Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
openpty failed: 'out of pty devices'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:09 pm    Post subject: openpty failed: 'out of pty devices' Reply with quote

During recent update I see this message: openpty failed: 'out of pty devices' -
Please advise!
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

A few things to check.

grep PTY /usr/src/linux/.config, you need
Code:
CONFIG_UNIX98_PTYS=y

If thats OK, the filesystem needs to be mounted. It will show in mount as
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)

If thats missing, mount it manually and tell the error, if there in one.

A long time ago you used to need an entry in /etc/fstab like
Code:
devpts                  /dev/pts        devpts                  rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 0 0

I still have it but the automagiic is supposed to do the mount for you.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Code:
CONFIG_UNIX98_PTYS=y

This ok.

but I do not know what to do with this:
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)

Need to add it to /etc/fstab?
I added this line to /etc/fstab:
Code:
devpts                  /dev/pts        devpts                  rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 0 0

and get some error during booting. I found this in /var/lo/messages:
'Failed login /dev/tty1 FOR root...' - I dont have X server so can not copy here.

what do you mean by that:
Quote:
mount it manually and tell the error

If I need to hit this command in terminal, Please note the exact command.

It is very important to me to know if I did something wrong,
or if I can prevent it in the future because it is not nice problem -
I do not have X server, no network (causing to distcc issue...) and so on - Please advise!

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

If all is well when you issue the
Code:
mount
command, the output should include the line.
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)


If thats missing, try
Code:
mount -t  devpts devpts  -o rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 /dev/pts

and post the error message.

In /dev, what does
Code:
ls -l /dev/null
ls -l /dev/console
show?

I get
Code:
crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 1, 3 May 12  2013 /dev/null
crw------- 1 root root 5, 1 Feb  2 17:30 /dev/console

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)

This is missing.

Code:
mount -t  devpts devpts  -o rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 /dev/pts

Error message: mount point /dev/pts does not exist

Code:
ls -l /dev/null

crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 1, 3 Dec 9 07:42 /dev/null

Code:
ls -l /dev/console

crw------- 1 root root 5, 1 Feb 2 21:16 /dev/console
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

pts is a directory. Try
Code:
mkdir /dev/pts
mount -t  devpts devpts  -o rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 /dev/pts


This will drop out every reboot but it should get you going.
Something (udev?) should create /dev/pts and mount devpts there for you in early boot.

What does mount say about /dev?
Code:
dev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=4072251,mode=755)
is what one of my systems gives.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mkdir /dev/pts
mount -t  devpts devpts  -o rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 /dev/pts

after this no error.

Quote:
What does mount say about /dev?

I have this line:
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)


what to do now - reboot?
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

That worked. If you reboot, you will be back to where you started.
We need to determine why /dev/pts is not created but with the steps you have done, your system should work until you reboot.

What does mount show for /dev?
Thats where /dev/pts will be created.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

I made reboot by mistake and now I dont know how to repeat this process -
Code:
mkdir /dev/pts
mount -t  devpts devpts  -o rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 /dev/pts

It says that files exist and already mounted but mount do not show this line:
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)

EDIT: sorry, I see this line!!! but how to go a head - there is no X server and no network...

Code:
devpts                  /dev/pts        devpts                  rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620 0 0

Need to add this line to /etc/fstab?
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

It sounds like you now have a static /dev as /dev should be created in RAM, yet /dev/pts persisted over a reboot.
What does mount show for /dev?

I get
Code:
dev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=4072251,mode=755)
but only
Code:
dev on /dev type devtmpfs
matters here.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What does mount show for /dev?

mount show this line only:
Code:
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)

I dont have something like you have:
Code:
dev on /dev type devtmpfs

Thats not.
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

That confirms that /dev is not being mounted. That is the cause of your problem.

A few things to check. First in your kernel

Code:
$ grep DEVTMP /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
you neet the first one but the second one is optional.

Both
Code:
grep TMPFS /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
are required.
If you don't have them, do not rebuild your kernel yet.

Now udev.
Is udevd running?
Code:
$ ps -Alf | grep udevd
Warning: /usr/src/linux/System.map has an incorrect kernel version.
5 S root      1554     1  0  80   0 -  7247      -  2014 ?        00:00:00 /sbin/udevd --daemon
0 S roy      30113 30085  0  80   0 -  1672      - 22:21 pts/1    00:00:00 grep --colour=auto udevd

The important bit is /sbin/udevd --daemon

Is this a laptop?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

My outputs:
Code:
grep DEVTMP /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
# CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT is not set


Code:
grep TMPFS /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
# CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT is not set
CONFIG_TMPFS=y
CONFIG_TMPFS_XATTR=y

I dont rebuild kernel.

Code:
ps -Alf | grep udevd

Output only one line - dont have the line of /sbin/udevd --daemon.

Quote:
Is this a laptop?

Yes.

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Any news? I mean good news...
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please inform me if this problem can be resolved or
it requires a new system installation?
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

If you have laptop-tools installed please downgrade it, if thats possible.
There is a better fix, I've seen it posted a few days ago.

The symptoms are identical. udev is not starting.
I will try to find you a link to the forums thread.

It seems that starting udev is the answer.

udev should be in the sysinit runlevel. Add it there if
Code:
 /sbin/rc-update show
shows that it is missing.

Downgrading laptop-tools was the answer to a different issue.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Quote:
If you have laptop-tools installed please downgrade it, if thats possible.

I guess you meant to laptop-mode-tools - I dont have it.

Code:
/sbin/rc-update show

I see that udev has sysinit - but why it is not starting???

Waiting for your link.

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

I edited the post above to add the link.

Do yod get an error if you stort udev by hand ?
It maybe started and crashed.

Try
Code:
/etc/init.d/udev start

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/etc/init.d/udev start

I get this output: 'ERROR: udev needs service dev-mount'
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

Follow this thread
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According the thread you gave me, I checked with eix command and found:
openrc installed rev: 0.12.4 - the same as available rev.

udev-init-script installed rev: 27 -but available rev is: 26-r2 - Is this a problem?
EDIT: and there is a '?' sign near it - not like 'I' as for openrc - Is it means it is not installed??

In the thread there is another issue regarding firmware -
I assume it is not relevant for me - Right?

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

I've just installed eix to attempt to answer your questions.
Thank you for pointing it out to me.

As I'm new to eix, please post exactly what eix shows you.

My server gives
Code:
eix udev-init-script
[I] sys-fs/udev-init-scripts
     Available versions:  26-r2^t{tbz2} 27^t{tbz2} **9999^t
     Installed versions:  27^t{tbz2}(16:44:33 09/02/14)
     Homepage:            http://www.gentoo.org
     Description:         udev startup scripts for openrc

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Since I do not have gui I will try to describe the output of:
Code:
eix udev-init-script
-
Code:
[?] sys-fs/udev-init-scripts - Here instead of [I] I get [?] - I do not find what does it mean in eix -h, but I saw it in other packages - maybe someone in the forum will explain.
Available versions:  26-r2^t 27^t **9999^t - same as yours but without {tbz2}.
Installed versions:  27^t (02/02/15)
Homepage:            http://www.gentoo.org
Description:         udev startup scripts for openrc


EDIT: maybe re-emerge it with chroot ( I dont have network)?
In my desktop it is also with [?]

P.S:
Quote:
I've just installed eix to attempt to answer your questions.
Thank you for pointing it out to me.

I consider this as a joke - I showed you something new... :wink:

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54638
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,

Its not a joke. eix is new to me. Its looks very useful but I will need to learn to use it.
Having read the man page several times, I don't see the ? as in
Code:
[?] sys-fs/udev-init-scripts
being explained

Lets go back to your error
Code:
 'ERROR: udev needs service dev-mount'

In the past, this has been caused by openrc updates.

When you updated openrc did you also use etc-update to update the scripts atd configuration files that it depends on?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Quote:
When you updated openrc did you also use etc-update to update the scripts atd configuration files that it depends on?

I dont remember regarding openrc in particular, but I used etc-update, and maybe I did it -
how can I check it?

Quote:
Its not a joke. eix is new to me. Its looks very useful but I will need to learn to use it.

My pleasure - Yes it is a nice useful tool.

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum