View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tld Veteran
Joined: 09 Dec 2003 Posts: 1845
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2024 1:47 pm Post subject: mesa-24.1.3.ebuild clang/llvm dependency w/ intel? [SOLVED] |
|
|
Wow this is ugly. When updating my MythTV backend I had to mask mesa-24.1.3 because that version now apparently requires intel_clc which pulls in clang and llvm etc. I found this:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1170253.html
Those dependencies simply aren't an option on that old x86 system...not gonna happen.
In this specific case however I might actually be able to get away with simply removing the video_cards_intel USE from mesa, but I wanted to see if anyone was aware of any issues this might cause:
This is my MythTV backend machine which is actually headless. I never run X on it directly. MythTV (by way of QT etc) does in fact use mesa, and I do occasionally use the mythtv-setup GUI utility, however I only do that remotely using ssh with X11 forwarding, which obviously has nothing to do with the machine's physical intel card.
I have to think I can get away without that video_cards_intel in that case(?). Does that sound correct? Thanks in advance!
Tom
Last edited by tld on Mon Aug 12, 2024 5:04 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2390
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2024 2:29 pm Post subject: Re: mesa-24.1.3.ebuild clang/llvm dependency with intel? |
|
|
tld wrote: |
This is my MythTV backend machine which is actually headless. |
Even if you needed to plug in a monitor, you could do fine with just the FB console. Drop the intel video card from mesa, you don't need mesa for FB con. From what I see this is the only thing you can do aside from wasting several days on compiling llvm/clang.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tld Veteran
Joined: 09 Dec 2003 Posts: 1845
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2024 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply! Out of curiosity, what if anything is required for that FB support to work? I'm not really familiar with that. Sort of doubt I'd need to connect a monitor though really.
Tom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22602
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2024 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Framebuffer console is a kernel feature. You would need to enable the right Kconfig options. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2390
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2024 2:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tld wrote: | Thanks for the reply! Out of curiosity, what if anything is required for that FB support to work? I'm not really familiar with that. Sort of doubt I'd need to connect a monitor though really.
Tom |
As Hu said, this is a kernel thing.
CONFIG_FB_VESA enabled in the kernel config should be completely enough. From what you post it seems this is an old computer which may not even have EFI, but if it does, then CONFIG_FB_EFI in addition to vesa should be enough.
I bet even now if you plug in a monitor you'll see a console.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tld Veteran
Joined: 09 Dec 2003 Posts: 1845
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2024 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
logrusx wrote: | As Hu said, this is a kernel thing.
CONFIG_FB_VESA enabled in the kernel config should be completely enough. From what you post it seems this is an old computer which may not even have EFI, but if it does, then CONFIG_FB_EFI in addition to vesa should be enough.
I bet even now if you plug in a monitor you'll see a console.
Best Regards,
Georgi | Ahh...Got it. Yes, I do have CONFIG_FB_VESA enabled, and as you assumed, this is a BIOS machine. Thanks to all for the replies!
Tom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|