Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Network for final install... [solved!]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Andru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:04 am    Post subject: Network for final install... [solved!] Reply with quote

All through the install my network "just worked", but now I'm actually logging into the gentoo kernel, it doesn't bring my network up, and ifconfig shows only the loopback, not eth0.
I've tried following the guide for configuring the network, but there's nothing in my /lib/modules/2.4.25-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net directory but dummy.o

Any ideas how I can get my network card recognized? It's a 3com card and like I said, I had no problems at all during install - it just popped up on its own.


Last edited by Andru on Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you compile the kernel? Manually or with genkernel?

If you did it manually, you need to make sure to make support for that network card built-in or as a module (it's easier as built-in in 95% of cases). Otherwise if you use genkernel, make sure you set up hotplug and all that stuff as per the install docs.

On second thought, you said the kernel module isn't there. If you used genkernel, it missed building the module for you... you might want to tweak the config (add the card support) and rebuild.

good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compiled the kernal manually and, not knowing what kind of 3com card I have and being too lazy to take a peek, I just selected every type of 3com card listed.
I'll take a look tonight and find out exactly what card I have, but as I said, it worked fine before so the drivers must be on the livecd somewhere...right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andru,

Boot the liveCD and do a lsmod. If you can spot your network driver good, otherwise make a list of the loaded modules.

Boot your hard drive and do lsmod again. Cross anything off your original list that appears in this lsmod.

One of the modules left on the list is you network card.
Work your way though the remaining modules with modprobe.
After each modprobe, do
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
ignore any errors about eth0 not runnning.

When this command works, eth0 will be up. Put the module name from the last modprobe into /etc/modules.autoload
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help, NeddySeaGoon (God I hate the internet, I'd never have to refer to someone as NeddySeaGoon in real life ;)), I'll try it as soon as I get home.

But considering I'm stuck in college scanning negatives at a rate of one every 20 mins, I'm guessing I'll be here 'till they kick me out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andru,

The usual form of address is Neddy.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, lsmod from the livecd lists a rather perfect hardware setup. lsmod from my gentoo installation is a rather different story - it lists absolutely nothing.

That can't be good ;)

Any ideas why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andru,

lsmod lists installed modules - you may have none.
The kernel can be monolitic - everything built in. You would have to answer Y or N (never M) in make menuconfig.
The modules were not built or not installed (or both)
Did you do
Code:
make modules
when you built the kernel?
and
Code:
make modules_install

If you chose some modules and made and installed them, they will be in the directory tree starting at /lib/modules/<kernel_version>.
Have a look through this directory tree.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I answered Y to build eveything I needed into the kernel, and yeah I did "make dep && make bzImage modules modules_install" as in the guide.

I can't find them anywhere in that directory tree, just some dummy.o fils in "kernel" and what I assume to be the source files in "build".

I've reconfigured and compiled the kernel just to be sure I followed the guide to the letter, and I'm still having exactly the same problem.



As this would appear to be more of an installation problem than a network one, is there any chance a mod could move it to the appropriate forum?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andru,

Since you said 'Y' you don't have any modules. All the drivers you chose are in the bzImage file. This makes debug with lsmod and modprobe impossible.

Do lspci and post what you get the mentions Ethernet.

You have either missed a module, or not got /etc/conf.d/net set up right.

If all else fails, you will need to post your /usr/src/linux/.config file.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well all I have in my /etc/conf.d/net is "iface_eth0="dhcp"" since I'm using a different machine as the server (for now - there's a reason I'm installing gentoo on the other box ;)).

lspci doesn't seem to be a valid command for some reason, though it worked fine when I used it on my livecd.
But running from the livecd, lsmod lists the following...
3c59x
floppy
serial
isa-pnp
usb-storage
hid
uhci
usbcore

Running from my gentoo installation it lists nothing...surely it should list floppy, serial, etc, even if it doesn't list my network card module?

As for my /usr/src/linux.config file...I'm not entirely sure how to post that without typing it all out on this comp (unless I can use links2 from the livecd somehow?)

Still mystified ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54847
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Andru,

Your network needs the 3c59x module.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I had that selected in the kernel config, hence my confusion.

I've finally figured it out though, and like all big problems it was something stupidly small ;)

I was forgetting to mount /boot before I copied the new kernel accross!

Thanks for everyones help, now I can finally get on with installing a Window Manager :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

by the way, lspci is part of the pciutils package
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum