Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Using KDE file picker in libre office
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2024 9:50 am    Post subject: Using KDE file picker in libre office Reply with quote

I'm trying to set all applications to use the KDE file picker using
Code:
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=KDE

with kde-plasma/xdg-desktop-portal-kde-6.2.2 and sys-apps/xdg-desktop-portal-1.18.4 installed.

This works for Firefox, Opera, Chrome and Thunderbird, but not for Libreoffice-bin.

The kde USE flag wasn't set, and rebuilding it with the kde USE flag only makes the overall appearance look like something from 2001. Also the option to use the inbuilt file picker or not disappeared (I had unset it previously).
Code:
GTK_USE_PORTAL=1

doesn't work either.

I suspect it's missing KDE libraries? I use KDE apps with Openbox, a lot of the KDE libraries are pulled in, kwin and kdewindowsystem are installed but Libreoffice maybe needs something else?

I've not tried installing the source libreoffice version due to the compile time.

Has anyone had success with this? Or know of anything to try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9313

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2024 4:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Using KDE file picker in libre office Reply with quote

mole wrote:
The kde USE flag wasn't set, and rebuilding it with the kde USE flag only makes the overall appearance look like something from 2001. Also the option to use the inbuilt file picker or not disappeared (I had unset it previously).
Code:
GTK_USE_PORTAL=1

doesn't work either.

Your description just sounds like LO is started with the wrong VCL plugin at runtime, even if a KF-based VCL exists. LO will on startup make assumptions about what VCL plugin to choose depending on some crude environment detection, and probably simply dismisses "kf5" or "kf6" when faced with Openbox.

Use SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN to override that detection and force your VCL plugin of choice:
https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Development/Environment_variables
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2024 9:40 am    Post subject: Re: Using KDE file picker in libre office Reply with quote

asturm wrote:

Your description just sounds like LO is started with the wrong VCL plugin at runtime, even if a KF-based VCL exists. LO will on startup make assumptions about what VCL plugin to choose depending on some crude environment detection, and probably simply dismisses "kf5" or "kf6" when faced with Openbox.

Use SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN to override that detection and force your VCL plugin of choice:
https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Development/Environment_variables


Thanks for the info, I was waiting for a world update to finish to try it out.

Unfortunately using
Code:
  SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN=kf6 XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=KDE loffice
doesn't change the dialogue boxes. The environment variable is picked up by LO, as using qt5 or kf5 gives an error; using qt6 or kf6 doesn't.

Rebuilding LO-bin without the kde USE flag restores the "Use Libreoffice dialogue boxes" option and the modern appearance, but then SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN is probably ignored, as there's no errors when it's set to kf5 or qt5.

When re-emerging LO the following is shown:
Code:
QA Notice: Symbolic link /usr/lib64/libreoffice/sdk/classes points to /usr/share/libreoffice/sdk/classes which does not exist
with a similar error for idl.

I tried resetting the symlink classes -> /usr/share/doc/libreoffice-7.6.7.2/sdk/docs/cpp/ref and /usr/share/doc/libreoffice-7.6.7.2/sdk/docs/cpp/ref/search (and similar for idl) as classes files exist there but that didn't help, with or without the kde USE flag.

Using the --backtrace option didn't show anything
Code:
Reading symbols from /usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/soffice.bin...
(No debugging symbols found in /usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/soffice.bin)
log will be saved as gdbtrace.log, this will take some time, patience...
Warning: 'set logging on', an alias for the command 'set logging enabled', is deprecated.
Use 'set logging enabled on'.

set logging enabled on
(gdb) set logging enabled on
(gdb)

gdbtrace.log after using file open dialogue, restarting LO and repeating:
Code:
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib64/libthread_db.so.1".
[New Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22076)]
[New Thread 0x7fffed2796c0 (LWP 22077)]
[New Thread 0x7fffe72bb6c0 (LWP 22078)]
[Thread 0x7fffe72bb6c0 (LWP 22078) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffe72bb6c0 (LWP 22079)]
[Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22076) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22080)]
[Detaching after vfork from child process 22081]
[New Thread 0x7fffe6aba6c0 (LWP 22083)]
[Thread 0x7fffe6aba6c0 (LWP 22083) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22080) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22086)]
[Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22086) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22087)]
[Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22087) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22088)]
[Thread 0x7fffe72bb6c0 (LWP 22079) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffeda7a6c0 (LWP 22088) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffed2796c0 (LWP 22077) exited]
[Inferior 1 (process 22073) exited normally]
/usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/gdbtrace:9: Error in sourced command file
No stack.

Line 9 of /usr/lib64/libreoffice/program/gdbtrace contains bt - the only file named bt on my system is /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/bt (edit - presumably bt is for backtrace; gdb does have bt.py)

I can't think of anything else to try other than emerging the libreoffice source package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2024 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using the source package app-office/libreoffice-24.2.7.2 the UI appears like Plasma, including the file picker, but the Libreoffice file picker is always used, irrespective of whether the "Use Libreoffice dialogue boxes" is checked or not. Disbaling the gtk USE flag doesn't change anything
Code:
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=KDE loffice

gives a modern UI with a LO file picker that looks like Windows 95
and
Code:
SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN=kf6 XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=KDE loffice

gives the modern UI with a Plasma-style LO file picker.

So SAL_USE_VCLPLUGIN=kf6 sets the style OK, but it's not using the KDE picker.

Think that's about as far as I'm going to get
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum