Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] wpa_supplicant no connection
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 11:26 am    Post subject: [Solved] wpa_supplicant no connection Reply with quote

Hello forum,

I installed the iwd package as I use it without issues on other linux distributions and it always works like a charm.

As I am using a Distribution Kernel, I did not set anything in the kernel, and left it as is.


After successfully emerging iwd, I configured the /etc/iwd/main.conf file as suggested by the wiki.

Then, I issued the following commands:

Code:
rc-update add iwd default


Code:
rc-service iwd start


and upon issuing the second command, I receive the message:

Quote:
* WARNING: iwd is already starting


So, when I issue the command iwctl, i get:

Code:
Waiting for IWD to start...


Is there some configuration I missed?

here is my /etc/iwd/main.conf file:

Code:

[General]
EnableNetworkConfiguration=true
[Network]
NameResolvingService=resolvconf


I have a Broadcom wireless chipset:

Code:
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries BCM43142 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Lite-On Communications Inc Device 6645
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 10
        Memory at b3400000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=32K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information: Len=78 <?>
        Capabilities: [48] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint, IntMsgNum 0
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-49-ff-ff-3b-d0-53
        Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting <?>

and I installed the driver emerging

Code:
system-firmware/b43-firmware
.

I hope this info is enough for you to help me out...

I do not want to mess with wpa_supplicant yet as I see there are quite a few configurations to set, and I would like to start with a package that I already know.


Last edited by enrico68 on Tue Sep 17, 2024 3:13 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the iwd-Gentoo wiki, it says that

Quote:
NetworkManager has been supporting iwd backend since version 1.12.
.

So, I went ahead and installed NetworkManager with the "iwd" use flag in
Code:
etc/portage/package.use/networkmanager.


After that I enabled the iwd backend for WiFi devices as per upstream's instructions, through the /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/iwd.conf. like so:

Code:
[device]
wifi.backend=iwd
wifi.iwd.autoconnect=yes


and restarted the Network Manager service like so:

Code:
rc-service NetworkManager restart
.

Just like with iwd, I receive a warning:

Code:
* WARNING: NetworkManager is already starting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 3038

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If using distribution kernel, there are kernel configuration options that iwd needs, which are missing from the default config.
If you do not want to recompile kernel please stick to wpa_supplicant instead.

The kernel configuration options needed are - from iwd 2.17 ebuild which is current stable version:
Code:

CONFIG_CHECK="
      ~ASYMMETRIC_KEY_TYPE
      ~ASYMMETRIC_PUBLIC_KEY_SUBTYPE
      ~CFG80211
      ~CRYPTO_AES
      ~CRYPTO_CBC
      ~CRYPTO_CMAC
      ~CRYPTO_DES
      ~CRYPTO_ECB
      ~CRYPTO_HMAC
      ~CRYPTO_MD4
      ~CRYPTO_MD5
      ~CRYPTO_RSA
      ~CRYPTO_SHA1
      ~CRYPTO_SHA256
      ~CRYPTO_SHA512
      ~CRYPTO_USER_API_HASH
      ~CRYPTO_USER_API_SKCIPHER
      ~KEY_DH_OPERATIONS
      ~PKCS7_MESSAGE_PARSER
      ~RFKILL
      ~X509_CERTIFICATE_PARSER

IIRC, the following options are not enabled in default distribution kernels:

  • CONFIG_CRYPTO_MD4
  • CONFIG_CRYPTO_MD5
  • CONFIG_PKCS7_MESSAGE_PARSER
  • CONFIG_X509_CERTIFICATE_PARSER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upon checking the driver for the Broadcom chipset through lspci -k, the chipset does not have any driver shown.

However, I know I installed the b43 / b43legacy driver through
Code:
system-firmware/b43-firmware.


The best driver for my chipset, though, which I use on other distributions and which works is wl which I could install through
Code:
net-wireless/broadcom-sta
,
which on Gentoo is in testing mode...I am thinking about installing it, despite being in testing, I don't know how to proceed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kimchi_sg wrote:
If using distribution kernel, there are kernel configuration options that iwd needs, which are missing from the default config.
If you do not want to recompile kernel please stick to wpa_supplicant instead.


I can add those options and see if it works...but I have also the issue of the lack of a driver...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello forum, after quite a few weeks, I found the time to go back to my laptop, and this time I managed to install the net-wireless/broadcom-sta which is needed by my Broacom chipset, which works with the wl drive.

Code:
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries BCM43142 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Lite-On Communications Inc Device 6645
        Kernel modules: wl


As previously suggested I am using wpa_supplicant to connect to the network, but when I run the comand:

Code:
wpa_cli

it does not work, and I receive the following message:

Code:
Copyright (c) 2004-2022, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors

This software may be distributed under the terms of the BSD license.
See README for more details.



Interactive mode

Could not connect to wpa_supplicant: (nil) - re-trying


Running ip addr shows my card is not there:

Code:
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 brd 127.255.255.255 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host proto kernel_lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp1s0f1: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether f0:76:1c:7c:12:de brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: enp0s20u1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 7e:f8:50:07:d7:c5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.12.105/24 brd 192.168.12.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp0s20u1
       valid_lft 2558sec preferred_lft 2108sec
    inet6 fe80::a257:bd78:2e86:e021/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever


Here is the output of dmesg:
Code:

[10537.456142] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[10537.560530] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of ffff901f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[10543.000272] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM
[11213.736186] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[11213.840546] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of ffff901f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[11220.023773] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM
[11363.912840] wl: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
[11363.912851] wl: module license 'MIXED/Proprietary' taints kernel.
[11363.912853] Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
[11363.912856] wl: module license taints kernel.
[11363.912911] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_inform_bss_frame_data (err -2)
[11363.912944] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_scan_done (err -2)
[11363.912980] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_disconnected (err -2)
[11363.913006] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_new_nm (err -2)
[11363.913020] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_register (err -2)
[11363.913029] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_put_bss (err -2)
[11363.913036] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_roamed (err -2)
[11363.913044] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_gtk_rekey_notify (err -2)
[11363.913054] wl: Unknown symbol ieee80211_get_channel_khz (err -2)
[11363.913064] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_ibss_joined (err -2)
[11363.913077] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_michael_mic_failure (err -2)
[11363.913091] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_unregister (err -2)
[11363.913102] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_get_bss (err -2)
[11363.913113] wl: Unknown symbol ieee80211_freq_khz_to_channel (err -2)
[11363.913145] wl: Unknown symbol ieee80211_channel_to_freq_khz (err -2)
[11363.913154] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_report_wowlan_wakeup (err -2)
[11363.913166] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_inform_bss_data (err -2)
[11363.913179] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_connect_done (err -2)
[11363.913187] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_free (err -2)
[11610.859685] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[11610.966342] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of 3f00001f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[11617.214584] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM
[11933.583062] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[11933.689007] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of ff23261f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[11939.937258] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM


In an old post as of October 2023 someone with the same issues recommended to run an older version of wpa_supplicant. So I tried to emerge--deselect the installed wpa_supplicant version but portage will not let it happen:

Code:
 emerge --deselect wpa_supplicant-2.10r4

only to get from portage:

Code:
'wpa_supplicant-2.10-r4' is not a valid package atom
.

As a last resort I tried to modprobe wl:

Code:
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'wl': Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)


I may as well go buy a new laptop with no broadcom chipset, and be done with it, but if I manage to make it work through the forum's help I wil have learned something new.

Hope someone can help with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is the .config of my kernel:

Code:
http://dpaste.com/FPSSJA4H7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goverp
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Mar 2007
Posts: 2120

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you configured and started the wpa_supplicant service? It's what the wpa_cli talks to.
_________________
Greybeard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Goverp wrote:
Have you configured and started the wpa_supplicant service? It's what the wpa_cli talks to.


Hello Goverp,

and thank you for your support. I went ahead and managed to finally make the wl driver work, so I now see my wireless card, but only if I use IWD, it will not wrk with wpa_supplicant,

So, I am only using iwd, and followed the Gentoo wiki, but after starting the service, when I issue the comand iwctl it responds:
Code:
Waiting for IWD to start...


I stopped wpa_supplicant, and started IWD as per the wiki, but it seems it wants something more to run, or there is some other service conflicting..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got rid of IWD and set wpa_supplicant, started the service, but when I issue the command
Code:
 wpa_cli


I get

Code:
Copyright (c) 2004-2022, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors

This software may be distributed under the terms of the BSD license.
See README for more details.

Interactive mode

Could not connect to wpa_supplicant: (nil) - re-trying
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my ifconfig -a

Code:
enp0s20u1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.12.15  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.12.255
        inet6 fe80::3d4d:e549:116f:2e5  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 3e:71:3c:df:ef:56  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 725  bytes 702902 (686.4 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 606  bytes 92096 (89.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp1s0f1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether f0:76:1c:7c:12:de  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

eth1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether d0:53:49:3b:97:b6  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 400
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 19 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


so the wireles card (eth1) is now recognized...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My wpa_supplicant.conf is like so:

Code:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
#ap_scan=0
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="my SSID"
        psk="PASSWORD"
        scan_ssid=1
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        group=CCMP TKIP
        pairwise=CCMP TKIP
        priority=5
}

ctrl_interface=/run/wpa_supplicant
update_config=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3382
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

enrico68 wrote:
I got rid of IWD and set wpa_supplicant, started the service, but when I issue the command
Code:
 wpa_cli


I get

Code:
Copyright (c) 2004-2022, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors

This software may be distributed under the terms of the BSD license.
See README for more details.

Interactive mode

Could not connect to wpa_supplicant: (nil) - re-trying


That seems to mean that wpa_supplicant is not running, wpa_cli and wpa_gui are just clients to control it. Iif it is not running, there is nothing ot control.

If you use Openrc, wpa_supplicant is started as a service with /etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant start (manually) or put normally in default run level with

rc_update add wpa_supplicant default

I guess you said you did it. But is it running or failed to start ? What does ps -ef | grep wpa_supplicant returns ?


And, is your user added to group wheel ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello dmpogo

I have added my user to the whell group.

Code:
ps -ef | grep wpa_supplicant
enrico@tux /etc/conf.d $ ps -ef | grep wpa_supplicant
root      7279     1  0 12:44 ?        00:00:01 /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -u
root      8024     1  0 13:10 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -B -M -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -B -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -ieth1
enrico    8145  2882  0 13:18 pts/1    00:00:00 grep --color=auto wpa_supplicant


the service is running, I started it aready, that is why i cannot understand why it is not working...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

I have removed and added my user to the wheel group, and this time, when, I run wpa_cli this is what I get:

Code:
Selected interface 'eth1'

Interactive mode

<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS

and it just keeps going...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This time I am using the GUI of wpa_supplicant. When scanning it sees different routers in the area, included mine. I try to connect to it, and of course i won't connect...maybe it is just a matter of wireless chip, mine just won't work...at this point I do not know what else to do...I have been on it for days, and I am not getting anywhere....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4865
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

enrico68 wrote:
This time I am using the GUI of wpa_supplicant. When scanning it sees different routers in the area, included mine. I try to connect to it, and of course i won't connect...maybe it is just a matter of wireless chip, mine just won't work...at this point I do not know what else to do...I have been on it for days, and I am not getting anywhere....

Maybe you will need the use-flag "tkip" for "wpa_supplicant" ?

(please read my post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8835927.html#8835927 )
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3382
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

enrico68 wrote:
Hi again,

I have removed and added my user to the wheel group, and this time, when, I run wpa_cli this is what I get:

Code:
Selected interface 'eth1'

Interactive mode

<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS

and it just keeps going...



Ok that's better, but eth1 does not look like wireless device, are you sure it is not wired ? In your early ifconfig results I do not see eth1 as a network device at all. Can you run wpa_supplicant without -ieth1 option, and then chose adapter in wpa_cli or wpa_gui ? ( I do not have my laptop with me to check how it works, office desktop does not have wireless).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3382
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And, by the way, does wpa_cli connect to wpa_supplicant now ? Based on wpa_gui, it looks it should
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:

Maybe you will need the use-flag "tkip" for "wpa_supplicant" ?

(please read my post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8835927.html#8835927 )


Hello pietinger, I will definitely do that and report back...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No luck...even witht the tkip user flag, wpa_supplicant did not connect to my router...at this point I would not know what else to try...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4865
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

enrico68 wrote:
No luck...even witht the tkip user flag, wpa_supplicant did not connect to my router...at this point I would not know what else to try...

Has it ever worked ? (maybe with Windows or other Linux distributions)
Does it work if you boot with our LiveGUI-CD?
If not: Does it work if you boot UbuntuLive?
Have you checked the settings on the router? -> Maybe its using very old WEP ? (then better change it instead using use-flag "wep")
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello pietinger,

it works with Windows, with Arch through iwd, with Ubuntu, it does not with the Gentoo live CD. I tried to install iwd, following the Gentoo wiki, but when I send the command iwctl, it says: waiting for IWD to start... I see it as my last resort...

Running rc-status I see that iwd has crashed, so I stopped all running network services and only allowed iwd, still no luck..

here is the log from rc-status:

Code:

nrico@tux /var/log $ rc-status
Runlevel: default
 chronyd                                                                                                                                                  [  started  ]
 dbus                                                                                                                                                     [  started  ]
 sysklogd                                                                                                                                                 [  started  ]
 iwd                                                                                                                                                      [  crashed  ]
 netmount                                                                                                                                                 [  started  ]
 switcheroo-control                                                                                                                                       [  started  ]
 display-manager                                                                                                                                          [  started  ]
 xdm                                                                                                                                                      [  started  ]
 local                                                                                                                                                    [  started  ]
Dynamic Runlevel: hotplugged
Dynamic Runlevel: needed/wanted
 dhcpcd                                                                                                                                                   [  started  ]
 display-manager-setup                                                                                                                                    [  started  ]
Dynamic Runlevel: manual




As you can see, iwd is still "crashed" and I cannot get it to initialize...maybe if we can get it to work, we have one more chance..maybe...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enrico68
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2016
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello pietinger,

I tried once again to stop and restart the rc-service iwd, but this time I also started Networkmanager first.

I knew iwd would not let me down, and, as magic, iwctl worked and I was finally able to connect to my router, just as I did with Arch. I now have internet working, after days of trial and error...this was hard, believe me, I spent I do not know how many days researching and getting into the nitty gritty of the wireless world, starting with the driver for my card, which was a labour just to install it and make the driver be recognized by the kernel.

I am very happy, and I can now enjoy Gentoo on my laptop as well...

a big thank you for trying to help me out! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4865
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello enrico68,

enrico68 wrote:
I now have internet working [...]

first of all: Happy to hear that! :D

enrico68 wrote:
[...]after days of trial and error...this was hard, believe me, I spent I do not know how many days researching[...]

Yes, I know that well ... :lol:

enrico68 wrote:
a big thank you for trying to help me out! :wink:

You already know that you are very Welcome! :D
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum