Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Some noob's questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mercurioneo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2015
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:55 am    Post subject: Some noob's questions Reply with quote

Hello,

I am a new user of gentoo, and I have some doubts, i have installed gentoo setting all parameters needed to use gnome desktop. Now I am going to install xorg and it seems I need to change some settings in my kernel, do I need to follow wiki page for upgrading kernel? Or if I only want to recompile same kernel with some changes, exist a easy and faster way to do it?
Second question, I have read that second digit in kernel version identifies the kernel as stable or experimental. My kernel is 3.17.7 so according to this rule should be experimental as second digit is odd. I choose the kernel doing:

Code:
emerge gentoo-sources


And automatically download last version, how can I choose to download a previous version using emerge?

That's all for now, but sure I'll come back with more questions soon :).

Thank you very much for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 530

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2 ways
1:
Code:

emerge =sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.14.28 -av


2:
Code:

echo ">=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.15" >> /etc/portage/package.mask


As for your 2nd question
http://kernel.org/
as you can see
stable: 3.18.2
stable: 3.17.8 [EOL] (means end of life)
longterm: 3.14.28

stable in the Gentoo sense is what's tagged with, for instance amd64 (vs ~amd64 or no tag)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mercurioneo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2015
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dalu wrote:
2 ways
1:
Code:

emerge =sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.14.28 -av


2:
Code:

echo ">=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.15" >> /etc/portage/package.mask


As for your 2nd question
http://kernel.org/
as you can see
stable: 3.18.2
stable: 3.17.8 [EOL] (means end of life)
longterm: 3.14.28

stable in the Gentoo sense is what's tagged with, for instance amd64 (vs ~amd64 or no tag)


Ok thank you very much for your help, regarding recompile same version with some settings changed, do i have to follow upgrade kernel wiki or there is a faster way to do it?

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mercurioneo wrote:
Ok thank you very much for your help, regarding recompile same version with some settings changed, do i have to follow upgrade kernel wiki or there is a faster way to do it?
I am doing like
Quote:
cd /usr/src/linux-<version>
make menuconfig

(doing my changes and save)

make && mount /boot && make install modules_install && grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
(targets "install" and "modules_install" without an additional "&& make")

reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mercurioneo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2015
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Mercurioneo wrote:
Ok thank you very much for your help, regarding recompile same version with some settings changed, do i have to follow upgrade kernel wiki or there is a faster way to do it?
I am doing like
Quote:
cd /usr/src/linux-<version>
make menuconfig

(doing my changes and save)

make && mount /boot && make install modules_install && grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
(targets "install" and "modules_install" without an additional "&& make")

reboot


Hi charles, you are in everywhere :D :D , thanks for your help, the only thing I don't understand is why mount /boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bstaletic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to have /boot mounted when you change someething about kernel or boot loader,as they reside in that folder (some parts anyway). There are two conditions under which you need not mount /boot:

1) /boot is stated in /etc/fstab and is mounted at boot
2) You do not have a separate /boot partition

This means that if you have a separate /boot partition that is usually not mounted you'll have to mount it before making any actual changes to the kernel/boot loader.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mercurioneo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2015
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bstaletic wrote:
You need to have /boot mounted when you change someething about kernel or boot loader,as they reside in that folder (some parts anyway). There are two conditions under which you need not mount /boot:

1) /boot is stated in /etc/fstab and is mounted at boot
2) You do not have a separate /boot partition

This means that if you have a separate /boot partition that is usually not mounted you'll have to mount it before making any actual changes to the kernel/boot loader.


Ah ok, I see I have boot stated in /etc/fstab, so it is not needed for me to use mount again, just curiosity, why don't you have boot in fstab?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mercurioneo wrote:
Ah ok, I see I have boot stated in /etc/fstab, so it is not needed for me to use mount again, just curiosity, why don't you have boot in fstab?
I do have it in /etc/fstab, but not mounting at boot
Code:
# <fs>          <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                                  <dump/pass>

/dev/sda1       /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime                                  1 2
/dev/sda5       none            swap            sw                                              0 0
/dev/sda6       /               reiserfs        noatime                                         0 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mercurioneo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2015
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Mercurioneo wrote:
Ah ok, I see I have boot stated in /etc/fstab, so it is not needed for me to use mount again, just curiosity, why don't you have boot in fstab?
I do have it in /etc/fstab, but not mounting at boot
Code:
# <fs>          <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                                  <dump/pass>

/dev/sda1       /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime                                  1 2
/dev/sda5       none            swap            sw                                              0 0
/dev/sda6       /               reiserfs        noatime                                         0 1


Ok, thanks, everything is clear. :)

Edit: a final question, I have gentoo installed in sdb drive, I have run grub2 as you said before. Should I do something in sda? As it is my bottable unit. I have changed graphics setup and I know new kernel has been loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bstaletic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2014
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I understood you correctly you have /dev/sda which you have ran grub-install at the time of installation of gentoo. You also have /dev/sdb mounted at /boot. You made some changes to kernel (all along having /boot mounted) and have run grub-mkconfig. If so you do not need any more interference as grub-mkconfig will update every bootloader it can find.

I once (for testing purposes) mounted a flash drive and installed grub to it, then installed grub to a hard drive and as a result running grub-mkconfig updated both bootloaders.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mercurioneo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2015
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bstaletic wrote:
If I understood you correctly you have /dev/sda which you have ran grub-install at the time of installation of gentoo. You also have /dev/sdb mounted at /boot. You made some changes to kernel (all along having /boot mounted) and have run grub-mkconfig. If so you do not need any more interference as grub-mkconfig will update every bootloader it can find.

I once (for testing purposes) mounted a flash drive and installed grub to it, then installed grub to a hard drive and as a result running grub-mkconfig updated both bootloaders.


Ok, perfect then, thank you very much. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum