View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 11:52 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Recompiling the kernel/ALSA Sound Card Issue |
|
|
Hello all, I'm new to this forum, as well as Gentoo and even Linux in general.
My system is almost in acceptable working order - the only issue I'm having is with sound. When I use the command it says that my sound device does not have any controls, and does not list it as a sound device.
The above leads me to believe that I did not select the driver for my audio controller when compiling my kernel.
What steps are usually taken when this happens?
I'm guessing that the kernel needs to be recompiled - but on the Gentoo Wiki, they recompile the kernel after selecting a different source, yet keep the configuration the same. I'm thinking that I need to do the opposite - which is keep the source the same, but change the configuration.
Is this possible? If so, how exactly would I go about doing so?
And if this were possible and achieved, would I have to recompile all of my programs? How would this be achieved?
I hope I haven't missed anything, or jumped from conclusion to conclusion too much.
Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Bladesy on Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:48 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
Welcome to Gentoo.
You may have several sound devices. The one that has no controls is usually sound over HDMI.
Lets start at he beginning. Run and post the output. If you don't have lspci yet, its part of pciutils. You wirr need to emerge that.
lspci -k will tell the kernel driver in use, if any.
lspci -k: | 00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8357
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel |
You will not need to rebuild any programs. You might need to rebuild your kernel. Depending on what you have now, it micght just be a configuration issue.
on its own, is the same as
Thats sound card 0. might show controls. You may even have -c2 ... and so on. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you very much, I may have only joined today, but your posts have helped me a lot as of late.
This may seem like a very beginner question, but how exactly do I copy the log of the lspci command? I have it stored in a text file, but I can't seem to get it across to firefox... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
There are two ways. You can copy and past with your mouse.
Highlight the text to copy it. Middle click to paste.
The other way, which is used for pastes that won't fit in a forum post, is to use wgetpaste and post the link it returns.
Don't worry about beginner questions, we all remember starting out. If you do get RTFM responses here they will include a reference to the friendy manual along the lines of see and if its a big man page, a pointer to the bit you need to read :) _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | tux fractured # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (secondary) (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 04)
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 04)
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 04)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 04)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 04)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 04)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 04)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f4)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 04)
06:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5787M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
0a:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
0a:09.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
0a:09.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev 12)
0a:09.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
0a:09.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)
tux fractured # lspci > lspci.txt
tux fractured # ls
Desktop lspci.txt
tux fractured # nano lspci.txt
tux fractured # lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Acer Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0121
Kernel driver in use: i915
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (secondary) (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0121
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Acer Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Acer Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 04)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 04)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 04)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Acer Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f4)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: ata_piix
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
06:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)
Subsystem: Intel Corporation WM3945ABG MOW2
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5787M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: tg3
0a:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
0a:09.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
0a:09.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev 12)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
0a:09.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
0a:09.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G |
What a strange way to copy and paste text, much faster though. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
In the GUI you can use the windows way to copy/paste.
So far so good.
Code: | 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel | Your kernel is in good shape. You don't have HDMI sound or any other PCI sound cards.
What about a USB headset or webcam?
Playing sound to a webcam doesn't sound very good.
What does show?
I get Code: | $ ls /dev/snd/con*
/dev/snd/controlC0 /dev/snd/controlC1 /dev/snd/controlC2 /dev/snd/controlC3 | which tells that my kernel can see four sound cards, C0 .. C3
Your system will be trying to use sound card 0 by default. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
I only get |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Where exactly do I go from here? The system detects my sound card, so does this mean my kernel needs recompiling? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
Use wgetpaste to put your kernel configuration file onto a pastebin site. The file name is /usr/src/linux/.config
tells that you have exactly one sound card. We know from your previous posts that the basic kernel driver is there.
There are four possibilities.
1. The kernel driver is in several pieces - you have a piece missing
2. Your alsa install is incomplete - but you have alsamixer, thats encouraging
3. Your audio codec chip is too new and is not yet supported - unlikely
4. Your audio codec or its wirirng is not auto detected correctly - you will need to pass a parameter to the kernel module when it loads.
Oops - there is another ... your normal user is not in tho audio group, so cannot see the sound card.
Check your groups as a normal user Code: | $ groups
tty wheel uucp audio cdrom video games kvm cdrw users vboxusers scanner plugdev roy |
You must have audio listed.
Does alsamixer work for root?
At the top of alsamixer you should see Code: | │ Card: HDA ATI SB F1: Help │
│ Chip: VIA VT1708S F2: System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture F5: All F6: Select sound card │
│ Item: Master [dB gain: 0.00] Esc: Exit |
What do you have for Chip: _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've got my config file uploaded here: https://bpaste.net/show/0e784d0082b8
Alsamixer works for both root and my normal user, and my normal user is also in the audio group. However, in alsamixer, it only says that my card is a HDA Intel - it doesn't display the chip, or any controls. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
This shows that all of your codec dirvers are off except one.
Code: | # CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC is not set |
Thats a kernel rebuild to fix - I guess you have one of the others.
There is no clue in Code: | 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 04)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Aspire 5920G | either. Well the Ali might be ...
Google hints that it might be Realtek but vendors often mix and match.
The kernel rebuild goes like this ...
to get to the kernel tree
to change the settings - don't ever use a text editor.
Press / for search, enter SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK case is not important here.
Read what it says about where the option is. You will find them all on the same menu.
Set the codecs to either <M> or <Y> ... all of them.
Exit menuconfig, being sure to save the changes.
will build the kernel and its modules
Code: | make modules_install | will install the modules.
if you have a separate boot partition.
Code: | cp arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/<nice_kernel_name> | to copy the kernel to boot. Its a really bad idea to overwrite your only working kernel.
Add /boot/<nice_kernel_name> to your boot loader.
Reboot to test.
Run and look at the date/time in the output. That's the build date/time of the running kernel. It should be nowish, if you are actually using the new kernel.
Try alsamixer. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you very much, I've been searching for a suitable method for recompiling the kernel. I'll post back when I've got it recompiled - hopefully this solves the problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When you say all the codecs, I should enable all I see in the HD-Audio tab? Not just "Build Realtek HD-audio codec support", but all those below it too? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
Yes, include all the codecs. We don't really know which one you need _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ah, I see, better to have them all incase we left out the one that was actually needed. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Will I need to enable anything in the generic sound device drivers, or PCI sound devices? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've actually noticed something in the PCI drivers - there are 2 options which include the phrase "ALi", which are "Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller" and "ALi M5451 PCI Audio Controller". Should I enable these? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for posting so much, but I've included all the options I think I might need - maybe an excess slightly - but I've copied arch/x86/boot/bzImage to /boot/gentoo-sound-kernel. However, when I run Code: | grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg | it only finds one linux image, which is /boot/vmlinuz-3.18.9-gentoo. Shouldn't it be finding /boot/gentoo-sound-kernel? Is there a way to manually add it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
The options "Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller" and "ALi M5451 PCI Audio Controller" are for PCI sound chips.
AC97 refers to the year that the standard was introduced 1997.
We already know that the PCI chip you have is the HD Audio PCI, since lspci -k shows SND_HDA_INTEL in use.
Those options aro just ballast/bloat in your kernel. They won't matter.
I've never used grub2, so I don't know how it works. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I could not find any information on the naming conventions grub2 uses, but I found the name of my old kernel "vmlinuz-3.18.9-gentoo" and changed the name of "gentoo-sound-kernel" to "vmlinuz-3.18.9.1-gentoo" and it suddenly detected it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I ran uname -a and got a very recent date, so I continued to run alsa mixer and it came up with controls and everything. However, I'm not quite sure how to configure it and achieve sound. Are there any ways to test the sound? I should also note that for some reason my terminal emulator urxvt isn't working. Will it need recompiling? Firefox seems to be fine, but I tried to play a video, and got no sound. I assume this means it needs to be recompiled to work with my updated kernel also? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
By default, all of your sound channes are muted. If you unmute them they will be muted again after a reboot.
Add alsasound to the default runlevel to preserve your sound settings across reboots.
Code: | │ │OO│ │OO│ │OO│ │MM│ │OO│ │OO│ │
│ └──┘ └──┘ └──┘ └──┘ └──┘ └──┘ │
│ 100 75<>75 94<>94 0<>0 0<>0 100<>100 100 │
│ < Master >Headphon PCM Front Front Mi Front Mi Surround Center |
The MM at the bottom of a slider indicates Muted. Sliders are stereo controls, so there is one M each for left and right.
Do not unmute everything in sight. Most sound cards can do digital and analogue sound but not at the same time.
Be sure to leave anything with SPDI/F or IEC in its name muted. This is because digital takes priority over analogue.
Unmute Master and PCM, set the controls to about 70% then try
You may find anduseful. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks so much for your help, but would you happen to know why my terminal fails to load? Should I try recompiling it - and how would I do so? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bladesy Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2015 Posts: 113
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, I forgot to ask in my last post, but is it safe to remove my old kernel? Is there anything to take caution with? I should also mention that sound is working perfectly from the speaker test, and also in firefox. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54737 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bladesy,
Code: | $ emerge urxvt -pv
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "urxvt".
emerge: searching for similar names...
emerge: Maybe you meant any of these: x11-terms/rxvt, x11-terms/mrxvt, x11-terms/xvt? |
Where did you get urxvt?
All terminal emulators need a pair of ptys per instance. You have pyy support it your kernel.
What does the mount commanh - no parameters have to say?
It should include the line Code: | devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620) |
If not, does turning that line into a mount command and mounting devpts manually help? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|