View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tenspd1370 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Dec 2017 Posts: 122
|
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2024 7:28 pm Post subject: zoom will only run under sudo |
|
|
Not sure why, but all of a sudden, zoom will only run as sudo, and when I try to launch from the CLI, I get no messages to tell me why zoom won't start from cli. Not sure what changed - this just started happening. What am I missing? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
orionbelt Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2024 8:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
During the last couple of weeks or so, i've also had the problem that zoom would not start (it would just hang in the command line). I am not sure our circumstances are the same, but i am posting the solution i found in case it helps.
I encounter the problem only when i run an X session as user1, then su - user2 and try to start zoom from user2 (other X programs work without a problem).
Upon checking ~user2/.zoom/logs/zoom_stdout_stderr.log, the problem was:
Code: | [27655:27678:1126/080932.709781:ERROR:bus.cc(407)] Failed to connect to the bus: Could not parse server address: Unknown address type (examples of valid types are "tcp" and on UNIX "unix") |
Apparently the problem was caused by the environment variable DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS being undefined for user2. The solution for me was:
- Either use --whitelist-environment to pass user1's DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS to user2:
Code: | user1% su - --whitelist-environment DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS user2
user2% zoom |
Or start zoom on user2 as: Code: |
user1% su - user2
user2% DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS='DDDD' zoom |
where DDDD is the output of printenv DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS on user1. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2182
|
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2024 10:45 am Post subject: Re: zoom will only run under sudo |
|
|
tenspd1370 wrote: | Not sure why, but all of a sudden, zoom will only run as sudo ... |
To be clear, do you mean "as root", rather than "if I use sudo to start a session with a non-root userid"?
zoom most certainly shouldn't need root access.
Also, re you using Wayland or X11 for your screen?
I'm assuming you're using net-im/zoom, not something you've downloaded from the internet. _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|