Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge --sync
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2024 4:24 pm    Post subject: emerge --sync Reply with quote

After Gentoo installation with amd64/desktop/systemd when I apply the command
Code:
emerge --sync
it shows
https://ibb.co/3WKHb3j

KIndly view
Code:
 wgetpaste -c emerge --info


https://bpa.st/KVFQ

The Internet is working fine. I can successfully ping www.google.com

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1513
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2024 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1141174-start-0.html

If you really use ipv6 and need some more information about it, see neddys ipv6 wiki page: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:NeddySeagoon/IPv6
_________________
Forum Guidelines

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2024 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using IP ver 4 (DHCP) on my Host computer. On the guest side as well, Gentoo is on Virtual Box. It is connected with NAT. Other Virtual Machines are working fine.


https://ibb.co/12QHJvW

https://ibb.co/FJMyg5Y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4508
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2024 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe take a look into these threads and edit /etc/gai.conf
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8823839.html
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1163224-start-0.html
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4508
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2024 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P.S.: As far as I remember you configure your kernel yourself manually ... so, if you dont want/use IPv6 (like me) then disable it completely in your kernel configuration (*) AND deselect the use-flag "ipv6" in your make.conf with:
Code:
USE="-ipv6 ..."

(I did both too, and never must edited the gai.conf; dont forget to do a "emerge -uUDv @world" after this use-flag-change)

*) Another option to disable IPv6 in the kernel is to use this kernel command line parameter: ipv6.disable=1
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2024 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot "pietinger" for your valuable reply. Appreciate it. Yes to understand the kernel manual configuration I try to use it . I did not select the IPV6. I think it was the default configuration. I have also disabled IPv 6 from " /etc/portage/make.conf "
https://ibb.co/jVPMY19

then apply command
Code:
emerge --sync

Code:
"emerge -uUDv @world"


These two commands work fine.

To disable IPv6 from the kernel I use the command
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig


Here I move 'Networking support' -> 'Networking options'->'The IPV6 Protocol'

I try to disable " -*- The IPv6 protocol ---> " but It doesn't do anything, Yes if I dig more into it then I can deselect the portions inside it. So how may I deselect the three enable options and then save it? Please view below

https://ibb.co/Y7qKRw7
https://ibb.co/r3vM2D3

for searching from kernel ipv6
https://ibb.co/tBdf8X1

If I perform all then there is a need to Rebuild the Kernel by

Code:
# make -j$(nproc)
# make modules_install
# make install


Update Bootloader:


Code:
#grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg


At last
Reboot the System:
Code:
#reboot


The summary is IPv6 was disabled from /etc/portage/make.conf but from the kernel side I am unable to disable it I need your guidance. Thanks


Last edited by gardenair on Sun Jun 23, 2024 8:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2976

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2024 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gardenair wrote:

I try to disable " -*- The IPv6 protocol ---> " but It doesn't do anything


Correct, the -*- means there is another option forcing this one active. To turn this off you will need to press ? to see the help and read to the end.
The help text will end with the list of options which are keeping IPv6 enabled. Turn off all the mentioned options then IPv6 can be disabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4508
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2024 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The most common reason why you cannot disable IPv6 in the kernel is if you have systemd enabled (check the help for this option):
Code:
Gentoo Linux  --->
    Support for init systems, system and service managers  --->
        [ ] systemd

=>
Quote:
Selects: AUTOFS_FS [=n] && BLK_DEV_BSG [=y] && BPF_SYSCALL [=n] && CGROUP_BPF [=n] && CGROUPS [=y] && CRYPTO_HMAC [=y] && CRYPTO_SHA256 [=y] && CRYPTO_USER_API_HASH [=n] &&
DEVPTS_MULTIPLE_INSTANCES && DMIID [=y] && EPOLL [=y] && FANOTIFY [=y] && FHANDLE [=y] && FILE_LOCKING [=y] && INOTIFY_USER [=y] && IPV6 [=n] && KCMP [=y] && NET [=y] && NET_NS [=y] && PROC_FS [=y] && SECCOMP [=y] &&
SECCOMP_FILTER [=y] && SIGNALFD [=y] && SYSFS [=y] && TIMERFD [=y] && TMPFS_POSIX_ACL [=y] && TMPFS_XATTR [=y] && ANON_INODES && BLOCK [=y] && EVENTFD [=y] && FSNOTIFY [=y] && INET [=y] && NLATTR [=y]

Do I need IPv6 when using systemd ?

No ! It is only a recommendation and therefore our Gentoo devolopers have it selected ... If you really want systemd without IPv6 (=no problem) THEN you should disable this option and enable all what it WOULD selesct by yourself - execept ipv6 of course :lol: .
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2024 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks "pietinger" for the reply. Well as to your valuable guidance I disable "ipv6" from the Kernel side. Unfortunately during #grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg command accidently a keyboard key was press which stop my process .Resultantly my Virtual machine was crashed.
Fortunately their was a clone of same machine and I try the same thing with it. I had spent time but was unable to fix issue. ipv6 is disable at /etc/portage.make.conf and from kernel too .Still i am unable to fix the issue

Code:
# emerge --sync


It shows

https://ibb.co/3WKHb3j
https://ibb.co/6tn0NQF

I have also install mirrorselect "# emerge app-portage/mirrorselect "

https://ibb.co/WFjNVqn

There is no success ......Defiantly there is something wrong from my side and i am unable to find/fix it.

One thing more I want to ask that as you have mentioned
Quote:
The most common reason why you cannot disable IPv6 in the kernel is if you have systemd enabled (check the help for this option):

Code:
Gentoo Linux  --->
    Support for init systems, system and service managers  --->
        [ ] systemd


After that i shell be able to use systemd to run various daemon/services ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4508
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2024 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Your error message tells me that you are using a kernel with IPv6 support (maybe you are not booting the kernel you think you boot).

2. You can disable systemd in the kernel configuration AND use systemd IF you enable every option you will need for systemd yourself (except ipv6). Check again every option which WOULD be enabled automatically (see again in the <Help> of the systemd-option OR my previous post).

3. What happens if you use emerge-webrsync ?

4. I have found an old bug report for 89.238.71.6 ->
https://bugs.gentoo.org/738738
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2024 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes
Code:
emerge-webrsync
works successfully.
So may I use the command now for
Code:
emerge -uUDv @world


Yes IPV6 is still enabled This shows
https://ibb.co/3dTcPwQ
The value should be 1 instead of 0.

After spending many hrs IPV6 is still enabled.......

I again try to search "/" in the kernel
Code:

cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig


1- https://ibb.co/dcktRX6
2- https://ibb.co/SR2ctFg
3- https://ibb.co/xYzQ2yd
4- https://ibb.co/5rrfVwd
5- https://ibb.co/HhyVLMs
6- https://ibb.co/RvQV8sL
7- https://ibb.co/MshN9HW
8- https://ibb.co/XpxSvVd
9- https://ibb.co/w6vH3Cj
10- https://ibb.co/DbGqWnt
11- https://ibb.co/CMpvFMj
12- https://ibb.co/nz6Ht4H
13- https://ibb.co/dLrbGNN
14- https://ibb.co/Db73cLS
15- https://ibb.co/nDzt4y0
16- https://ibb.co/S7qdrzv

These images are just for the clarity to guide me in a much better way. ipv6 is almost [n].

KIndly guide me how can I fix it...Any suggestion please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4508
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2024 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gardenair wrote:
Yes
Code:
emerge-webrsync
works successfully.
So may I use the command now for
Code:
emerge -uUDv @world
.

Yes, you can update now with this command :D

gardenair wrote:
After spending many hrs IPV6 is still enabled.......

These images are just for the clarity to guide me in a much better way. ipv6 is almost [n].

KIndly guide me how can I fix it...Any suggestion please.

Yes, IPv6 is active with THIS kernel you have booted ... it is NOT the kernel you made the configuration, because you can clearly see in (2) that you have ipv6 succesfully disabled ... SO, this means: You are NOT booting this kernel ... do you use grub ? ... if yes, have you done a grub-mkconfig ? Check also your /boot/grub/grub.cfg ... ;-)

(Maybe read also: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_kernel_configuration#Cheat_Sheets )
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2024 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the GRUB configuration file /etc/default/grub I add the following parameter to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX line:
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="ipv6.disable=1"


After rebooting, I use the following command.

https://ibb.co/frj3jb9


The command also worked successfully
Code:
"emerge -uUDv @world"



Still, I am not satisfied....It is loaded but administratively disable...... Anyway... it's tough for me how to disable it permanently.....I am still hunting for the solution. My half of my path is over :D and half is remaining (To disable ipv6 100%)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4508
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2024 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gardenair wrote:
[...] I am still hunting for the solution. My half of my path is over :D and half is remaining (To disable ipv6 100%)

I can tell you only the same: You are not booting the kernel you have configured. You know you must "make" the kernel again after a configuration change (and install it; and tell grub about), do you ? Therefore I have given you the "cheatSheet".

I see in your output:

1. lsmod shows no "ipv6" module +
2. dmesg says: IPv6 is loaded (but disabled)

= In your ACTIVE kernel you have CONFIG_IPV6=Y (yes, it is built-in and not a module)

In your configured kernel you have # CONFIG_IPV6 is not set ... BUT ... THIS kernel is not active ... you can check this by yourself: Check the date of the kernel in dmesg (mine):
Code:
[    0.000000] Linux version 6.9.6-gentoo (root@sun) (gcc (Gentoo 13.2.1_p20240210 p14) 13.2.1 20240210, GNU ld (Gentoo 2.42 p3) 2.42.0) #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sat Jun 22 16:07:18 CEST 2024

The last date "Sat Jun 22 16:07:18 CEST 2024" tells you when this kernel was built ... NOW check the dates of your kernels in /boot/... ;-)
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 1822

PostPosted: Wed Jun 26, 2024 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure but this might be related: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8831737.html#8831737

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2024 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
You know you must "make" the kernel again after a configuration change (and install it; and tell grub about), do you ?
The answer is yes

As to the Cheat Sheets https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_kernel_configuration#Cheat_Sheets in my case, I have /efi partition mounted so the command
Quote:
root #( mount /boot )
I am unable to understand it! May I execute it as it shows
Code:
  root #( mount /boot )


Well if I follow according to it
Code:
testpc ~ #( mount /boot )
mount: /boot: can't find in /etc/fstab.

2- There is no
Code:
 #make oldconfig

Here I have no oldconfig

Please see the link

https://ibb.co/N6n94Ym
https://ibb.co/LzKG2sz
https://ibb.co/5WZqJ7P

Hope this will helpful to guide me so I may move ahead. Thanks again for your valuable guidance.


Last edited by gardenair on Thu Jun 27, 2024 5:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1513
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2024 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
root #( mount /boot )

I do think it is meant to mount your boot partition, which can be named different or already mounted. Based on your screenshot https://ibb.co/N6n94Ym it is called /efi but https://ibb.co/LzKG2sz tells that you have a /boot directory with dist kernels and grub.

I do think something is wrong with your install or maybe some steps are wrong. Which installation documentation did you use/follow?
_________________
Forum Guidelines

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gardenair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2021
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2024 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I also think...It may be...The critical part was to install the manual kernel ....and then grub installation...The reason is
When I used applying the command it was

Code:
#grub-mkconfig -o  /boot/grub/grub.cfg


It was alarming me ...that I was using /efi so here way I am using /boot instead of /efi ...?


Code:
#grub-mkconfig -o  /efi/grub/grub.cfg


which one grub command is right..? please let me know. I think I used " grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg " at that time. My mistake ....

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Kernel

I may write down my installation steps (according to the Gentoo handbook and my understanding).
If the installation steps are valid then there are fewer chances of such errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4508
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2024 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gardenair,

... I dont know where to start ... so maybe it is a little bit chaotic ... :lol:


0. Yes, in "dmesg" I see you have booted the Gentoo dist-kernel and not your manually configured one.


1. grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg IS CORRECT ... even you will get a warning 8)

(If you would had read my article ... AND ... followed some links in it ... you WOULD have read also:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1165115-highlight-.html
Here you would have found that the 1st part of grub is \efi\gentoo\grubx64.efi and the 2nd part resides in /boot/grub)


2.
gardenair wrote:
I am unable to understand it! May I execute it as it shows
Code:
  root #( mount /boot )


Well if I follow according to it
Code:
testpc ~ #( mount /boot )
mount: /boot: can't find in /etc/fstab.

=>
Quote:
Mounting (and unmounting) the boot partition is only necessary if you have an old installation where you mount your ESP to /boot instead of /efi.

=> Yes, you have a new installation and never shall mount /boot ... ESP is the EfiSystemPartition = your 1st partition


3.
gardenair wrote:
2- There is no
Code:
 #make oldconfig

Here I have no oldconfig

You have seen this in the section "Updating to a new kernel version" ... and yes, you have THEN an old .config and must do a "make oldconfig" ... BUT ... at the moment we want do:
Changing the configuration of your used kernel ... you have done this already ... now the last missing part is ...


4. ... Reconfiguration of grub with grub-mkconfig ... Please see -> (1)


Next steps:

a. Before anything else you should clean up your system with "emerge -cp" (to check it) and then "emerge -c" (if your check is okay)
b. Mount /efi (if not already mounted)
c. grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
d. Check then /boot/grub/grub.cfg

=> you should have 2 (or 3) entries in section 10 ... one is your manually configured kernel (6.6.30-gentoo) ... the other your dist-kernel (6.6.32-gentoo-dist) ... (The old dist-kernel 6.6.30 should have been removed with your emerge -c)

e. reboot

Be aware: If you boot this now THEN THE FIRST KERNEL grub will show you (and will start) IS 6.6.32 ... If you want boot your manually 6.6.30 you must select it in the grub-boot-menu (you will get after rebooting).
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum