View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
picarica Guru

Joined: 11 Aug 2018 Posts: 346
|
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2025 9:40 am Post subject: help me fill bug report? found and fixed a big in package |
|
|
hello so i got intel gpu and i needed intel-compute-runtime, couldnt merge newest version so i started digging first i started forum post here with no answers so i asked here and i found the issue
so i just changed
Code: |
#from
>=media-libs/gmmlib-22.5.2:=
#to
>=media-libs/gmmlib-22.6.0
# also idk why with this reqirement, it download gmmlib 22.7.0 and not 22.6.0, do i not understand ebuild syntax? xd idk
|
and it merged sucsefully
i filed a bugreport here but i am really bad at those. could anyone help me out push this fix to repo? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John R. Graham Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10756 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2025 12:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The developers will do the change to the repo for you—and it looks like you got their attention. Good job! Also, your bug report looks fine. One suggestion. It's easier to understand your changes if, rather than posting a new ebuild, you post a patch that produces the new ebuild from the old ebuild. You could create the patch with: Code: | mkdir -p /tmp/patch/{old,new}
cp old-ebuild-name /tmp/patch/old/intel-compute-runtime-25.05.32567.18.ebuild
cp new-ebuild-name /tmp/patch/new/intel-compute-runtime-25.05.32567.18.ebuild
cd /tmp/patch
diff -ubB old new >intel-compute-runtime-25.05.32567.18.ebuild.patch | of course substituting the correct pathnames for the old and new ebuilds. Sometimes the developers will ask for a patch if you don't provide one.
- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Administrator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23273
|
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2025 2:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
picarica wrote: | Code: |
#from
>=media-libs/gmmlib-22.5.2:=
#to
>=media-libs/gmmlib-22.6.0
# also idk why with this reqirement, it download gmmlib 22.7.0 and not 22.6.0, do i not understand ebuild syntax? xd idk |
| As of my last sync, the KEYWORDS for gmmlib are: Code: | media-libs/gmmlib/gmmlib-22.5.5.ebuild:15: KEYWORDS="amd64"
media-libs/gmmlib/gmmlib-22.6.0.ebuild:15: KEYWORDS="~amd64"
media-libs/gmmlib/gmmlib-22.7.0.ebuild:15: KEYWORDS="~amd64"
| Thus, users on stable will pick gmmlib-22.5.5, because that is the only stable version. Users on testing could pick 22.6.0, but will pick 22.7.0 because that is higher, and thus "better" when they have the same level of keyword. Your change tells Portage it must use at least 22.6.0, but it can pick any higher version that is not excluded by other rules. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
picarica Guru

Joined: 11 Aug 2018 Posts: 346
|
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | picarica wrote: | Code: |
#from
>=media-libs/gmmlib-22.5.2:=
#to
>=media-libs/gmmlib-22.6.0
# also idk why with this reqirement, it download gmmlib 22.7.0 and not 22.6.0, do i not understand ebuild syntax? xd idk |
| As of my last sync, the KEYWORDS for gmmlib are: Code: | media-libs/gmmlib/gmmlib-22.5.5.ebuild:15: KEYWORDS="amd64"
media-libs/gmmlib/gmmlib-22.6.0.ebuild:15: KEYWORDS="~amd64"
media-libs/gmmlib/gmmlib-22.7.0.ebuild:15: KEYWORDS="~amd64"
| Thus, users on stable will pick gmmlib-22.5.5, because that is the only stable version. Users on testing could pick 22.6.0, but will pick 22.7.0 because that is higher, and thus "better" when they have the same level of keyword. Your change tells Portage it must use at least 22.6.0, but it can pick any higher version that is not excluded by other rules. |
you right, but intel compute-runtime-25.05.32567.18 is also ~amd64, so changing it to 22.7.0 or 22.6.0 should be fine, no ? thats the version that cannet be merged, this forum and the bug post is only about that version the newest one as of right now |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Administrator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23273
|
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 1:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I quoted your specific question of wondering why Portage picked 22.7.0 over 22.6.0, and answered that question. I am not disputing the need for the change.
If you are installing a ~amd64 version of compute-runtime, how were you not already using a ~amd64 version of gmmlib as a result of general system updates? Did you pull compute-runtime into an otherwise stable system? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
picarica Guru

Joined: 11 Aug 2018 Posts: 346
|
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2025 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | I quoted your specific question of wondering why Portage picked 22.7.0 over 22.6.0, and answered that question. I am not disputing the need for the change.
If you are installing a ~amd64 version of compute-runtime, how were you not already using a ~amd64 version of gmmlib as a result of general system updates? Did you pull compute-runtime into an otherwise stable system? |
understood now, thank you for clarifying,
and yes i am on all stable systme except this intel-compute-runtime, which is why this happend and i think this shouldnt be default behavior, minimal required version should not be a broken one IMO, ths why i filled the bug report, which i saw its been a inactive for a while, i wonder how long does it take? should i do something? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Administrator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23273
|
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2025 2:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The initial response from sam_ looks like general triage to me. He was not specifically taking responsibility to work on it, only trying to get you to provide enough information that when the right person looks at the bug report, everything will be available for that person to start work immediately.
I note you provided a full replacement ebuild. The general guidance on bug reports requesting an ebuild modification is to provide a diff, so that the maintainer can readily see what you are changing.
As to how long it takes, that depends entirely on the availability of the volunteers responsible for this package. I know the Gentoo project tries to retire people who have done no work over a span of months, but the responsible party could be doing other work that keeps his commit privileges active, while not working on your specific problem, or he could be the type that puts in one weekend a month, and that weekend hasn't come up yet. I see the name of the assignee, but I cannot recall anything about that person's work schedule. As of my last git fetch, that person had not been committed changes since November: Code: | $ git log github/master --author='Jan Henke' --since='2 years ago' -1
commit 95a50df2dfe1f5009bd0f653e813439d3a4af6f2
Author: Jan Henke <Jan.Henke@taujhe.de>
Date: Sat Nov 2 10:50:51 2024 +0100 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
logrusx Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2876
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|