View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Giovanni Scordilli n00b
Joined: 11 Aug 2024 Posts: 6 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2024 11:09 am Post subject: DNS issue on new Gentooo machine |
|
|
I Installed a fresh Gentoo system in my main machine. I've a dully issue with DNS. If i try to ping IP adress it's ok:
Code: |
DESKTOP-giovanni ~ # ping -c 1 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=116 time=7.81 ms
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 7.811/7.811/7.811/0.000 ms
|
Also I can navigate normally with FireFox.
Instead if I ping website adress this is the result:
Code: |
DESKTOP-giovanni ~ # ping -c 1 google.it
PING google.it (2a00:1450:4002:414::2003) 56 data bytes
--- google.it ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 0ms
|
I already tried to edit the /etc/resolv.conf and make it immutable:
Code: |
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 1.1.1.1
|
Code: |
chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf
|
Than I reboot but nothing change.
I also tried to disable IPV6 on my modem but no result again.
Finally I tried to use my smartphone's HotSpot. With this connection all things work, but obviously I cannot use forever my HotSpot.
I've already search all possible things on the web but I didn't find anything... _________________ Giova |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22612
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2024 2:18 pm Post subject: Re: DNS issue on new Gentooo machine |
|
|
Welcome to the forums. Giovanni Scordilli wrote: | Code: | DESKTOP-giovanni ~ # ping -c 1 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=116 time=7.81 ms
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 7.811/7.811/7.811/0.000 ms | Also I can navigate normally with FireFox.
Instead if I ping website adress this is the result: Code: | DESKTOP-giovanni ~ # ping -c 1 google.it
PING google.it (2a00:1450:4002:414::2003) 56 data bytes
--- google.it ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 0ms |
| This looks to me like DNS worked properly. Why do you think you have a DNS problem? To me, this looks like an issue where you try to use IPv6, but IPv6 does not actually work. Giovanni Scordilli wrote: | I already tried to edit the /etc/resolv.conf and make it immutable: Code: | chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf |
| Why did you do that? Both those changes look wrong to me. You should use the DNS servers provided by your DHCP server.
What happens if you try ping -c 1 -4 google.it? What error messages do you see for non-working connections? Does google.it ever respond to ICMP echo requests? Some systems ignore them. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Giovanni Scordilli n00b
Joined: 11 Aug 2024 Posts: 6 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2024 3:11 pm Post subject: Re: DNS issue on new Gentooo machine |
|
|
Hu wrote: | Welcome to the forums. Giovanni Scordilli wrote: | Code: | DESKTOP-giovanni ~ # ping -c 1 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=116 time=7.81 ms
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 7.811/7.811/7.811/0.000 ms | Also I can navigate normally with FireFox.
Instead if I ping website adress this is the result: Code: | DESKTOP-giovanni ~ # ping -c 1 google.it
PING google.it (2a00:1450:4002:414::2003) 56 data bytes
--- google.it ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 0ms |
| This looks to me like DNS worked properly. Why do you think you have a DNS problem? To me, this looks like an issue where you try to use IPv6, but IPv6 does not actually work. Giovanni Scordilli wrote: | I already tried to edit the /etc/resolv.conf and make it immutable: Code: | chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf |
| Why did you do that? Both those changes look wrong to me. You should use the DNS servers provided by your DHCP server.
What happens if you try ping -c 1 -4 google.it? What error messages do you see for non-working connections? Does google.it ever respond to ICMP echo requests? Some systems ignore them. |
Thank you for the answer! (and sorry if my english isn't optimal)
I tried what you say and disable the immutable with: Code: | chattr -i /etc/resolv.conf |
This is the output:
Code: |
DESKTOP-giovanni /home/giovanni # ping -c 1 -4 google.it
PING google.it (216.58.204.131) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from par21s05-in-f3.1e100.net (216.58.204.131): icmp_seq=1 ttl=117 time=7.39 ms
--- google.it ping statistics ---
1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 7.390/7.390/7.390/0.000 ms
|
Actually it works but if i try to use emerge or other software they fail. _________________ Giova |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kimchi_sg Advocate
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 3038
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2024 3:15 pm Post subject: Re: DNS issue on new Gentooo machine |
|
|
Giovanni Scordilli wrote: | Actually it works but if i try to use emerge or other software they fail. |
Eh, you mentioned Firefox can open websites? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Giovanni Scordilli n00b
Joined: 11 Aug 2024 Posts: 6 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2024 3:24 pm Post subject: Re: DNS issue on new Gentooo machine |
|
|
kimchi_sg wrote: | Giovanni Scordilli wrote: | Actually it works but if i try to use emerge or other software they fail. |
Eh, you mentioned Firefox can open websites? |
Yes, but other software like thunderbird and emerge no. _________________ Giova |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22612
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2024 3:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The new results further support my suggestion, that IPv6 resolution is used, but that IPv6 connectivity is broken. Per Guidelines item #4, please show us a command that fails, and the full output it produces.
Firefox reimplements so much logic that it is a poor test in this case. My guess is some combination of it using DNS-over-HTTPS (DoH!) to a server that is not resolving IPv6 addresses or that Firefox has its own logic to recover from receiving unusable IPv6 addresses.
Alternately, change /etc/gai.conf to prefer IPv4 addresses. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Giovanni Scordilli n00b
Joined: 11 Aug 2024 Posts: 6 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2024 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | The new results further support my suggestion, that IPv6 resolution is used, but that IPv6 connectivity is broken. Per Guidelines item #4, please show us a command that fails, and the full output it produces.
Firefox reimplements so much logic that it is a poor test in this case. My guess is some combination of it using DNS-over-HTTPS (DoH!) to a server that is not resolving IPv6 addresses or that Firefox has its own logic to recover from receiving unusable IPv6 addresses.
Alternately, change /etc/gai.conf to prefer IPv4 addresses. |
Thank you for the answer!
I retried to turn off IPv6 from my modem, and after reboot all things work properly!
Thank you so much for the help!!! _________________ Giova |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|