Using a livecd/usb of an easier distro to install Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
JelteF
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:15 pm    Post subject: Using a livecd/usb of an easier distro to install Gentoo Reply with quote

I've been using Gentoo for about three years now and have installed and helped installing it many times. The only time I used the Gentoo livecd was the first time. After that I used livecd's from Mint.
It has quite a bit of advantages:
1. You have a browser that is not command line based, which is really handy for googling and copy pasting.
2. You have gparted, which is in my opinion way more easier to use than parted.
3. You have a terminal that doesn't forget the lines above its height, which is good for debugging.
4. You have working networking, which is a pain to setup if its not working on the livecd (and has to be done everytime you reboot).

These are all really usefull for setting up the system.
This is why I think an extra installation medium option should be added to the install guide. I think it would make the installation for newcomers a lot less frustrating. Getting Gentoo to boot and work the first time is already a hard task, no need to make it harder by having a hard installation medium as well.
One last thing, the only thing that is missing on other livecd's is the mirrorselect utility. Everything else can be done the exact same way. Once you have chrooted everything is just fine, since you are in your own non booting Gentoo.

Would love to know what you guys think.
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have installed with a guide quite a long time ago, but I have NEVER installed using gentoo install cd.