View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Troopo
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:29 pm    Post subject: Installing KDE 5 Reply with quote

Hi,

This is my first time with gentoo KDE and i wanted to try the new version but the only guide i found was an *upgrade* guide instead of an installation one:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Plasma_5_upgrade

some commands aren't there or something maybe it's outdated i don't know but when i run the following command:
Code:
emerge --ask kde-plasma/plasma-meta

i get the following error which i couldn't get passed:
Code:

the ebuild selected to satisfy "x11-misc/sddm" has unmet requirements.
x11-misc/sddm-0.11.0::gentoo USE="systemd upower (-consolekit)" ABI_X86="64"

the following required_use flag constraints are unsatisfied:
at-most-one-of (upower systemd)

(dependency required by "kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.3.1::gentoo[sddm,display-manager]" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "kde-plasma/plasma-meta" [argument])

I should mention i'm also new to gentoo but i did install most of the other needed things or so i think.

Anyway i would appreciate the help and will post any info you might need just let me know.

Thanks.
kensington
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This error means that In x11-misc/sddm, the upower and systemd USE flags are mutually exclusive. Since I assume you're using systemd, you should disable upower for that package.

I'd also suggest filing a bug - I am sure we could improve the handling of this situation.
Troopo
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2015 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kensington wrote:
This error means that In x11-misc/sddm, the upower and systemd USE flags are mutually exclusive. Since I assume you're using systemd, you should disable upower for that package.