View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Jaxom Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 7:33 pm Post subject: PPTP and web browsing while connected (DNS related) |
|
|
I have a client who I setup a Gentoo server and PPTP VPN (PoPToP)for. The VPN works perfectly, however, I'm not getting DNS resolution on the clients while connected. (ie I can ping 209.233.40.126, but I get Unknown host trying to ping server.clan-dfa.com) I'm pretty sure I just have something set wrong, so here's some of the configs....
options.pptpd
Code: | ## CHANGE TO SUIT YOUR SYSTEM
lock
## turn pppd syslog debugging on
#debug
## change 'pptpd' to whatever you specify as your server name in chap-secrets
name pptpd
proxyarp
# This option applies if you use ppp with chapms-strip-domain patch
#chapms-strip-domain
+chap
# These options apply if you use ppp with mppe patch
# NB! You should also apply the ChapMS-V2 patch
-chap
-chapms
+chapms-v2
mppe-128
mppe-stateless
# These options will tell ppp to pass on these to your clients
# To use ms-dns or ms-dns in options.pptpd it must exist in /etc/resolv.conf
#ms-wins your.server.here
ms-dns dns1.snfcca.sbcglobal.net |
/etc/resolve.conf
Code: | domain pbi.net
nameserver 206.13.28.12
nameserver 206.13.29.12 |
Those are the only things I saw that related to DNS and the PPTP VPN. I can easily get anything else you need to answer my question. I'm pretty sure I'm just not setting something right. _________________ Undisputed Heavyweight Champion. If it's undisputed, WHAT'S ALL THE FIGHTING ABOUT?!?! -- George Carlin
Last edited by Jaxom on Tue Nov 04, 2003 10:27 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
zaftro n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/d31cb3e13e25377140d83.png)
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 Posts: 39 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 3:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Jaxom,
This could be an IP forwarding problem. You must ensure that ipv4 (I know nothing about ipv6...) forwarding has been enabled in the /proc file system by executing as root:
Code: | # echo '1' > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward |
And then, if you use a firewall script, allow the ppp devices created by pptpd to forward packets. Assuming pptp creates 'ppp0' you might be able to use:
Code: | # iptables -A FORWARD -i ppp0 -j ACCEPT |
There may even be wild card ppp device matching support in iptables, along the lines of 'ppp+'. Either way, I hope that it helps and apologise if it confuses you.
Cheers,
zaftro _________________ You may well be reading my signature. Don't be alarmed.
JID: dan.farrell@jabber.zim.net.au |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Jaxom Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the suggestion. However, ipforwarding is working or I wouldn't be able to ping at all. Atleast that's how I would think it would be. This is what I'm actually getting when I am connected
Code: | C:\DOCUME~1\PERN>ping 209.233.40.126
Pinging 209.233.40.126 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.233.40.126: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=64
Reply from 209.233.40.126: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=64
Reply from 209.233.40.126: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=64
Reply from 209.233.40.126: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=64
Ping statistics for 209.233.40.126:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms |
Code: | C:\DOCUME~1\PERN>ping ozy.scronline.com
Unknown host ozy.scronline.com.
C:\DOCUME~1\PERN> |
ozy.scronline.com is 209.233.40.126 _________________ Undisputed Heavyweight Champion. If it's undisputed, WHAT'S ALL THE FIGHTING ABOUT?!?! -- George Carlin |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
MrPyro Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2003 Posts: 121 Location: Sheffield, England
|
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Are your nameservers in resolv.conf valid and working properly? Can you ping other hosts (like google) by hostname? Can you ping the nameservers? And where are those hosts defined? do you have your own nameserver, or are you using an ISP? _________________ Back off man, I'm a computer scientist |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
MrPyro Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2003 Posts: 121 Location: Sheffield, England
|
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 6:14 pm Post subject: Re: PPTP and web browsing while connected |
|
|
Just noticed this
Quote: |
options.pptpd
Code: |
# These options will tell ppp to pass on these to your clients
# To use ms-dns or ms-dns in options.pptpd it must exist in /etc/resolv.conf
#ms-wins your.server.here
ms-dns dns1.snfcca.sbcglobal.net |
/etc/resolve.conf
Code: | domain pbi.net
nameserver 206.13.28.12
nameserver 206.13.29.12 |
Those are the only things I saw that related to DNS and the PPTP VPN. I can easily get anything else you need to answer my question. I'm pretty sure I'm just not setting something right. |
Is dns1.snfcca.sbcglobal.net one of those two servers in resolv.conf? And maybe you should refer to it by IP address in the pptpd file (using a hostname for a DNS server under any circumstances is generally considered to be a bad idea)[/quote] _________________ Back off man, I'm a computer scientist |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Jaxom Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Is dns1.snfcca.sbcglobal.net one of those two servers in resolv.conf? |
yes, it's 206.13.28.12
I tried changing the ms-dns to 206.13.28.12 and restarted the VPN. Still get the same thing...no DNS. And just to qualify, yes, I can resolve DNS from the server directly. It's definitely a strange little issue. I've even tried forcing the DNS server settings by setting them directly in the dialer of a Windows 2000 machine. Still no DNS.
Is it possible that BIND needs to be installed and configured as a caching DNS server? _________________ Undisputed Heavyweight Champion. If it's undisputed, WHAT'S ALL THE FIGHTING ABOUT?!?! -- George Carlin |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Jaxom Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 31 Jan 2003 Posts: 137
|
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, attempted to use BIND as well. No such luck. Set it all to local host and it works fine from the server, but again.....no DNS resolve. _________________ Undisputed Heavyweight Champion. If it's undisputed, WHAT'S ALL THE FIGHTING ABOUT?!?! -- George Carlin |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|