View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kurmis n00b
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 40 Location: LV
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 10:37 am Post subject: package.use new format |
|
|
Good day, experts.
I am trying to install 32bit gentoo on P4.
According to
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Installation/Base
i must(can) specify CPU flags #echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" > /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags
Code: | # echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" > /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags |
The same relates to file /etc/portage/package.use/00video_cards .
Previosly both entries was stored in make.conf
in format CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2"
What if i wanna that /etc/portage/package.use is single file ?
Can somebody gimme piece-example of working package.use as single file,
where is new-format CPU_FLAGS_X86 and VIDEO_CARDS included ?
Tnx in advance @all.
Last edited by Kurmis on Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:28 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54627 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 10:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kurmis,
Code: | # echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" > /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags |
replaces a file if it exists.
Code: | # echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" >> /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags | appends to an existing file or creates it if its new.
One easy typo, and your existing file is gone.
/etc/portage/package.use/ can be a file or a directory. To convert from a directory to a file
Code: | cat /etc/portage/package.use/* /etc/portage/package.use_file |
To preserve the existing directory content.
Code: | mv /etc/portage/package.use /etc/portage/package.use_dir |
In case you make a mess of it.
Code: | mv /etc/portage/package.use_file /etc/portage/package.use |
To put the preserved file in place.
Putting the entries in make.conf still works. Being an old, long time user, I still do that. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kurmis n00b
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 40 Location: LV
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for reply.
I did it exactly this way previosly.
I just wanna see example of new-style-format of package.use as file
Is it like this ?
Code: | */* CPU_FLAGS_X86: aes avx avx2 f16c
sci-libs/fftw mpi
media-libs/libmediainfo mms |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54627 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kurmis,
It's not changed.
When package.use is a directory, portage concats the directory content in lexicographical order, then uses that as if it were the package.use file. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5218 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kurmis wrote: | [...] Is it like this ?
Code: | */* CPU_FLAGS_X86: aes avx avx2 f16c
sci-libs/fftw mpi
media-libs/libmediainfo mms |
|
YES.
I use also /etc/portage/package.use as a file and not a directory because I also want to see all my settings at a glance. Another user - @logrusx - explained a simpler solution: Leave /etc/portage/package.use as directory and just create a file in there with all your settings, e.g. /etc/portage/package.use/00my _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|