Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[GAVEUP] upgrading an old system (around 3 years old)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:06 pm    Post subject: [GAVEUP] upgrading an old system (around 3 years old) Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm following https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Upgrading_Gentoo#Updating_old_systems

When I run this:

Code:
emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host --verbose --oneshot sys-apps/portage


I get:

Code:
Dependency resolution took 15.67 s (backtrack: 3/20).

[ebuild     U  ] sec-keys/openpgp-keys-gentoo-release-20240703::gentoo [20220101::gentoo] to /mnt/host/ USE="-test" 19 KiB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-apps/baselayout-2.17::gentoo [2.7-r3::gentoo] to /mnt/host/ USE="(split-usr) -build" 30 KiB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-apps/findutils-4.10.0::gentoo [4.8.0-r1::gentoo] to /mnt/host/ USE="nls (-selinux) -static -test -verify-sig%" 2189 KiB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-libs/libseccomp-2.6.0::gentoo [2.5.1-r1::gentoo] to /mnt/host/ USE="python -debug% -static-libs -test%" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_12%* -python3_10% -python3_11% -python3_13% (-python3_8%) (-python3_9%*)" 670 KiB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-apps/file-5.45-r4::gentoo [5.41::gentoo] to /mnt/host/ USE="bzip2 python seccomp zlib -lzip% -lzma -static-libs -verify-sig% -zstd%" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_12%* -python3_10 -python3_11% -python3_13% (-python3_8%) (-python3_9%*)" 1218 KiB
[ebuild     U  ] sys-apps/portage-3.0.67::gentoo [3.0.30-r3::gentoo] to /mnt/host/ USE="(ipc) native-extensions rsync-verify xattr -apidoc -build -doc -gentoo-dev (-selinux) -test" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_12%* (-pypy3) (-pypy3_11) -python3_10 -python3_11% -python3_13% (-python3_8%) (-python3_9%*)" 1169 KiB

Total: 6 packages (6 upgrades), Size of downloads: 5292 KiB

!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

sys-apps/portage:0 for /mnt/host/

  (sys-apps/portage-3.0.67:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge to '/mnt/host/') USE="(ipc) native-extensions rsync-verify xattr -apidoc -build -doc -gentoo-dev (-selinux) -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_12 (-pypy3) (-pypy3_11) -python3_10 -python3_11 -python3_13" pulled in by
    sys-apps/portage (Argument)

  (sys-apps/portage-3.0.30-r3:0/0::gentoo, installed in '/mnt/host/') USE="(ipc) native-extensions rsync-verify userland_GNU xattr -apidoc -build -doc -gentoo-dev (-selinux) -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_9 (-pypy3) -python3_10 -python3_8" pulled in by
    sys-apps/portage[python_targets_python3_9(-)] required by (dev-java/java-config-2.3.1:2/2::gentoo, installed in '/mnt/host/') USE="userland_GNU -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_9 -python3_10 -python3_8"
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
    sys-apps/portage[python_targets_python3_9(-)] required by (app-portage/gentoolkit-0.5.1-r1:0/0::gentoo, installed in '/mnt/host/') USE="userland_GNU -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_9 (-pypy3) -python3_10 -python3_8"
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
    >=sys-apps/portage-3.0.18[python_targets_python3_9(-)] required by (app-portage/repoman-3.0.3-r1:0/0::gentoo, installed in '/mnt/host/') USE="userland_GNU" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_9 (-pypy3) -python3_10 -python3_8"


So I did this since repoman doesn't exist anymore:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host --verbose -C app-portage/repoman


However, emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host --verbose --oneshot sys-apps/portage gave me this:

Code:
!!! Multiple package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

sys-apps/portage:0 for /mnt/host/

  (sys-apps/portage-3.0.67:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge to '/mnt/host/') USE="(ipc) native-extensions rsync-verify xattr -apidoc -build -doc -gentoo-dev (-selinux) -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_12 (-pypy3) (-pypy3_11) -python3_10 -python3_11 -python3_13" pulled in by
    sys-apps/portage (Argument)

  (sys-apps/portage-3.0.30-r3:0/0::gentoo, installed in '/mnt/host/') USE="(ipc) native-extensions rsync-verify userland_GNU xattr -apidoc -build -doc -gentoo-dev (-selinux) -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_9 (-pypy3) -python3_10 -python3_8" pulled in by
    sys-apps/portage[python_targets_python3_9(-)] required by (app-portage/gentoolkit-0.5.1-r1:0/0::gentoo, installed in '/mnt/host/') USE="userland_GNU -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_9 (-pypy3) -python3_10 -python3_8"
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
    sys-apps/portage[python_targets_python3_9(-)] required by (dev-java/java-config-2.3.1:2/2::gentoo, installed in '/mnt/host/') USE="userland_GNU -test" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_9 -python3_10 -python3_8"


I guess I need to change PYTHON_TARGETS somewhere in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build/mnt/host/etc/portage/?
Or should I try to somehow upgrade python before updating portage?

Thanks


Last edited by Vieri on Mon Mar 31, 2025 8:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 23262

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to your output, the installed gentoolkit and java-config want a Portage with the old Python. An upgrade would not satisfy that requirement. Consider updating both of those packages in the same step, so that they can be updated to accept a newer Python.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 55094
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vieri,

You can't cross a chasm in several smaller jumps. You ether update world, or not.

What you can do is update to some portage snapshot in the past. As described in HOWTO Update Old Gentoo
That page needs some TLC as the VCS repo (pre git) has been migrated to git and there are some squashfs snapshots available at https://distfiles.gentoo.org/snapshots/

The idea is to cross your chasm is smaller jumps but by dividing the chasm into several smaller chasms, then crossing each one in one jump.

Look at your /var/log/emerge.log and determine the date of the last successful @world update.
To check and practice the process, get a portage snapshot from that date, or as soon after as you can.
Use that as your :;gentoo repo.
Do a full update, @world, --depclean, etc-update, kernel, read and act on news items. Everything you would normally do for an update.

Now get a newer ::gentoo repo snapshot and update to that.
How much newer?
If you feel lucky, try 9 months. If that won't do an
Code:
emerge @world -uDUav --backtrack=500
you have jumped too far, try 6 months or maybe less.

Rinse and repeat until you are up to date.
Sources will be gone from the gentoo mirror system but they will still be available.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2872

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you're in for the challenge/fun/learning/curiosity/something like that, I recommend stashing your use settings, world and other related settings and performing a new install base off of them. It'll take a lot less work and especially time regardless if you chose the binhost route or not. If you chose the binhost route it'll be even faster.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback everyone!
Hu was right about the 2 packages I needed to update in one go before updating portage.
That went well. However, I'm now faced with a silly hurdle when selecting the Apache MPM.

I'm not sure how to force/select an MPM. I would like to emerge event even though the original/old system had prefork.
So I enabled the threads USE flag as well as this:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # grep ^www-servers/apache /mnt/host/etc/portage/package.use/custom.use
www-servers/apache threads apache2_modules_http2 apache2_modules_ratelimit apache2_modules_reqtimeout apache2_modules_proxy apache2_modules_proxy_connect apache2_modules_proxy_http apache2_modules_proxy_wstunnel apache2_modules_remoteip apache2_modules_md apache2_modules_watchdog apache2_mpms_event -apache2_mpms_prefork


however, when I run this:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host --update --newuse --deep --ask @world


I get this:

Code:
For /mnt/host/etc/portage:

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by www-servers/nginx-1.27.4::gentoo
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=app-misc/mime-types-2.1.54 nginx
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo[-perl_features_ithreads]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=www-servers/apache-2.4.62 apache2_mpms_prefork -apache2_mpms_event

For /etc/portage:

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by www-servers/apache-2.4.62::gentoo
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo[-perl_features_ithreads]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=dev-libs/apr-util-1.6.3 ldap openssl

Would you like to add these changes to your config files? [Yes/No]


Why is emerge trying to set MPM to prefork and remove event?

I came across this: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Apache
So I did this:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # echo "*/* APACHE2_MPMS: event" > /mnt/host/etc/portage/package.use/apache2


So I have 2 questions here:

1) what is the "right" way to set the MPM? via apache2_mpms_* or "*/* APACHE2_MPMS: event" in etc/portage/package.use/apache2?

2) how do I disable prefork or is there something else I need to do to avoid portage pulling in prefork?

I still get this when trying to emerge after setting "*/* APACHE2_MPMS: event":

Code:
For /mnt/host/etc/portage:

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by www-servers/nginx-1.27.4::gentoo
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=app-misc/mime-types-2.1.54 nginx
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=www-servers/apache-2.4.62 apache2_mpms_prefork -apache2_mpms_event



By the way, why is emerge suggestng changes for BOTH /mnt/host/etc/portage AND /etc/portage?
Why does it need to modify anything (apr-util) in the build/new environment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_
Developer
Developer


Joined: 14 Aug 2020
Posts: 2241

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The --root handling can be janky, especially with autounmask. But I don't think you even really need to be using --root for something only 3 years old.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be because of:

Code:
www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.11::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="userland_GNU -debug -ithreads -test" ABI_X86="(64)"


Do I need to enable ithreads for that package?

[UPDATE]
BTW I also have:
Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # grep MPM /mnt/host/etc/portage/make.conf
APACHE2_MPMS="event"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_
Developer
Developer


Joined: 14 Aug 2020
Posts: 2241

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, it varies based on if ithreads is enabled:
Code:

        perl_features_ithreads?  ( || ( >=dev-lang/perl-5.38.2-r3[perl_features_ithreads] <dev-lang/perl-5.38.2-r3[ithreads] ) )
        !perl_features_ithreads? ( || ( >=dev-lang/perl-5.38.2-r3[-perl_features_ithreads] <dev-lang/perl-5.38.2-r3[-ithreads] ) )
        >=dev-perl/Apache-Test-1.420.0
        >=www-servers/apache-2.0.47
        >=dev-libs/apr-util-1.4
        !perl_features_ithreads? ( www-servers/apache[-apache2_mpms_event,-apache2_mpms_worker,apache2_mpms_prefork] )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So here goes nothing:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # echo 'PERL_FEATURES="ithreads"' >> /mnt/host/etc/portage/make.conf
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # grep -r thread /mnt/host/etc/portage/*
/mnt/host/etc/portage/make.conf:PERL_FEATURES="ithreads"
/mnt/host/etc/portage/package.use/._cfg0000_custom.use:# dev-lang/perl ithreads
/mnt/host/etc/portage/package.use/custom.use:# dev-lang/perl ithreads
/mnt/host/etc/portage/package.use/custom.use:www-servers/apache threads apache2_modules_http2 apache2_modules_ratelimit apache2_modules_reqtimeout apache2_modules_proxy apache2_modules_proxy_connect apache2_modules_proxy_http apache2_modules_proxy_wstunnel apache2_modules_remoteip apache2_modules_md apache2_modules_watchdog apache2_mpms_event -apache2_mpms_prefork


A world update yields:

Code:
For /etc/portage:

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by www-servers/apache-2.4.62::gentoo
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo
# required by dev-perl/Apache-SizeLimit-0.970.0-r2::gentoo
>=dev-libs/apr-util-1.6.3 ldap openssl
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo
# required by dev-perl/Apache-SizeLimit-0.970.0-r2::gentoo
>=dev-lang/perl-5.40.0-r1 perl_features_ithreads
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo[-perl_features_ithreads]
# required by dev-perl/Apache-SizeLimit-0.970.0-r2::gentoo
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=www-servers/apache-2.4.62 apache2_mpms_prefork


Hmm... why /etc/portage ?

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # echo 'PERL_FEATURES="ithreads"' >> /etc/portage/make.conf   
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # grep -r thread /etc/portage/*
/etc/portage/make.conf:PERL_FEATURES="ithreads"

(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host --update --newuse --deep --ask @world


Now I finally get past apache (but does that mean that --config-root=/mnt/host is not honored?):

Code:
For /etc/portage:

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by www-servers/apache-2.4.62::gentoo
# required by dev-perl/Apache-Test-1.430.0::gentoo
# required by www-apache/mod_perl-2.0.13-r1::gentoo
# required by dev-perl/Apache-Reload-0.140.0::gentoo
>=dev-libs/apr-util-1.6.3 ldap openssl
# required by media-video/ffmpeg-4.4.5-r2::gentoo[samba]
# required by net-libs/pjproject-2.15.1::gentoo[ffmpeg]
# required by net-misc/asterisk-22.2.0::gentoo[pjproject]
# required by net-misc/asterisk-base-3::gentoo
>=net-fs/samba-4.19.7 client
# required by net-fs/samba-4.19.7::gentoo
# required by net-dialup/freeradius-3.2.6::gentoo[samba]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=sys-libs/ldb-2.8.1 ldap python
# required by net-fs/samba-4.19.7::gentoo[ads,python_single_target_python3_12,-python_single_target_python3_11,-python_single_target_python3_10]
# required by net-dialup/freeradius-3.2.6::gentoo[samba]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=net-dns/bind-tools-9.18.0 gssapi
# required by net-fs/samba-4.19.7::gentoo[python]
# required by net-dialup/freeradius-3.2.6::gentoo[samba]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=sys-libs/tdb-1.4.10 python
# required by sys-libs/ldb-2.8.1::gentoo[python]
# required by net-fs/samba-4.19.7::gentoo
# required by net-dialup/freeradius-3.2.6::gentoo[samba]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=sys-libs/tevent-0.16.1 python
# required by net-fs/nfs-utils-2.7.1::gentoo[nfsv4,kerberos]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=net-libs/libtirpc-1.3.6 kerberos
# required by net-analyzer/tcpreplay-4.5.1::gentoo
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=sys-devel/autogen-5.18.16-r101 libopts

For /mnt/host/etc/portage:

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by www-servers/nginx-1.27.4::gentoo
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=app-misc/mime-types-2.1.54 nginx
# required by net-fs/samba-4.19.7::gentoo[ads,python_single_target_python3_12,-python_single_target_python3_11,-python_single_target_python3_10]
# required by net-dialup/freeradius-3.2.6::gentoo[samba]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=net-dns/bind-tools-9.18.0 gssapi
# required by net-dns/bind-tools-9.18.0::gentoo
# required by net-fs/samba-4.19.7::gentoo[ads,python_single_target_python3_12,-python_single_target_python3_11,-python_single_target_python3_10]
# required by net-dialup/freeradius-3.2.6::gentoo[samba]
# required by @selected
# required by @world (argument)
>=net-dns/bind-9.18.29-r2 gssapi

Would you like to add these changes to your config files? [Yes/No] No



However, the /mnt/host/etc/portage vs /etc/portage thingy is quite confusing probably because --root handling *is* janky...

From the latest emerge output above, will samba (for instance) be installed in the "build"/temp environment (/mnt/gentoo/mnt/build in my case) or in the target system (/mnt/gentoo)?
What about bind? Will it be installed in the same place as samba? ie. --root=/mnt/host which means /mnt/gentoo (my old system I want to update)?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2872

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can deselect apache and come back to it later. You can do that for all the stuff that's not crucial to running portage. You can leave stuff behind and rebuild it once you have current system core.

As to why /etc/portage, I think it's a hard-coded message. Put it into you config root and try again to see if it regards the changes. It should.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the main issue is with --config-root not picking up all the settings in the specified directory (ie. the files in package.accept_keywords/ and package.use/ are ignored -- only the ones in the build env are taken into account!).
In fact, the emerge man page FILES section does not mention these directories...
So at this point, --config-root may honor make.conf in that dir but not the rest of files in /etc/portage that actually define specific USE flags or keywords.

Quite confusing.

In any case, I've gone further down the path, but now I'm seeing this error:

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds built with USE flags to satisfy ">=net-libs/libtirpc-0.2.4-r1[kerberos]".
!!! One of the following packages is required to complete your request:
- net-libs/libtirpc-1.3.5::gentoo (Change USE: +kerberos)
(dependency required by "net-fs/nfs-utils-2.7.1::gentoo[kerberos,nfsv4]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "@selected" [set])
(dependency required by "@world" [argument])
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) /etc/portage # grep kerberos /var/db/repos/gentoo/net-libs/libtirpc/libtirpc-1.3.5.ebuild
IUSE="kerberos static-libs"
RDEPEND="kerberos? ( >=virtual/krb5-0-r1[${MULTILIB_USEDEP}] )"
                $(use_enable kerberos gssapi)


So what does "no ebuilds built with USE flags" mean exactly?
I don't understand the use of "built" here... The ebuild file (text file) actually does take into account the kerberos USE flag.

If I do this it actually emerges the package:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host net-libs/libtirpc


So why didn't emerge do it by itself when updating world?

Then I went on emerging world and got this:

Code:
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=dev-libs/apr-util-1*:=[gdbm=,ldap?]" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-libs/apr-util-1.6.3::gentoo (masked by: )


Masked by "blank"... What does that mean? I checked the ebuild in the repo.

So I did the same:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host dev-libs/apr-util


And that seems to work too...

If I need to update packages one by one because "world" won't do then I think logrusx is right. I may be better off installing from scratch and adapting /etc and other dirs to the new system (faster and less error-prone).

It was nice while it lasted, but I think emerge has a few glitches. It reminds me when I tried to build minimal systems within chroot. I had similar problems with SYSROOT, ROOT and CONFIGROOT.
Anyway, thanks for all the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2872

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vieri wrote:

In any case, I've gone further down the path, but now I'm seeing this error:

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds built with USE flags to satisfy ">=net-libs/libtirpc-0.2.4-r1[kerberos]".
!!! One of the following packages is required to complete your request:
- net-libs/libtirpc-1.3.5::gentoo (Change USE: +kerberos)
(dependency required by "net-fs/nfs-utils-2.7.1::gentoo[kerberos,nfsv4]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "@selected" [set])
(dependency required by "@world" [argument])
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) /etc/portage # grep kerberos /var/db/repos/gentoo/net-libs/libtirpc/libtirpc-1.3.5.ebuild
IUSE="kerberos static-libs"
RDEPEND="kerberos? ( >=virtual/krb5-0-r1[${MULTILIB_USEDEP}] )"
                $(use_enable kerberos gssapi)


So what does "no ebuilds built with USE flags" mean exactly?


It means it's not installed with that use flag enabled.

Vieri wrote:
I don't understand the use of "built" here... The ebuild file (text file) actually does take into account the kerberos USE flag.

If I do this it actually emerges the package:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host net-libs/libtirpc


So why didn't emerge do it by itself when updating world?


Because it respects users choice and will never make it for them.

Vieri wrote:
Then I went on emerging world and got this:

Code:
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=dev-libs/apr-util-1*:=[gdbm=,ldap?]" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-libs/apr-util-1.6.3::gentoo (masked by: )


Masked by "blank"... What does that mean?


If you port the full output we may be able to tell you.

Vieri wrote:
I checked the ebuild in the repo.

So I did the same:

Code:
(chroot in /mnt/gentoo/mnt/build) (none) / # emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host dev-libs/apr-util


And that seems to work too...

If I need to update packages one by one because "world" won't do then I think logrusx is right. I may be better off installing from scratch and adapting /etc and other dirs to the new system (faster and less error-prone).

It was nice while it lasted, but I think emerge has a few glitches.


You just don't know all of its language :)

Vieri wrote:
It reminds me when I tried to build minimal systems within chroot. I had similar problems with SYSROOT, ROOT and CONFIGROOT.
Anyway, thanks for all the help.


Well, at least you figured out something new :)

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

logrusx wrote:

Because it respects users choice and will never make it for them.


But I run "emerge world" with "--newuse"...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2872

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vieri wrote:
logrusx wrote:

Because it respects users choice and will never make it for them.


But I run "emerge world" with "--newuse"...


New use won't alter use flags. It'll apply new flags and/or settings.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2025 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the thing...
I did NOT alter anything at all manually either!
In other words, if I run:

Code:
# emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host --update --newuse --deep --ask @world


it will choke on WhateverSinglePackage, but if I *immediately* run the following (without altering anything else at all):

Code:
# emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host WhateverSinglePackage


it will emerge just fine.

From a user's standpoint it looks odd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2872

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2025 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you have been posting partial output, at this point I don't understand what you're trying to say.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 55094
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2025 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vieri,

Make friends with wgetpaste.
Post the entire output of
Code:
emerge --root=/mnt/host --config-root=/mnt/host --update --newuse --deep --pretend @world

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again everyone.
It's just not worth the hassle.
Neddy, you were right about having to go back in time and grab the right portage tree, and go step by step.
Also, I have a set of custom ebuilds with an old EAPI. There's no backward compatibility so I would need to update those too (or find an alternative).
Kernel-wise I used genkernel, but now there are better options.
Besides, I would still need to carefully adapt/confirm my config files in /etc and elsewhere.

I've come to the conclusion that it's "easier" to install from scratch and migrate the configuration and custom packages.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 55094
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vieri,

The new install is certainly faster but you are missing out on a learning experience you will get no other way.
I think that the oldest install I've updated was about nine years.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vieri
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 921

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2025 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

True, Neddy.
I wish I'd have the time for that experience. It would be a lot of fun - especially knowing I can count on this great Gentoo community.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum