Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] iso mount mount failed: No such file or directory.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stefan11111
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Jan 2023
Posts: 933
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 8:22 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] iso mount mount failed: No such file or directory. Reply with quote

Hi.

It seems that I have borked my config, as I can no longer mount iso's
I have tried mounting an iso to an empty dir, but it doesn't work.

Code:

$ ls -lah install-amd64-minimal-20240811T170405Z.iso
-rw-rw-r-- 1 stefan stefan 529M Aug 22 19:42 install-amd64-minimal-20240811T170405Z.iso

Code:

$ ls -lah mount_dir
total 8.0K
drwxrwxr-x  2 stefan stefan 4.0K Aug 22 19:58 .
drwx------ 28 stefan stefan 4.0K Sep 13 09:28 ..

Code:

$ mount install-amd64-minimal-20240811T170405Z.iso -o loop mount_dir
mount: mount_dir: mount failed: No such file or directory.

And nothing in dmesg.

Here's my kernel config:
http://0x0.st/X3ee.txt

Does anyone have any idea what might have went wrong?
_________________
My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev"


Last edited by stefan11111 on Thu Sep 19, 2024 8:00 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 4865
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you need # CONFIG_UDF_FS is not set ?
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stefan11111
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Jan 2023
Posts: 933
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:
Maybe you need # CONFIG_UDF_FS is not set ?

Added that.
Still the same issue.

http://0x0.st/X32q.txt
_________________
My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lars_the_bear
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jun 2024
Posts: 444

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Um...

Are you trying to mount something on `mount_dir` when `mount_dir` is the CWD? The error message is about `mount_dir`, not about the FS type, or so it seems to me.

BR, Lars.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goverp
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Mar 2007
Posts: 2120

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW I yesterday mounted an ISO with
Code:
mount -t iso9660 foo.iso /mnt/foo

I don't know if that's something else.
_________________
Greybeard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1635
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do get this error only if I do it as a non root user.
_________________
Forum Guidelines

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bstaletic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 318

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still looks like a missing kernel config, to me.
Do you have /dev/loop?
What about CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP and CONFIG_ISO9660_FS?

EDIT: I missed the kernel config linked in the OP. Nevermind.


Last edited by bstaletic on Wed Sep 18, 2024 4:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54539
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stefan11111,

Code:
$ mount ...
only root can do that.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2686
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2024 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
stefan11111,

Code:
$ mount ...
only root can do that.

Here the message is 'failed to setup loop device for' when non-root, for me at least... not that the directory is not there.

Maybe also try using absolute paths for the command?

If it was kernel-level support missing, maybe there would be something in 'dmesg'?
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stefan11111
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Jan 2023
Posts: 933
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2024 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bstaletic wrote:
Still looks like a missing kernel config, to me.
Do you have /dev/loop?
What about CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP and CONFIG_ISO9660_FS?

EDIT: I missed the kernel config linked in the OP. Nevermind.


Yup. Thanks for reminding me to double check /dev.
That was the problem.
I forgot to mknod /dev/loop-control and /dev/loop0 was created as a char device instead of a block device.

Thank you all for help.
_________________
My overlay: https://github.com/stefan11111/stefan_overlay
INSTALL_MASK="/etc/systemd /lib/systemd /usr/lib/systemd /usr/lib/modules-load.d *udev* /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d *tmpfiles* /var/lib/dbus /usr/bin/gdbus /lib/udev"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum