View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jburns Veteran
Joined: 18 Jan 2007 Posts: 1227 Location: Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2025 2:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
In the output of efibootmgr -u
Code: | Boot0000* Gentoo ZFS HD(1,GPT,d4a10a35-24a7-4a78-abfb-0f1e1345c4e0,0x800,0x200000)/\EFI\Gentoo\bzImage.efiroot=ZFS=rpool/ | Is there a space between efi and root? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2025 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
i did actualy, the only things that wasn't built in comparison to the genkernel config regarding the fb is:
CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL
CONFIG_XEN_FBDEV_FRONTEND
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING
also CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is disabled, DRM is built as a module
CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is enabled as well as
CONFIG_AUXDISPLAY
Mod edit: Quote to post being replied to added for clarity. — JRG _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2025 9:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
jburns wrote: | In the output of efibootmgr -u
Code: | Boot0000* Gentoo ZFS HD(1,GPT,d4a10a35-24a7-4a78-abfb-0f1e1345c4e0,0x800,0x200000)/\EFI\Gentoo\bzImage.efiroot=ZFS=rpool/ | Is there a space between efi and root? | yes it only appears like that in efibootmgr, the entry is configured with the correct sintax
Code: | efibootmgr --disk /dev/nvme0n1 --part 1 --create --label "Gentoo ZFS 6.12.10" --loader "bzImage.efi" --unicode 'root=ZFS=rpool/ROOT/gentoo ro dozfs=cache,force initrd=\initramfs-6.12.10-gentoo-x86_64.img" |
Mod edit: Quote to post being replied to added for clarity. — JRG _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John R. Graham Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10719 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 wrote: | ...the only things that wasn't built in comparison to the genkernel config regarding the fb is:
CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL
CONFIG_XEN_FBDEV_FRONTEND
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING
also CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is disabled, DRM is built as a module
CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is enabled as well as
CONFIG_AUXDISPLAY |
So you've finished the exhaustive comparison? If so, it might be useful to try compiling the kernel with your bespoke, lean .config file but without clang/LLVM and lto, if for no other reason than to definitively rule them out as part of the problem. You can do that easily with genkernel:- Copy your bespoke .config file into /usr/src/linux.
- Run
Code: | genkernel --clean --oldconfig kernel | Of course you can compile and install manually as well. Either way, your compile time will be back to normal. Let us know the results of this experiment.
- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i did mess around a litle bit but it didn't boot, aparently the genkernel initramfs mounts the zfs pool not zfs-import and zfs-mount in openrc so maybe thats the problem?
i modified the .config generated from genkernel and built it manualy with dracut, and it didn't boot at all for no reason, literaly i only disabled some drivers for intel nvdia and stuff
dracut also adds the zfs modules so i have no clue
tbh i don't realy know, i posponed it because i am lazy an it was late, im going to try now and se what can i do
pd: if i do find out what causes this how can i change or add and entry for manual kernel config in zfs wiki ( or contact with someone to do so ) _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John R. Graham Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10719 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 wrote: | ...if i do find out what causes this how can i change or add and entry for manual kernel config in zfs wiki ( or contact with someone to do so ) | You mean the ZFS article on the Gentoo Wiki? Anyone is free to edit the Gentoo Wiki. You'll just need to create an account there: look for the "User" pull-down at the top right of the page and select "Create account". From there it should be obvious.
- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quick update it appears that i was right, the genkernel initramfs mounts the zfs pool, now
The thing is it fails to recognice it as a file system and refuses to boot.
After that it directly nuked my install somehow. hyprland crashes because theres not a GPU
ls -l /dev/dri/by-path shows noting and portage gives a extremely verbose output???
I hace to do a reinstall or debug shit for day's what a mess.... _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54776 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008,
Debug it. Reinstalling will fix nothing. It gives your the opportunity to make a different mistake and robs you of the learning experience.
You appear to be using the AMDGPU kernel module, or if not, your VIDEO_CARDS says that you intended to.
How is that configured in your kernel?
Where is the required firmware?
There is a common 'no framebuffer' scenario here the kernel starts with EFI framebuffer but before there is any output to it, it switches to a broken DRM framebuffer, so that there is never any console output. Meanwhile, the system may boot properly ... just with a blank console. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 6:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the install was alright before booting into the manual kernel with genkernel initramfs,
it failed, i rebooted into the previous preconfigured kernel and turns out that it doesn't work
the fb gives output i can emerge something if i want to so it's not that, it's kinda odd really
like why??
all the packages are there openrc doesn't give any warning that /dev for example is not mounted
so i have no clue _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54776 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008,
Describe your boot process and where you see it go wrong.
As emerge works, install wgetpaste and use it to post your dmesg output.
Code: | wgetpaste -c 'dmesg' |
You may need to use the -s and/or -S options too. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 7:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Inspecting a little more i noticed that openrc says that some local filesystem failed to mount xd
In my defence i thought that it was a warning because of dirty bit in the filesystem
turns out the kernel modules are fucked now what?
dmesg:
https://bpa.st/B44q _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54776 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 7:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008,
Your link is broken.
I suspect that you have mismatching 'kernel magic' on modules made for one .config, while the running kernel was made for another, so you get missing symbol errors on the same module both built in and built as a loadable module.
The fix is the same. Reinstall the kernel and its modules and rebuild the initrd if it contains kernel modules.
The built kernel is still in /usr/src somewhere, so the kernel should not need to be rebuilt. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 7:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, now to thinkering again _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54776 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 8:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008,
I would still like to see your dmesg. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John R. Graham Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10719 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Fri Jan 24, 2025 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | I suspect that you have mismatching 'kernel magic' on modules made for one .config, while the running kernel was made for another, ... | Ugh. I think that's my fault. Had him rebuild the kernel but not the initramfs. Sorry, agustinfortnite2008. Should still be recoverable, however. Boot the install media and do repair operations on the zpool until it mounts. (I can help you there once you report the errors you're getting.) Or it may just mount without issues. Then chroot in and rebuild the initramfs. The safe, do-it-all-over genkernel command for that would be- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 3:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
using genkernel initramfs doesn't work, I've tried rebuilding the modules and no luck
on boot it gives:
Code: | cannot import zfs pool because /dev/zfs is missing |
and then tries to mount ZFS=rpool/ROOT/gentoo and fails because theres no filesystem
putting /dev/nvme0n1p3 also fails
i did search for /dev/zfs and found nothing the closest was a funtoo post that just said something
like build the kernel with genkernel kernel and install zfs and then build the initramfs with genkernel
initramfs
boating into the genkernel efi entry and it al works fine, does anyone have a clue as to why this happens? _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1455 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 3:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 wrote: | using genkernel initramfs doesn't work, I've tried rebuilding the modules and no luck
on boot it gives:
Code: | cannot import zfs pool because /dev/zfs is missing |
|
This message mean zfs module was not loaded.
probably you genkernel did not include zfs module during generation. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 3:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
that's strange considering that when building the initramfs genkernel did add the zfs cpio data
and ZFS=true is in /etc/genkernel.conf, is there some other alternative? _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1455 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 wrote: | that's strange considering that when building the initramfs genkernel did add the zfs cpio data
and ZFS=true is in /etc/genkernel.conf, is there some other alternative? |
Have not touch genkernel for sometime now. it is possible it include the module but did not load prior to mount.
did you use "dozfs" kernel command line option? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John R. Graham Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10719 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 4:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 wrote: | that's strange considering that when building the initramfs genkernel did add the zfs cpio data
and ZFS=true is in /etc/genkernel.conf, is there some other alternative? | It's also strange because the initial genkernel-built kernel, modules, and initramfs did work. That's what you reported above: agustinfortnite2008 wrote: | after a compile so long that it's only rival is qtwebengine it fucking works. ... |
Did you do a full consistent rebuild with "genkernel all"? The "--clean" option is important but should be in effect by default unless you made changes to genkernel.conf in addition to than setting ZFS=true.
- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i did add the dozfs command line option, the thing is genkernel is using the generated .config instead of my custom .config
so now i am using
Code: | genkernel --kernel-config=/usr/src/linux/.config initramfs |
and praying that it works
edit: it dosn't fucking works, using genkernel to build just the initramfs is dogshit for some reason.
to use a manual kernel i have two options:
1. try using dracut again and get the fb working
2. just fucking built in zfs support somehow, zfs gentoo wiki has a guide for that at least ( tho it working is another thing :c ) _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John R. Graham Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10719 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 4:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Some points:- You have to set "--oldconfig --clean" on the command line (or set these options in genkernel.conf; that's what I do) to make genkernel use the in-place configuration.
- I don't think a properly built initramfs from either dracut or genkernel is part of the problem space. I was able to use either to launch my genkernel-built kernel.
- The /etc/init.d/zfs* stuff isn't used to mount your root zpool. That's done in the initramfs before openrc is running.
- Finally, a pro tip: Once you get something interim working, make copies so that you'll always have something bootable to go back to. Something like
Code: | mount /boot
cd /boot
cp vmlinuz-6.6.67-gentoo-x86_64 vmlinuz-6.6.67-gentoo-x86_64.working
cp System.map-6.6.67-gentoo-x86_64 System.map-6.6.67-gentoo-x86_64.working
cp initramfs-6.6.67-gentoo-x86_64.img initramfs-6.6.67-gentoo-x86_64.working.img
grub-mkconfig >/boot/grub/grub.cfg | That'll make experimentation and refinement much more efficient.- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Last edited by John R. Graham on Sat Jan 25, 2025 5:30 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1455 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 5:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008,
for genkernel generated initramfs, if you run into error, it should drop you in to rescue shell. Does it do that?
in the rescue shell, in /run/initramfs/ should have some log files. may be you can examine what's in there and hope there are something to help understand what is going on. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1455 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 5:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cannot say for sure but feel like it is a bug in genkernel init script.
you may need to add gk.hw.use-modules_load=zfs in kernel command line argument.
I look genkernel initrc script, from the logic I read it seems will not automatically load zfs module. the genkernel(8) state that it is depend on UDEV to capabilities to load hardware modules, however zfs is add in to $HW_OPTS so I suspect in your case it did nothing when the command line argument was not used.
Last edited by pingtoo on Sat Jan 25, 2025 5:26 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agustinfortnite2008 n00b
Joined: 28 Nov 2024 Posts: 32 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2025 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
boys... i am happy to anounce that i fucking did it somehow jajajaja
finaly a debloated kernel with clang full lto cfi and zfs rootfs, it only costed 79 rebuilds like 8 reinstalls like 4 guides and a loooooott of free time
i expected it to fail to boot and to not give output like always but it worked? it even gives fb output before loading the amd kernel modules nasidbnaisdbfuayhfbausob
now im gonna list what did i do, config files and all
can someone test if this works from everyone just to be sure? _________________ Xorg es mierda, Wayland tambien |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|