View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
stefan11111 l33t
Joined: 29 Jan 2023 Posts: 934 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 8:22 am Post subject: [SOLVED] iso mount mount failed: No such file or directory. |
|
|
Hi.
It seems that I have borked my config, as I can no longer mount iso's
I have tried mounting an iso to an empty dir, but it doesn't work.
Code: |
$ ls -lah install-amd64-minimal-20240811T170405Z.iso
-rw-rw-r-- 1 stefan stefan 529M Aug 22 19:42 install-amd64-minimal-20240811T170405Z.iso
|
Code: |
$ ls -lah mount_dir
total 8.0K
drwxrwxr-x 2 stefan stefan 4.0K Aug 22 19:58 .
drwx------ 28 stefan stefan 4.0K Sep 13 09:28 ..
|
Code: |
$ mount install-amd64-minimal-20240811T170405Z.iso -o loop mount_dir
mount: mount_dir: mount failed: No such file or directory.
|
And nothing in dmesg.
Here's my kernel config:
http://0x0.st/X3ee.txt
Does anyone have any idea what might have went wrong? _________________ My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev"
Last edited by stefan11111 on Thu Sep 19, 2024 8:00 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5094 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
stefan11111 l33t
Joined: 29 Jan 2023 Posts: 934 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 10:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
pietinger wrote: | Maybe you need # CONFIG_UDF_FS is not set ? |
Added that.
Still the same issue.
http://0x0.st/X32q.txt _________________ My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lars_the_bear Guru
Joined: 05 Jun 2024 Posts: 517
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Um...
Are you trying to mount something on `mount_dir` when `mount_dir` is the CWD? The error message is about `mount_dir`, not about the FS type, or so it seems to me.
BR, Lars. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2177
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
FWIW I yesterday mounted an ISO with
Code: | mount -t iso9660 foo.iso /mnt/foo |
I don't know if that's something else. _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Banana Moderator
Joined: 21 May 2004 Posts: 1721 Location: Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bstaletic Guru
Joined: 05 Apr 2014 Posts: 363
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 2:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Still looks like a missing kernel config, to me.
Do you have /dev/loop?
What about CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP and CONFIG_ISO9660_FS?
EDIT: I missed the kernel config linked in the OP. Nevermind.
Last edited by bstaletic on Wed Sep 18, 2024 4:08 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54577 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
stefan11111,
only root can do that. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Chiitoo Administrator
Joined: 28 Feb 2010 Posts: 2728 Location: Here and Away Again
|
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | stefan11111,
only root can do that. |
Here the message is 'failed to setup loop device for' when non-root, for me at least... not that the directory is not there.
Maybe also try using absolute paths for the command?
If it was kernel-level support missing, maybe there would be something in 'dmesg'? _________________ Kindest of regardses. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
stefan11111 l33t
Joined: 29 Jan 2023 Posts: 934 Location: Romania
|
Posted: Thu Sep 19, 2024 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
bstaletic wrote: | Still looks like a missing kernel config, to me.
Do you have /dev/loop?
What about CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP and CONFIG_ISO9660_FS?
EDIT: I missed the kernel config linked in the OP. Nevermind. |
Yup. Thanks for reminding me to double check /dev.
That was the problem.
I forgot to mknod /dev/loop-control and /dev/loop0 was created as a char device instead of a block device.
Thank you all for help. _________________ My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|