java jar ebuild - certain files in wrong folder [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
g047
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 3:01 pm    Post subject: java jar ebuild - certain files in wrong folder [solved] Reply with quote

I'm trying to make a simple ebuild for a game named Unciv where I just retrieve the binary .jar.

The corresponding files get installed in the correct directories and everything launches fine, however files like save files or the game settings will be saved in my local repo at /var/db/repos/local/games-strategy/unciv-bin.

If possible via the ebuild, How do I make sure in-game created files are made so in a custom directory like /home/user/.local/share/unciv?

The ebuild in question can be seen here

Hopefully I've been clear, I'm still learning.

Thank you

Last edited by g047 on Wed Jul 17, 2024 8:17 am; edited 1 time in total
lars_the_bear
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 4:32 pm    Post subject: Re: java jar ebuild - certain files in wrong folder Reply with quote

It seems to me that this program just saves in the current working directory. I don't think it will necessarily save in /var/db/repos... -- perhaps that's just where the program gets launched?

This seems like a fault in the program itself to me. If you can't fix it, perhaps you need to do something more than 'java -jar xxx.jar' to start it? I would use a wrapper script to create and change to a suitable directory, before launching the JVM.

BR, Lars.
g047
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 7:00 pm    Post subject: Re: java jar ebuild - certain files in wrong folder Reply with quote

lars_the_bear wrote:
It seems to me that this program just saves in the current working directory. I don't think it will necessarily save in /var/db/repos... -- perhaps that's just where the program gets launched?

Oh darn you're right! :oops: