View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Plasticstraweater n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2024 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 5:19 pm Post subject: Failed to mount /efi because vfat is unknown , dist [SOLVED] |
|
|
Hello
Recently I tried to upgrade my kernel from version 6.6.57 dist to 6.6.58 dist but I got an error booting in saying "failed to mount /efi". Later on I saw "mount: /efi: unknown filesystem type "vfat" after typing in "systemctl status.efi mount"
Now I'm not that much of a pro in linux since I'm worried my system will break. I also am worried if booting from a new live medium and mounting everything up will break my system. Do I just mount everything , chroot into /mnt/gentoo or is there more?
Any form of cooperation will be highly appreciative. _________________ Life has no replay button
Last edited by Plasticstraweater on Wed Dec 04, 2024 7:22 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bstaletic Guru
Joined: 05 Apr 2014 Posts: 385
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 5:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What is the output of Code: | zgrep FAT /proc/config.gz | ?
Your new kernel is lacking a FAT32 driver. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Plasticstraweater n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2024 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 5:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the output is
Code: |
#DOS/FAT/EXFAT/NT Filesystems
CONFIG_FAT_FS=m
CONFIG_VFAT_FS=m
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="asciii"
# CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_UTF8 is not set
CONFIG_FAT_KUNIT_TEST=m
CONFIG_EXFAT_FS=m
CONFIG_EXFAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="utf8"
# end of DOS/FAT/EXFAT/NT filesystems
|
I don't if it's fine to keep it on m or change it. _________________ Life has no replay button
Last edited by Plasticstraweater on Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:11 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bstaletic Guru
Joined: 05 Apr 2014 Posts: 385
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 5:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That should be fine - m stands for module. You can use lsmod to list currently loaded kernel modules and modprobe $MODULE_NAME loads a module.
Finally, your modules should be located in /lib/modules/$(uname -r)`. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5184 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Plasticstraweater n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2024 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
woops. I accidentally typed a capital m while typing the output out (since I was in rescue mode and wifi doesn't work in rescue mode). Still anything else? Maybe I can enabling fat support in the kernel using make menuconfig _________________ Life has no replay button |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5184 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Plasticstraweater wrote: | [...] Maybe I can enabling fat support in the kernel using make menuconfig |
Yes, do it here:
Code: | File systems --->
DOS/FAT/EXFAT/NT Filesystems --->
[*] VFAT (Windows-95) fs support |
P.S.: I would like to know how your kernel configuration came about ... because this option is already enabled in every default configuration. _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Banana Moderator
Joined: 21 May 2004 Posts: 1774 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I do have this build in and not as a module.
Our wiki says: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Kernel and search there for CONFIG_VFAT_FS to find the section I quote
Quote: | Now go to File Systems and select support for the filesystems that will be used by the system. Do not compile the file system that is used for the root filesystem as module, otherwise the system may not be able to mount the partition. Also select Virtual memory and /proc file system. Select one or more of the following options as needed by the system: |
It is not really the root partition but a partition which is needed to be mounted early on. So please make it build in and rebuild your kernel and try again. _________________ Forum Guidelines
PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5184 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Banana,
it is okay if it is a module. PO said he had a problem with mounting /efi (=the ESP). This ESP will be mounted AFTER kernel has access to its root partition and therefore can access all external modules (BTW: Even the efivarfs is a module in our dist-kernel). _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Plasticstraweater n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2024 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yup I tried enabling it. For some reason make keeps giving me a make file error 2. Either because I'm using a dist kernel or something else. Anyone got any ideas? My theory is that running make clean then make (something something) will work
PS: Idk why it was set to M. Maybe something with my computer. Rn I just gotta get make worked out _________________ Life has no replay button |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5184 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Plasticstraweater wrote: | Yup I tried enabling it. For some reason make keeps giving me a make file error 2. Either because I'm using a dist kernel or something else. Anyone got any ideas? |
You cannot simply configure our Gentoo distribution kernel [1] with a "make menuconfig" ... don't you know how you have installed your system?
Why do you boot into a rescue system ?
Does booting to your current system do not work?
Please give us more information: What have you done (exactly), what do you want to do, and what problem do you have now (at which point).
There is a big difference between our dist-kernel and a manually configured one. If you use our distirbution kernel then every module you need is already installed.
Maybe give us also the output of "emerge --info" to see more.
1) https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:Distribution_Kernel#Modifying_kernel_configuration _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Plasticstraweater n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2024 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So I tried booting into 6.6.58 but the system automatically sent me to rescue mode. I'm trying to get /efi to get mounted but for some reason gentoo says that vfat is unknown
I'll send my emerge --info
--->> https://bpa.st/ZQOQ _________________ Life has no replay button |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5184 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Plasticstraweater wrote: | So I tried booting into 6.6.58 but the system automatically sent me to rescue mode. [...] |
Describe this in more detail.
When was the last time you were able to boot this system correctly?
What happened then? What do you mean by “rescue mode”?
Does a boot manager still appear? Or do you end up in BIOS/UEFI?
The more precisely you describe your problem to us, the sooner and faster we can help.
BTW: You are using our Gentoo dist-kernel. This kernel has VFAT support. So, something different must have happened to your system. _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Plasticstraweater n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2024 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 7:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The last time I was able to boot my system was today. Grub bootloader still shows up. The reason why was because I booted into 6.6.57 by hitting "Advanced options for Gentoo GNU/LINUX" in the bootloader and selecting 6.6.57. (Ahh poo I used the wrong terms) I hit emergency mode...my terminology. _________________ Life has no replay button |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Plasticstraweater n00b
Joined: 19 Mar 2024 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2024 7:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
FINALLY AT LAST IT GOT FIXED! Turns out my .config file was being overwritten and stuff. Well now we can all go to bed.
Pretty much took a risky move, deleted the .config file (but made a backup) and reinstalled the kernel...Finally efi is mounted!!!
Thanks all of you for your support!! _________________ Life has no replay button |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|