Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Okay, what am I doing wrong?!? [SOLVED}
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dpshak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 190
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2025 11:53 pm    Post subject: Okay, what am I doing wrong?!? [SOLVED} Reply with quote

After 10 years, I've upgraded my desktop hardware from an Intel I7-4790 to an AMD 7950X. According to the handbook, updating firmware/microcode on the AMD platform requires an initramfs. Okay, this is new to me, but following this article: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:Distribution_Kernel#Modifying_kernel_configuration I have a working system. BUT, every time I walk away, the system goes int hibernate/suspend and won't 'recover' when I return. Even though I've created a kernel config (and saved that config) when I rebuild the kernel, it fails to use the 'saveconfig!'

Code:
main /boot # ls -la
total 262032
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root     4096 Jan 20 17:23 .
drwxr-xr-x 17 root root      224 Jan 13 00:41 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 root root        0 Jan 13 02:15 .keep
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 10876026 Jan 20 17:23 System.map-6.12.10-gentoo-dist
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 10876026 Jan 20 17:02 System.map-6.12.10-gentoo-dist.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 10876084 Jan 19 22:10 System.map-6.12.9-gentoo-dist
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 10876084 Jan 16 22:20 System.map-6.12.9-gentoo-dist.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   278558 Jan 20 17:23 config-6.12.10-gentoo-dist
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   278558 Jan 20 17:02 config-6.12.10-gentoo-dist.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   278557 Jan 19 22:10 config-6.12.9-gentoo-dist
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   214350 Jan 16 22:20 config-6.12.9-gentoo-dist.old
drwxr-xr-x  6 root root      113 Jan 20 17:23 grub
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 35589817 Jan 20 17:23 initramfs-6.12.10-gentoo-dist.img
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 35610843 Jan 20 17:02 initramfs-6.12.10-gentoo-dist.img.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 35580188 Jan 19 22:10 initramfs-6.12.9-gentoo-dist.img
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 35583793 Jan 16 22:20 initramfs-6.12.9-gentoo-dist.img.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 20337152 Jan 20 17:23 vmlinuz-6.12.10-gentoo-dist
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 20337152 Jan 20 17:02 vmlinuz-6.12.10-gentoo-dist.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 20337152 Jan 19 22:10 vmlinuz-6.12.9-gentoo-dist
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 20337152 Jan 16 22:20 vmlinuz-6.12.9-gentoo-dist.old
main /boot # date
Mon Jan 20 17:24:36 CST 2025
main /boot # egrep CONFIG_SUSPEND config-6.12.10-gentoo-dist
CONFIG_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND_FREEZER=y
# CONFIG_SUSPEND_SKIP_SYNC is not set
main /boot # egrep CONFIG_SUSPEND /etc/portage/savedconfig/sys-kernel/gentoo-kernel
# CONFIG_SUSPEND is not set
main /boot # uname -a
Linux main 6.12.10-gentoo-dist #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 19 23:38:06 CST 2025 x86_64 AMD Ryzen 9 7950X 16-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


As you can see from the code snipped, I've just rebuilt the kernel with the 'savecconfig' flag set, but the resultant kernel still shows CONFIG_SUSPEND set - even though the gentoo-kernal has CONFIG_SUSPEND unset.

What am I doing wrong???


Last edited by dpshak on Thu Jan 23, 2025 3:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54744
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2025 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dpshak,

I'll bite ...

Your running kernel was built at
Code:
Sun Jan 19 23:38:06 CST 2025

You have a newer kernel in /boot
Code:
rw-r--r--  1 root root 20337152 Jan 20 17:23 vmlinuz-6.12.10-gentoo-dist
so its not yet in use.

It follows that you are not running the kernel you think you are. Probably because its not grubs default choice.

Its possible to build the CPU microcode into the kernel, or put it into its own initrd too.When you have several initrds, they are all loaded and used.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freke
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 1047
Location: Somewhere in Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2025 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would try to boot the newest kernel just to be sure, but I believe this is to show the config from the newest kernel
Code:
main /boot # date
Mon Jan 20 17:24:36 CST 2025
main /boot # egrep CONFIG_SUSPEND config-6.12.10-gentoo-dist
CONFIG_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND_FREEZER=y
# CONFIG_SUSPEND_SKIP_SYNC is not set
where it presumely reset itself to CONFIG_SUSPEND=y - disregarding in the savedconfig

Was the latest iteration of the kernel build with savedconfig use-flag? needs to be, to pick up the saved config afaik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimbob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2025 1:12 am    Post subject: Re: Okay, what am I doing wrong?!? Reply with quote

dpshak wrote:
According to the handbook, updating firmware/microcode on the AMD platform requires an initramfs.

Tangential, an initramfs isn't required. You can store the microcode blobs in the kernel with the kernel's CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dpshak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 190
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2025 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
dpshak,

I'll bite ...


You may be right, that's what it looks like, but by the time I posted I was frustrated as hell! I'd tried everything I could think of to make it work, with no luck. What prompted me to get into this was that CONFIG_SUSPEND. Everytime I'd walk away from the machine, it would suspend and then I'd have to reboot to get it running again. Everytime I'd reboot it, I would remove the '6.12.10' stuff from /boot and try something different. I probably lost track of what I'd done... I've never used an initrds before. With the older Intel chips, I've always done the early microcode loading, so this was all new to me! However, with the amount of microcode and firmware loaded for this board, i'll probably just leave well enough alone. What I finally did, to solve my problem (I don't know if it's the 'right' way, or not, but it works) was to go to /usr/src/linux (linux was linked to 6.12.10 source) made my changes to the config and saved it to /etc/portage/savedconfig/sys-kernel/gentoo-kernel and gentoo-kernel-6.12.10. SUCCESS!


freke wrote:
I would try to boot the newest kernel just to be sure, but I believe this is to show the config from the newest kernel
Code:
main /boot # date
Mon Jan 20 17:24:36 CST 2025
main /boot # egrep CONFIG_SUSPEND config-6.12.10-gentoo-dist
CONFIG_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND_FREEZER=y
# CONFIG_SUSPEND_SKIP_SYNC is not set
where it presumely reset itself to CONFIG_SUSPEND=y - disregarding in the savedconfig

Was the latest iteration of the kernel build with savedconfig use-flag? needs to be, to pick up the saved config afaik


Yes it was. I made the mistake, on one iteration of this experiment, of unsetting the savedconfig flag. What I found that solved my issue, as I said to NeddySeagoon, was to make my config changes in /usr/src/linux and copy that .config to /etc/portage/savedconfig/sys-kernel/gentoo-kernel and gentoo-kernel-6.12.10. It's now working!

shimbob wrote:


dpshak wrote:
According to the handbook, updating firmware/microcode on the AMD platform requires an initramfs.

Tangential, an initramfs isn't required. You can store the microcode blobs in the kernel with the kernel's CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE option.


Thank you! That's what I used to do with that old I7. That old I7 had 2 microcode blobs. The AMD has 2 microcode blobs and a whole stack of firmware blobs! I think I'll stick with the initrds!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum