View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
irasnyd Apprentice
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Placentia, CA
|
Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:43 pm Post subject: Help with my Alpha System |
|
|
I'm trying to install a system on an alpha system that I got from a friend.
Every time I try to update portage after untarring the 1.4-r1 stage3 tarball, I get the following error:
Code: |
* Update configs using 'etc-update' please. Maintaining current configs
* for portage and other system packages is fairly important for the
* continued health of your system.
Recalculating the counter... FAILED to update counter.
!!! This is a problem.
>>> Clearing invalid entries in dependency cache...Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 1, in ?
OverflowError: modification time overflows a 4 byte field
cat: /tmp/auxdbkl: No such file or directory
...done!
chown: `root:portage': invalid group
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
>>> sys-apps/portage-2.0.49-r21 merged.
* Regenerating GNU info directory index...
* Processed 54 info files.
* IMPORTANT: 3 config files in /etc need updating.
* Type emerge --help config to learn how to update config files.
|
I dont know if this was caused by the fact that I used cfdisk to format the disk instead of fdisk. I could not get the gentoo cd to mount partitions when I used bsd disklabels.
Thanks for helping! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ericseynaeve n00b
Joined: 14 Jan 2004 Posts: 15
|
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 12:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same problem (installed from the test4 stage3 tarball). It seems that the portage system is too old on the tarball for the new portage configurations (that's my guess).
However, installing another ebuild package (in my case: vim 6.2.140) after updating the portage tree, automagically installed the new portage version (2.0.49-r21). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
irasnyd Apprentice
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Placentia, CA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 6:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So what you did was:
Code: |
....
chrooting and all that stuff
....
emerge sync
emerge -u vim
|
and then the emerge -u vim got portage installed correctly?
Thanks for the help...I really appreciate it. I've been trying to get this box up and running for more than a month now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ericseynaeve n00b
Joined: 14 Jan 2004 Posts: 15
|
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Forget the --update flag. Just install a NEW package. I had the problem that trying an update brought down portage but it seemed there was a dependency to install a newer portage version in the vim ebuild (and some other ebuilds as well). Installing (not updating) vim installed the new portage without crashing the old one .
BTW, what version of portage do you have? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
irasnyd Apprentice
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Placentia, CA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 7:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've got portage 2.0.48-r5 off the latest stage tarball. (this is a brand new system)
When I run "emerge vim" I get this:
Code: |
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild N ] dev-util/ctags-5.5-r1
[ebuild N ] sys-libs/gpm-1.20.1
[ebuild N ] app-editors/vim-core-6.2-r5 +ncurses +nls -acl
[ebuild N ] app-editors/vim-6.2-r6 +ncurses +nls -acl -cscope +gpm +perl +python -ruby -vim-with-x -minimal
|
I think I'm gonna try "emerge portage vim" and see what happens. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
irasnyd Apprentice
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Placentia, CA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 7:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay...running "emerge portage vim" gave the following error:
Code: |
* Update configs using 'etc-update' please. Maintaining current configs
* for portage and other system packages is fairly important for the
* continued health of your system.
Recalculating the counter... FAILED to update counter.
!!! This is a problem.
........ unmerged old version of portage .......
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/portage/bin/emerge", line 10, in ?
import emergehelp,xpak,string,re,commands,time,shutil,traceback,atexit,signal,socket,types
OverflowError: modification time overflows a 4 byte field
|
Hmmm, maybe I'll try to find something that explicitly depends on portage in the ebuild. Any ideas?
Thanks for all the help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
irasnyd Apprentice
Joined: 16 Feb 2003 Posts: 286 Location: Placentia, CA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got another idea.... perhaps you could send me a binary package build of portage. I have a pca56 alpha system, but an ev5 package would be find.
If that's possible, you can email it to me if its not too big at iwsnyder () csupomona ! edu (replace what needs to be replaced, of course)
Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|