View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Aggamemnon Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 99 Location: Bristol, UK
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:46 pm Post subject: Install 2004.0 for dual booting with WinXP on a single disk |
|
|
Hello,
I've bought an AMD64 laptop from Evesham (in the UK) and it appears to be the machine from Yakumo (Q8M Power64XD) just re-badged.
The specs are:
AMD64 3200+ Mobile
1024Mb RAM
60Gb disk
ATI M10 [mobile radeon 9600] graphics (64Mb)
Using the 2004.0 LiveCD, I can boot the machine and configure the LAN, have my USB mouse working, all of which I expected trouble with. I am using the default Gentoo kernel, and not passing any extra parameters.
However, my first (of many I suspect) problem is that I don't want to loose the WinXP partition on my disk. I have partitioned the disk into 45Gb for NTFS (windows etc), 512Mb for swap file (as sugested in the docs) and the rest for Linux, with the ext3 file system.
I'm not excatly sure what to do with the boot sector, and bootloaders.
Also, what Cflag options should I set when it comes to compile time? At the moment I'm thinking of -02 -pipe - and further what match settings?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aaronjb Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 106 Location: Berkshire, UK
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You'll need at least three partitions for Linux, a /boot partition, swap partition and / (root) partition.. I'd recommend something like:
Code: | 40Gb NTFS - Windows XP (partition 0)
64Mb Linux - ext3 - Boot partition (gets mounted to /boot)
512Mb LinuxSwap - Swapfile partition (you could use 1024Mb if you wish)
19Gb Linux - reiserfs - Root partition (mounts to /) |
The old standard for Swap used to be double your RAM, but these days 1024Mb would be the max I'd recommend, 512Mb should be fine.
You will need that boot partition though, I'd recommend putting it immediately after the XP partition purely for neatness, as it's where your Linux kernel's and grub config etc will be saved.
Not sure on the CFLAGS and -march settings etc though - but there's bound to be some threads about it (there is a huge one called 'CFLAGS central', and I'm pretty sure that has some Athlon64 flags in it)..
<jealousy mode>Lucky Athlon64 owners.. grrr..</jealousy mode>
HTH,
Aaron _________________ #my gentoo farm |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Aggamemnon Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 99 Location: Bristol, UK
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks very much! I'm off to try.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkcore n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2004 Posts: 25 Location: New Zealand
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 6:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
aaronjb wrote: | Not sure on the CFLAGS and -march settings etc though - but there's bound to be some threads about it (there is a huge one called 'CFLAGS central', and I'm pretty sure that has some Athlon64 flags in it)..
|
I think previous threads suggested that for gcc-3.3.x release, we should only use "-pipe -O2" for Athlon64 architecture coz other optimisation flags are basically ignored (e.g. -msse2). Our old friend gcc will give us much more performance tweaking CFLAGS on next major release (3.4.x) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Aggamemnon Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 99 Location: Bristol, UK
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried -march="k8" and and nothing compiled
Sticking to -O2 -pipe now |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|