View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
secondshadow Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 23 Jun 2003 Posts: 362
|
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 4:11 am Post subject: Slow domain name resolution |
|
|
Alrighty, now I have an odd problem for someone out there. On my network there is a stupid little server box that acts as a router for our cable modem and the 5 computers on the network. Its running either Win98SE or WinME (yeah I know, but I'm not allowed to mess with the server unless I can guarentee that it won't be down for more than about 15 minutes...I'll be converting so some linux variant as soon as I learn more about setting it up) using a Windows ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) connection. The problem I'm having is that in linux it take quite a bit longer to resolve domain names. In windows its as if the computer were connected directly to the cable modem just about, but in linux it takes several seconds. Any idea what may be causing this and how to fix it? Also, where would I go to find information on setting up a network that would act similarly to the one currently running (ie using DHCP and without breaking anything)? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
fimblo Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 306 Location: European Union, Stockholm
|
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
what ip does resolv.conf point to? if it points at your router-puter it could be doing the resolving for you, which is one unnecessary step. It could be there where it takes time...
About setting up your own linuxbox with all the services which your winputer has, I'd start by making a list of all the services you are interested in.
- sshd
- dhcpd
- iptables with NAT functionality
- screen
optional (but fun)
- nessusd
- samba and/or nfs
- postfix or sendmail
- apache
The more stuff you stick in your linux router the more you'll have to think about security. _________________ http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
secondshadow Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 23 Jun 2003 Posts: 362
|
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
In resolv.conf it says:
Code: |
nameserver 192.168.0.1
search mshome.net
|
192.168.0.1 is, you guessed it, the stupid server computer. I'm not entirely sure exactly why that second line is there. The only thing I can figure is that mshome.net is the default domain used by the WinME ICS. So, that said, how do I fix it? Do I just take out the nameserver line in resolv.conf? Or do I have to find my ISP's nameserver and use that?
And as far as the linux box is concerned, all it needs is sshd, dhcp, and something to make it act like the Win ICS so that the network change is transparent to the rest of the computers. Any good places to start for information on this? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
digital diesel Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/11690539353f1ebc1a7232e.png)
Joined: 28 Oct 2002 Posts: 111 Location: pittsburgh, pa
|
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 4:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
take your ISP's domain and it's dns servers and make a new /etc/resolv.conf Oh yeah and be sure to back up your old one.
Code: |
nameserver $DNSIP1
nameserver $DNSIP2
search $ISPDOMAINNAME
|
it's likely that your bottleneck is using the MSWin box to resolve ip addresses for you.
Consider using static IP addresses or if you insist on DHCP look at the man page and pass option "-R" in /etc/conf.d/net |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
secondshadow Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 23 Jun 2003 Posts: 362
|
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
not too sound like a total n00b but what does search do/specify? I read the man page on it, but I don't know a whole lot about networking (yet...taking a class at the moment, but its not going to cover anything usefull for my home network yet...lots of theory about different types of networks and how they work). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
fimblo Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 306 Location: European Union, Stockholm
|
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2003 5:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
search adds functionality to the domain function.
if you would add the line "domain blaha.com" in resolv.conf, and you want to say ssh to shell.blaha.com, al you have to type in your command prompt would be ssh shell. or if you want to surf to www.blaha.com, you can point your browser to http://www.
now if you want more alternatives, you can add the line "search bar.com" to resolv.com.
now if you type ssh foo, your system will first try to find an ip which resolves to foo.blaha.com. if this doesnt exist, it will try foo.bar.com. If it cant find an ip which matches one of these domain names, it will give up.
On my laptop, I have a domain field and a search field, like so:
Code: |
nameserver 195.73.122.152
nameserver 194.72.127.27
domain sunet.se
search gentoo.org
|
when I surf to forums.gentoo.org (which I do alot), I just type http://forums and I get to forums.gentoo.org.
hope this helped! _________________ http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Last edited by fimblo on Wed Oct 29, 2003 10:34 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
secondshadow Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 23 Jun 2003 Posts: 362
|
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks digital for recommending -R. I added that and viola, domain name resolution is almost instantanious now. Oddly, without any modification, resolv.conf changed to:
Code: |
domain gentoo.org
nameserver 216.223.224.7
nameserver 216.223.224.6
|
I'm not entirely sure what those two nameservers are because I know that my ISP's DNS servers are:
Code: |
Primary DNS: 24.35.0.12
Secondary DNS: 24.35.0.13
|
BUUUUT as they seem to resolve things pretty quick I don't quite see a need to change them. Though I may add search aacc.edu 'cause thats my college and there are two sites (myaacc for my aacc account info and vader, the UNIX machine for one of my classes) that I use quite frequently, the latter of which I'm usually ssh'ing to so a bookmark doesn't help Anyway, thanks again for the help. Now I'm off to figure out how to get sshd to work and how to get that stupid WinME box to do port forwarding so I can screw around with my computer from school ![Cool 8)](images/smiles/icon_cool.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|