Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
first post: would gentoo be appropriate for this system?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
torchZ06
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 10:56 pm    Post subject: first post: would gentoo be appropriate for this system? Reply with quote

hi all,

first off let me say what a great resource this forum is and how happy i am to have come across it. i've been playing around with linux for a few years now (mostly redhat, suse, mandrake) and i've been working with unix systems (suns and sgi's) since the early 90s. i've also tried the different BSD's and had a powerbook that i converted from OSX to yellowdog, so i'm not quite a newbie, but i'm a little confused as to whats the best distro to use on my girlfriends PC.

right now i've got gentoo on my PIII 500 system, and i was able to emerge and compile everything in a "reasonable" ammount of time, but her machine is a PII 266 with 128MB of RAM and a 4.3GB disk (she's got another 3GB that's got win2k on it and is expressly for playing The SIms) .

i've got gentoo on it right now, but i downloaded the 2 live CD's and emerged the binary packages-- it took a pretty long time to compile the kernel, so i don't think i'll want to make a regular habit of compiling stuff on it.

she's a photography buff and basically wants her computer for image manipulation chores-- so i figured i could eek the most performance out of it with gentoo, but now i'm thinking maybe i should just put redhat on it and turn her loose?

any thoughts? i haven't played with gentoo enough to know how much maintenance it requires-- she's getting tired of not being able to use "her" computer! :)

i know you all have probably been thru similar situations, and i would really appreciate any direction you can impart.

thanks much!
patrick
Mactabilis
n00b
n00b