Compressed firmware support does not apply to firmware images that are built into the kernel image (CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE). |
|
Missed that bit. Cheers. _________________ I spent a christmas in Vienna twenty something years ago. It was a beautiful city. Everyone was so friendly.
Last edited by mrbassie on Wed Jun 19, 2024 6:39 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pabloblo n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 6:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
YOUPIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
all works fine here, lightdm work! never seen that before!!
haha! yes yes yes |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 7:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well done pabloblo!
What made lightdm work? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5109 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5109 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2024 7:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pabloblo wrote: | YOUPIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
all works fine here, lightdm work! never seen that before!!
haha! yes yes yes |
Yes ... I know this feeling ... _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pabloblo n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2024 Posts: 71
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|