Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Some builds failing after system downgrade
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leylanator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2024
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2024 9:17 am    Post subject: Some builds failing after system downgrade Reply with quote

Hi,

I've recently switched from testing to stable by doing the following:

Held glibc to the most recently installed version in /etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/libraries-temp:

Code:

# This file is to ensure that no earlier version of glibc is installed.
# Which I need to prevent downgrading [I] sys-libs/glibc-2.40-r3.
# As I am going from global ~amd64 to global amd64 (testing to stable).

~sys-libs/glibc-2.40


Changed ACCEPT_KEYWORDS from "~amd64" to "amd64" in make.conf:

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
COMMON_FLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"
CXXFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"
FCFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"
FFLAGS="${COMMON_FLAGS}"

MAKEOPTS="-j16 -l16"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"

#FEATURES="candy"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--ask"

VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu radeon radeonsi"

USE="X alsa bindist bluetooth brotli clang clap cups dbus dssi extra extras gcc gles2 gpm haptic introspection jack jack-sdk joystick keyboard ladspa llvm lv2 mouse opengl osmesa pipewire pipewire-alsa readline sound ssl stk terminal touchpad udev vaapi vdpau video vulkan vkd3d vst vst3 wacom wayland -networkmanager -ppp -systemd -telemetry -wow64"
#gpm may need to be unused sometimes
#replace jack-sdk with jack-client if sample rates other than 48K are needed, loses general pipewire graph

ABI_X86="32 64"

INPUT_DEVICES="libinput evdev synaptics joystick"

#PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_11"
#PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_11"

# NOTE: This stage was built with the bindist Use flag enabled

# This sets the language of build output to English.
# Please keep this setting intact when reporting bugs.
LC_MESSAGES=C.utf8

GENTOO_MIRRORS="https://mirror.init7.net/gentoo/ \
    rsync://mirror.init7.net/gentoo/ \
    https://mirror.bytemark.co.uk/gentoo/ \
    rsync://mirror.bytemark.co.uk/gentoo/ \
    https://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/distfiles.gentoo.org/ \
    ftp://ftp.mirrorservice.org/sites/distfiles.gentrsync://rsync.mirrorservice.org/distfiles.gentoo.org/"

GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64"


And then ran a full update, which had a mix of upgrades and downgrades which finished without a hitch.

But I had an error with my desktop environment not starting up upon reboot, and some things failing build, so I figured I would also rebuild gcc to the testing version and hold that package. Now I'm at a fully working desktop since I now have the previously installed newer testing version of gcc that allowed building packages without some incompatibility with the held glibc. What I did was make portage accept the ~amd64 keywords for gcc, clang, and llvm, then held the resultant packages from being downgraded. I thought Ninja would also have something to do with this, but the version is the same between testing and stable branches, so it couldn't be that.

/etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/libraries-temp:
Code:
# This file is to ensure that no earlier version of glibc is installed.
# Which I need to prevent downgrading [I] sys-libs/glibc-2.40-r3.
# As I am going from global ~amd64 to global amd64 (testing to stable).
#
# PS, turns out it wasn't just glibc


~sys-libs/glibc-2.40

#sys-devel/gcc   ~amd64
#sys-devel/clang   ~amd64
#sys-devel/llvm   ~amd64

~sys-devel/gcc-14.2.1
~sys-devel/clang-19.1.3
~sys-devel/llvm-19.1.3

# Maybe ninja too?


So I still have build issues and I don't know what exactly to do from this point on. During an update, qttools-6.7.3 failed build. I'll post the terminal output here: https://pastebin.com/zXE423s0
I do have the whole log that I copied to a file, but I don't know where to upload it. So that there is truncated from the top, and I don't know how to paste the file without the clipboard truncating. [Edit: the raw paste, which doesn't have break lines, exceeds the 512 kB limit on pastebin.com]

I think this may be related to the qttools-6.7.3-r2 "march-native" bug I've seen, though.

If this issue is ditto of the qttools-6.7.3-r2 bug, then I'll go and do the same procedure and update the post.

I did have a ninja build error with KiCad which was fixed by rebuilding x11-libs/wxGTK, but I don't know how this relates.


Last edited by leylanator on Mon Nov 04, 2024 2:16 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leylanator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2024
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2024 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Addition:

Shell output of `gcc -march=native -E -v - </dev/null 2>&1 | grep cc1`:
Code:
/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/13/cc1 -E -quiet -v - -march=skylake -mmmx -mpopcnt -msse -msse2 -msse3 -mssse3 -msse4.1 -msse4.2 -mavx -mavx2 -mno-sse4a -mno-fma4 -mno-xop -mfma -mno-avx512f -mbmi -mbmi2 -maes -mpclmul -mno-avx512vl -mno-avx512bw -mno-avx512dq -mno-avx512cd -mno-avx512er -mno-avx512pf -mno-avx512vbmi -mno-avx512ifma -mno-avx5124vnniw -mno-avx5124fmaps -mno-avx512vpopcntdq -mno-avx512vbmi2 -mno-gfni -mno-vpclmulqdq -mno-avx512vnni -mno-avx512bitalg -mno-avx512bf16 -mno-avx512vp2intersect -mno-3dnow -madx -mabm -mno-cldemote -mclflushopt -mno-clwb -mno-clzero -mcx16 -mno-enqcmd -mf16c -mfsgsbase -mfxsr -mhle -msahf -mno-lwp -mlzcnt -mmovbe -mno-movdir64b -mno-movdiri -mno-mwaitx -mno-pconfig -mno-pku -mno-prefetchwt1 -mprfchw -mno-ptwrite -mno-rdpid -mrdrnd -mrdseed -mrtm -mno-serialize -msgx -mno-sha -mno-shstk -mno-tbm -mno-tsxldtrk -mno-vaes -mno-waitpkg -mno-wbnoinvd -mxsave -mxsavec -mxsaveopt -mxsaves -mno-amx-tile -mno-amx-int8 -mno-amx-bf16 -mno-uintr -mno-hreset -mno-kl -mno-widekl -mno-avxvnni -mno-avx512fp16 -mno-avxifma -mno-avxvnniint8 -mno-avxneconvert -mno-cmpccxadd -mno-amx-fp16 -mno-prefetchi -mno-raoint -mno-amx-complex --param l1-cache-size=32 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=16384 -mtune=skylake -fcf-protection -dumpbase -


And contents of `/proc/cpuinfo`: https://pastebin.com/MMkcL0q0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22601

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2024 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Searching that for error: leads me to:
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/13/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: /usr/lib/llvm/18/lib64/libclang-cpp.so.18.1: undefined reference to `__cxa_call_terminate@CXXABI_1.3.15'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
Did you rebuild this library after changing your active compiler versions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leylanator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2024
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2024 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Searching that for error: leads me to:
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/13/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: /usr/lib/llvm/18/lib64/libclang-cpp.so.18.1: undefined reference to `__cxa_call_terminate@CXXABI_1.3.15'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
Did you rebuild this library after changing your active compiler versions?


Wow I actually think I forgot during the hectic process. I was rushing to be somewhere and must have only built testing gcc, but not clang or llvm. So it was only glibc and gcc I had the testing versions of, and not clang and llvm. Going to update them to testing, and then hold the downgrade.
`eshowkw llvm clang` showed me that I have the stable versions installed (18.1.8-r1) instead of the assumed testing versions (19.1.3, but should instead be 18.1.8-r6).

Will reply again once I build and test, but I think that's bang on the money. Crazy I just assumed I rebuilt those two, I would have been chasing after my tail for who-knows how long had I not had that pointed out to me. Thanks!

[Edit, since I don't want to clutter the replies]:
QtTools compiles. Thanks again!

I first set `/etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/libraries-temp` as:
Code:
# This file is to ensure that no earlier version of glibc is installed.
# Which I need to prevent downgrading [I] sys-libs/glibc-2.40-r3.
# As I am going from global ~amd64 to global amd64 (testing to stable).
#
# PS, turns out it wasn't just glibc

#sys-devel/gcc  ~amd64
# ^^ Already built ^^

sys-devel/clang        ~amd64
sys-devel/llvm ~amd64


~sys-libs/glibc-2.40
~sys-devel/gcc-14.2.1
# ^^ Already using ^^

#~sys-devel/llvm-18.1.8
#~sys-devel/clang-18.1.8
# ^^Uncomment after both are built^^


Then installed llvm and clang. Then edited the file to:

Code:
# This file is to ensure that no earlier version of these packages are installed

~sys-libs/glibc-2.40

~sys-devel/gcc-14.2.1

~sys-devel/llvm-18.1.8
~sys-devel/clang-18.1.8


-- However I've had kde-plasma/kdesu-gui fail build. Here's the log: https://pastebin.com/gCPPE9ya
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2724
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2024 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

leylanator wrote:
[Edit, since I don't want to clutter the replies]:
QtTools compiles. Thanks again!

I first set `/etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/libraries-temp` as:
Code:
# This file is to ensure that no earlier version of glibc is installed.
# Which I need to prevent downgrading [I] sys-libs/glibc-2.40-r3.
# As I am going from global ~amd64 to global amd64 (testing to stable).
#
# PS, turns out it wasn't just glibc

#sys-devel/gcc  ~amd64
# ^^ Already built ^^

sys-devel/clang        ~amd64
sys-devel/llvm ~amd64


~sys-libs/glibc-2.40
~sys-devel/gcc-14.2.1
# ^^ Already using ^^

#~sys-devel/llvm-18.1.8
#~sys-devel/clang-18.1.8
# ^^Uncomment after both are built^^


Then installed llvm and clang. Then edited the file to:

Code:
# This file is to ensure that no earlier version of these packages are installed

~sys-libs/glibc-2.40

~sys-devel/gcc-14.2.1

~sys-devel/llvm-18.1.8
~sys-devel/clang-18.1.8


-- However I've had kde-plasma/kdesu-gui fail build. Here's the log: https://pastebin.com/gCPPE9ya

Perhaps

Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/13/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: /usr/lib64/libKF6CoreAddons.so.6.6.0: undefined reference to `__cxa_call_terminate@CXXABI_1.3.15'

means that 'kde-frameworks/kcoreaddons' wants a re-build next, if you didn't already try that?

By the by, it's definitely okay to "clutter the replies" with new info such as this. :]
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9257

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2024 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know it is too late by now, but downgrading like that is a really bad idea.

This would have been a good read for you: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1151807.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leylanator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2024
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2024 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
I know it is too late by now, but downgrading like that is a really bad idea.

This would have been a good read for you: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1151807.html

Quote:
The usual advice is not to downgrade ... let stable catch you up.

Well, shucks. Incidentally, that was my initial plan until I hot impatient and did a held downgrade. Letting Stable catch up seems especially fine to wait for at this juncture, since it looks like many things are already catching up - so I won't be waiting too long. At least the system is functional for the time being.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leylanator
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2024
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2024 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Perhaps

Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/13/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: /usr/lib64/libKF6CoreAddons.so.6.6.0: undefined reference to `__cxa_call_terminate@CXXABI_1.3.15'

means that 'kde-frameworks/kcoreaddons' wants a re-build next, if you didn't already try that?

By the by, it's definitely okay to "clutter the replies" with new info such as this. :]

Thanks! I'll give that a go once I can and relay back what happens when I rebuild kcoreaddons and update again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum