View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bch n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/888857093405546c613c36.gif)
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 5:08 am Post subject: [Solved]:Networking: Transfer issues |
|
|
Ok, I am having some strange issues with transfer speeds between my linux machine and my windows machine. At first I thought it was an issue with samba https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=148735 but after some experimenting with ftp I have figured out it is not samba related.
Both machines can download from the net through my router at very fast transfer rates: around 360.25Kbytes/sec..
My linux machine can ftp from my windows box at about 3100Kbytes/sec.
My linux machine uploads to the windows box at about 10Kbytes/sec
My Window machine can ftp from linux at about 13.72Kbytes/sec.
My Windows machine can upload by ftp to linux at about 145Kbytes/sec.
Very wide differences?? Why
Here is actual test I did downloading the latest build of Mozilla Firefox.
Code: |
ON LINUX MACHINE:
Download using FTP Firefox-win32.zip from ftp.mozilla.org:
ftp> get Firefox-win32.zip
local: Firefox-win32.zip remote: Firefox-win32.zip
200 PORT command successful.
150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for Firefox-win32.zip (13779496 bytes).
226 BINARY Transfer complete.
13779496 bytes received in 37.6 secs (3.6e+02 Kbytes/sec)
ON WINDOWS MACHINE:
Download using FTP Firefox-win32.zip from ftp.mozilla.org:
ftp> get Firefox-win32.zip
200 PORT command successful. Consider using PASV.
150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for Firefox-win32.zip (13779496 bytes).
226 File send OK.
ftp: 13779496 bytes received in 38.25Seconds 360.25Kbytes/sec.
ON WINDOWS MACHINE:
Download using FTP Firefox-win32.zip from local Linux Machine (Running oftpd):*****BAD RESULTS!!!
ftp> get Firefox-win32.zip
200 Command okay.
150 About to open data connection.
226 File transfer complete.
ftp: 13779496 bytes received in 1004.13Seconds 13.72Kbytes/sec.
Download using FTP Firefox-win32.zip from local Linux Machine (Running vsftpd):*****BAD RESULTS!!!
Upload using FTP firefox-win32.zip from Window machine to Local Linux Server (Running vsftpd);
ftp> put Firefox-win32.zip
200 PORT command successful. Consider using PASV.
150 Ok to send data.
226 File receive OK.
ftp: 13779496 bytes sent in 94.88Seconds 145.24Kbytes/sec.
ON LINUX MACHINE:
Download using FTP Firefox-win32.zip from Local Windows Machine (Running WARFTPD):
ftp> get Firefox-win32.zip
local: Firefox-win32.zip remote: Firefox-win32.zip
200 Port command okay.
150 Sending "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\temp\Firefox-win32.zip" (13779496 bytes). Mode STREAM Type BINARY.
226 Transfer finished successfully. Data connection closed.
13779496 bytes received in 4.31 secs (3.1e+03 Kbytes/sec)
Upload using FTP firefox-win32.zip fromt Linux to Local Windows Machine (Running WARFTPD): ***BAD RESULTS!!
ftp> put Firefox-win32.zip
local: Firefox-win32.zip remote: Firefox-win32.zip
200 Port command okay.
150 Ready to receive "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\temp\Firefox-win32.zip". Mode STREAM Type BINARY.
226 Transfer finished successfully. Closing data connection.
13779496 bytes sent in 1.35e+03 secs (10 Kbytes/sec)
|
I have no apparent collisions or drops on the Linux side:
Code: |
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:87:B9:F7:23
inet addr:192.168.0.22 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:100036 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:92133 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:51662495 (49.2 Mb) TX bytes:64851111 (61.8 Mb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe800
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:72 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:72 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:7386 (7.2 Kb) TX bytes:7386 (7.2 Kb)
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
bch n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/888857093405546c613c36.gif)
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
I tried new hub, new network cables, and new nic.
The problem ended up being something with the nic... I recompiled the driver with no success.
Running out of patience I just put a new nic using the tulip driver and have had no problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GOROD n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 25 Jun 2004 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
bch wrote: | I tried new hub, new network cables, and new nic.
The problem ended up being something with the nic... I recompiled the driver with no success.
Running out of patience I just put a new nic using the tulip driver and have had no problems. |
hello
i had same trouble in accountant department.
do you use a VLAN-able switch
if yes set mtu to 1496
ifconfig eth0 mtu 1496
dont matter have you enabled a vlan ability or not.
sorry for my english |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|