Gentoo is sending ICMP Packages to Firewall/Router
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gentootux28282
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2024 4:35 pm    Post subject: Gentoo is sending ICMP Packages to Firewall/Router Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

this is my first time here. I recently saw in my firewall log that my Gentoo is constantly sending ICMP requests to my firewall/router. These are blocked all the time, so far so good. Unfortunately I haven't found out which program or why my system keeps sending these packets to the router. Has anyone here noticed the same thing or does anyone know what this could be or is it normal?

Thanks for the help!
pietinger

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2024 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentootux28282,

Welcome to Gentoo Forums ! :D

gentootux28282 wrote:
[...] Has anyone here noticed the same thing or does anyone know what this could be or is it normal?

I dont think is is normal ... you should check which application sends these ICMPs.

You can do this check with: ss -apw (as root) ... if the application sends actively ICMP packets. If you have to wait for it then combine it with "watch" ->
Code:
# watch -t -n 0.5 ss -apw  >> icmplog
-> <CTRL>-<C> after you think a application has send some ICMPs
# check it with LESS (not with "more")
# less icmplog
->
State Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address:Port Peer Address:PortProcess  Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address:Port Peer Address:PortProcess^MUNCONN 000.0.0.0:icmp0.0.0.0:*    users:(("ping",pid=5302,fd=3))

Yes, I did a "ping" in another terminal ;-)
gentootux28282
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2024 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much. I was already thinking something along those lines.
Output:
Code: