Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pingtoo
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To all Gentoo developer team,

I want to apology for my posts in this thread for them present the wrong idea of portage:profiles being static (or infrequent changes). It is my ignorance of assuming profiles content not change frequent therefor changes should be notified.

I checked online (github) saw in history the profiles directory got changed many time a day. So my assumption of being somewhere static is wrong. And my complements to Gentoo developer team you have created the illusion of static profiles this is very difficult. I worked in IT for more than 30 years in many different roles including being a developer I know it is very difficult to maintain an environment that not impact user and still carry on changes to support business objective.

Having said all of above, I still fell the changes to wayland/qt6 should have a good advance notices and I still maintain the idea of using the profile naming as a way to differential the prior state is better way to notify public.

I will open a new topic for discussion ideas to improve profiles concept.
asturm
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2024 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt you have fully understood the implications of your proposal yet, and I highly recommend to read again my short summary of events around a toolkit upgrade and try to fully think your way into it.

Per your introductory disclosure, and just to provide the occasional snarky drive-by commenter with much needed context, maybe your "lived experience" simply is way too far removed from 99% of Gentoo users to really discuss these matters on an equal footing.
pingtoo wrote: