Issues connecting to a local NAS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hysteria
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:57 am    Post subject: Issues connecting to a local NAS Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm very new to Gentoo - over the past week or so, whenever I find myself with a bit of free time, I've been slowly making my way through the issues caused by a brand new setup, using openrc instead of systemd (which I am more familiar with), and so on. On the whole, it's been going well, but I have one problem I haven't been able to make any headway on.

I have a NAS on my local network, and I'm trying to connect to it with my Gentoo machine. Normally I do so through KDE's dolphin file explorer - I can simply go:
Code:
smb://[IP-Address]/NAS/
and then I'm in. I get asked for NAS credentials if it's my first time connecting, but otherwise it's entirely over to kwallet. At the moment, this works on my Arch Linux machine.

On my new Gentoo machine, however, I get the following (with real IP addresses, of course), and I'm not sure how to deal with it:
Code:
lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
added interface wlp7s0 ip=xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx bcast= netmask=ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff::
added interface wlp7s0 ip=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx bcast=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask=255.255.255.0
kf.kio.core: Can't communicate with kiod_kpasswdserver (for checkAuthInfo)!
lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
added interface wlp7s0 ip=xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx bcast= netmask=ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff::
added interface wlp7s0 ip=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx bcast=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask=255.255.255.0
kf.kio.core: Can't communicate with kiod_kpasswdserver (for checkAuthInfo)!
kf.kio.core: "Timeout on server\nxxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"

So - kio can't communicate with kiod_kpasswdserver. On an interesting and perhaps related note, I also get this when opening kwalletmanager5:
Code: