View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 11:26 am Post subject: [Solved] wpa_supplicant no connection |
|
|
Hello forum,
I installed the iwd package as I use it without issues on other linux distributions and it always works like a charm.
As I am using a Distribution Kernel, I did not set anything in the kernel, and left it as is.
After successfully emerging iwd, I configured the /etc/iwd/main.conf file as suggested by the wiki.
Then, I issued the following commands:
Code: | rc-update add iwd default
|
Code: | rc-service iwd start |
and upon issuing the second command, I receive the message:
Quote: | * WARNING: iwd is already starting |
So, when I issue the command iwctl, i get:
Code: | Waiting for IWD to start... |
Is there some configuration I missed?
here is my /etc/iwd/main.conf file:
Code: |
[General]
EnableNetworkConfiguration=true
[Network]
NameResolvingService=resolvconf |
I have a Broadcom wireless chipset:
Code: | 02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries BCM43142 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
Subsystem: Lite-On Communications Inc Device 6645
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 10
Memory at b3400000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=32K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information: Len=78 <?>
Capabilities: [48] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint, IntMsgNum 0
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-49-ff-ff-3b-d0-53
Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting <?>
|
and I installed the driver emerging
Code: | system-firmware/b43-firmware | .
I hope this info is enough for you to help me out...
I do not want to mess with wpa_supplicant yet as I see there are quite a few configurations to set, and I would like to start with a package that I already know.
Last edited by enrico68 on Tue Sep 17, 2024 3:13 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 1:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In the iwd-Gentoo wiki, it says that
Quote: | NetworkManager has been supporting iwd backend since version 1.12. | .
So, I went ahead and installed NetworkManager with the "iwd" use flag in Code: | etc/portage/package.use/networkmanager. |
After that I enabled the iwd backend for WiFi devices as per upstream's instructions, through the /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/iwd.conf. like so:
Code: | [device]
wifi.backend=iwd
wifi.iwd.autoconnect=yes
|
and restarted the Network Manager service like so:
Code: | rc-service NetworkManager restart | .
Just like with iwd, I receive a warning:
Code: | * WARNING: NetworkManager is already starting |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kimchi_sg Advocate
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 3038
|
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 2:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If using distribution kernel, there are kernel configuration options that iwd needs, which are missing from the default config.
If you do not want to recompile kernel please stick to wpa_supplicant instead.
The kernel configuration options needed are - from iwd 2.17 ebuild which is current stable version:
Code: |
CONFIG_CHECK="
~ASYMMETRIC_KEY_TYPE
~ASYMMETRIC_PUBLIC_KEY_SUBTYPE
~CFG80211
~CRYPTO_AES
~CRYPTO_CBC
~CRYPTO_CMAC
~CRYPTO_DES
~CRYPTO_ECB
~CRYPTO_HMAC
~CRYPTO_MD4
~CRYPTO_MD5
~CRYPTO_RSA
~CRYPTO_SHA1
~CRYPTO_SHA256
~CRYPTO_SHA512
~CRYPTO_USER_API_HASH
~CRYPTO_USER_API_SKCIPHER
~KEY_DH_OPERATIONS
~PKCS7_MESSAGE_PARSER
~RFKILL
~X509_CERTIFICATE_PARSER
|
IIRC, the following options are not enabled in default distribution kernels:
- CONFIG_CRYPTO_MD4
- CONFIG_CRYPTO_MD5
- CONFIG_PKCS7_MESSAGE_PARSER
- CONFIG_X509_CERTIFICATE_PARSER
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 2:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Upon checking the driver for the Broadcom chipset through lspci -k, the chipset does not have any driver shown.
However, I know I installed the b43 / b43legacy driver through Code: | system-firmware/b43-firmware. |
The best driver for my chipset, though, which I use on other distributions and which works is wl which I could install through Code: | net-wireless/broadcom-sta | ,
which on Gentoo is in testing mode...I am thinking about installing it, despite being in testing, I don't know how to proceed... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kimchi_sg wrote: | If using distribution kernel, there are kernel configuration options that iwd needs, which are missing from the default config.
If you do not want to recompile kernel please stick to wpa_supplicant instead. |
I can add those options and see if it works...but I have also the issue of the lack of a driver... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 12:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello forum, after quite a few weeks, I found the time to go back to my laptop, and this time I managed to install the net-wireless/broadcom-sta which is needed by my Broacom chipset, which works with the wl drive.
Code: | 02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries BCM43142 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
Subsystem: Lite-On Communications Inc Device 6645
Kernel modules: wl
|
As previously suggested I am using wpa_supplicant to connect to the network, but when I run the comand:
it does not work, and I receive the following message:
Code: | Copyright (c) 2004-2022, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors
This software may be distributed under the terms of the BSD license.
See README for more details.
Interactive mode
Could not connect to wpa_supplicant: (nil) - re-trying
|
Running ip addr shows my card is not there:
Code: | 1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 brd 127.255.255.255 scope host lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 ::1/128 scope host proto kernel_lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp1s0f1: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN group default qlen 1000
link/ether f0:76:1c:7c:12:de brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: enp0s20u1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
link/ether 7e:f8:50:07:d7:c5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 192.168.12.105/24 brd 192.168.12.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp0s20u1
valid_lft 2558sec preferred_lft 2108sec
inet6 fe80::a257:bd78:2e86:e021/64 scope link
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
|
Here is the output of dmesg:
Code: |
[10537.456142] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[10537.560530] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of ffff901f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[10543.000272] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM
[11213.736186] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[11213.840546] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of ffff901f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[11220.023773] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM
[11363.912840] wl: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
[11363.912851] wl: module license 'MIXED/Proprietary' taints kernel.
[11363.912853] Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
[11363.912856] wl: module license taints kernel.
[11363.912911] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_inform_bss_frame_data (err -2)
[11363.912944] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_scan_done (err -2)
[11363.912980] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_disconnected (err -2)
[11363.913006] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_new_nm (err -2)
[11363.913020] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_register (err -2)
[11363.913029] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_put_bss (err -2)
[11363.913036] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_roamed (err -2)
[11363.913044] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_gtk_rekey_notify (err -2)
[11363.913054] wl: Unknown symbol ieee80211_get_channel_khz (err -2)
[11363.913064] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_ibss_joined (err -2)
[11363.913077] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_michael_mic_failure (err -2)
[11363.913091] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_unregister (err -2)
[11363.913102] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_get_bss (err -2)
[11363.913113] wl: Unknown symbol ieee80211_freq_khz_to_channel (err -2)
[11363.913145] wl: Unknown symbol ieee80211_channel_to_freq_khz (err -2)
[11363.913154] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_report_wowlan_wakeup (err -2)
[11363.913166] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_inform_bss_data (err -2)
[11363.913179] wl: Unknown symbol cfg80211_connect_done (err -2)
[11363.913187] wl: Unknown symbol wiphy_free (err -2)
[11610.859685] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[11610.966342] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of 3f00001f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[11617.214584] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM
[11933.583062] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: Enabling HDA controller
[11933.689007] nouveau 0000:03:00.0: bus: MMIO write of ff23261f FAULT at 6013d4 [ PRIVRING ]
[11939.937258] ACPI: \_SB_.PCI0.RP05.PEGP: failed to evaluate _DSM |
In an old post as of October 2023 someone with the same issues recommended to run an older version of wpa_supplicant. So I tried to emerge--deselect the installed wpa_supplicant version but portage will not let it happen:
Code: | emerge --deselect wpa_supplicant-2.10r4 |
only to get from portage:
Code: | 'wpa_supplicant-2.10-r4' is not a valid package atom | .
As a last resort I tried to modprobe wl:
Code: | modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'wl': Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg) |
I may as well go buy a new laptop with no broadcom chipset, and be done with it, but if I manage to make it work through the forum's help I wil have learned something new.
Hope someone can help with this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 1:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
here is the .config of my kernel:
Code: | http://dpaste.com/FPSSJA4H7 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2175
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 5:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you configured and started the wpa_supplicant service? It's what the wpa_cli talks to. _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 7:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Goverp wrote: | Have you configured and started the wpa_supplicant service? It's what the wpa_cli talks to. |
Hello Goverp,
and thank you for your support. I went ahead and managed to finally make the wl driver work, so I now see my wireless card, but only if I use IWD, it will not wrk with wpa_supplicant,
So, I am only using iwd, and followed the Gentoo wiki, but after starting the service, when I issue the comand iwctl it responds: Code: | Waiting for IWD to start... |
I stopped wpa_supplicant, and started IWD as per the wiki, but it seems it wants something more to run, or there is some other service conflicting.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 8:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got rid of IWD and set wpa_supplicant, started the service, but when I issue the command
I get
Code: | Copyright (c) 2004-2022, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors
This software may be distributed under the terms of the BSD license.
See README for more details.
Interactive mode
Could not connect to wpa_supplicant: (nil) - re-trying |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 8:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is my ifconfig -a
Code: | enp0s20u1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.12.15 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.12.255
inet6 fe80::3d4d:e549:116f:2e5 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether 3e:71:3c:df:ef:56 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 725 bytes 702902 (686.4 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 606 bytes 92096 (89.9 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
enp1s0f1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether f0:76:1c:7c:12:de txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
eth1: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether d0:53:49:3b:97:b6 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 400
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 19
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0 |
so the wireles card (eth1) is now recognized... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 8:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My wpa_supplicant.conf is like so:
Code: | ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
#ap_scan=0
update_config=1
network={
ssid="my SSID"
psk="PASSWORD"
scan_ssid=1
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
group=CCMP TKIP
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
priority=5
}
ctrl_interface=/run/wpa_supplicant
update_config=1
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dmpogo Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3414 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 10:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
enrico68 wrote: | I got rid of IWD and set wpa_supplicant, started the service, but when I issue the command
I get
Code: | Copyright (c) 2004-2022, Jouni Malinen <j@w1.fi> and contributors
This software may be distributed under the terms of the BSD license.
See README for more details.
Interactive mode
Could not connect to wpa_supplicant: (nil) - re-trying |
|
That seems to mean that wpa_supplicant is not running, wpa_cli and wpa_gui are just clients to control it. Iif it is not running, there is nothing ot control.
If you use Openrc, wpa_supplicant is started as a service with /etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant start (manually) or put normally in default run level with
rc_update add wpa_supplicant default
I guess you said you did it. But is it running or failed to start ? What does ps -ef | grep wpa_supplicant returns ?
And, is your user added to group wheel ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello dmpogo
I have added my user to the whell group.
Code: | ps -ef | grep wpa_supplicant
enrico@tux /etc/conf.d $ ps -ef | grep wpa_supplicant
root 7279 1 0 12:44 ? 00:00:01 /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -u
root 8024 1 0 13:10 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -B -M -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -B -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -ieth1
enrico 8145 2882 0 13:18 pts/1 00:00:00 grep --color=auto wpa_supplicant
|
the service is running, I started it aready, that is why i cannot understand why it is not working... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 12:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi again,
I have removed and added my user to the wheel group, and this time, when, I run wpa_cli this is what I get:
Code: | Selected interface 'eth1'
Interactive mode
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
|
and it just keeps going... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 2:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This time I am using the GUI of wpa_supplicant. When scanning it sees different routers in the area, included mine. I try to connect to it, and of course i won't connect...maybe it is just a matter of wireless chip, mine just won't work...at this point I do not know what else to do...I have been on it for days, and I am not getting anywhere.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5084 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 3:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
enrico68 wrote: | This time I am using the GUI of wpa_supplicant. When scanning it sees different routers in the area, included mine. I try to connect to it, and of course i won't connect...maybe it is just a matter of wireless chip, mine just won't work...at this point I do not know what else to do...I have been on it for days, and I am not getting anywhere.... |
Maybe you will need the use-flag "tkip" for "wpa_supplicant" ?
(please read my post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8835927.html#8835927 ) _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dmpogo Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3414 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
enrico68 wrote: | Hi again,
I have removed and added my user to the wheel group, and this time, when, I run wpa_cli this is what I get:
Code: | Selected interface 'eth1'
Interactive mode
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-STARTED
<3>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
|
and it just keeps going... |
Ok that's better, but eth1 does not look like wireless device, are you sure it is not wired ? In your early ifconfig results I do not see eth1 as a network device at all. Can you run wpa_supplicant without -ieth1 option, and then chose adapter in wpa_cli or wpa_gui ? ( I do not have my laptop with me to check how it works, office desktop does not have wireless). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dmpogo Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3414 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And, by the way, does wpa_cli connect to wpa_supplicant now ? Based on wpa_gui, it looks it should |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2024 7:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello pietinger, I will definitely do that and report back... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 8:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
No luck...even witht the tkip user flag, wpa_supplicant did not connect to my router...at this point I would not know what else to try... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5084 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 9:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
enrico68 wrote: | No luck...even witht the tkip user flag, wpa_supplicant did not connect to my router...at this point I would not know what else to try... |
Has it ever worked ? (maybe with Windows or other Linux distributions)
Does it work if you boot with our LiveGUI-CD?
If not: Does it work if you boot UbuntuLive?
Have you checked the settings on the router? -> Maybe its using very old WEP ? (then better change it instead using use-flag "wep") _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 12:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello pietinger,
it works with Windows, with Arch through iwd, with Ubuntu, it does not with the Gentoo live CD. I tried to install iwd, following the Gentoo wiki, but when I send the command iwctl, it says: waiting for IWD to start... I see it as my last resort...
Running rc-status I see that iwd has crashed, so I stopped all running network services and only allowed iwd, still no luck..
here is the log from rc-status:
Code: |
nrico@tux /var/log $ rc-status
Runlevel: default
chronyd [ started ]
dbus [ started ]
sysklogd [ started ]
iwd [ crashed ]
netmount [ started ]
switcheroo-control [ started ]
display-manager [ started ]
xdm [ started ]
local [ started ]
Dynamic Runlevel: hotplugged
Dynamic Runlevel: needed/wanted
dhcpcd [ started ]
display-manager-setup [ started ]
Dynamic Runlevel: manual
|
As you can see, iwd is still "crashed" and I cannot get it to initialize...maybe if we can get it to work, we have one more chance..maybe... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
enrico68 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2016 Posts: 202
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 2:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello pietinger,
I tried once again to stop and restart the rc-service iwd, but this time I also started Networkmanager first.
I knew iwd would not let me down, and, as magic, iwctl worked and I was finally able to connect to my router, just as I did with Arch. I now have internet working, after days of trial and error...this was hard, believe me, I spent I do not know how many days researching and getting into the nitty gritty of the wireless world, starting with the driver for my card, which was a labour just to install it and make the driver be recognized by the kernel.
I am very happy, and I can now enjoy Gentoo on my laptop as well...
a big thank you for trying to help me out! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5084 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2024 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello enrico68,
enrico68 wrote: | I now have internet working [...] |
first of all: Happy to hear that!
enrico68 wrote: | [...]after days of trial and error...this was hard, believe me, I spent I do not know how many days researching[...] |
Yes, I know that well ...
enrico68 wrote: | a big thank you for trying to help me out! |
You already know that you are very Welcome! _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|