Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
help - i fu**ed up my installation :(
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kaidon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 6:30 pm    Post subject: help - i fu**ed up my installation :( Reply with quote

hello gentoo world

first off all, i'm banging my head on the table while writing this. i forgot or lets say ignored the basic number one rule in dealing with computers.

NEVER touch a running system.

well i did (shame on me).

i installed gentoo from stage 1, "everything" worked perfectly. i really love the gentoo-way. after all these years using wintendo i'm back in control and i'm asking myself why i didn't switch to linux years ago. anyway, here's my problem:

after setting up the system i noticed (thought) that my CFLAGS where not really what i wanted them to be. i started of (copy-paste) from a turorial with following make.conf settings:

Code:

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O3 -mcpu=i686 -funroll-loops -pipe"
USE="x86 acpi alsa apache2 -apm avi bonobo cdr crypt cups dga directfb doc dvb dvd encode evo fbcon gif gnome gpm gtk gtkhtml java jpeg -kde ldap mad mmx motif mozilla mpeg nls pam pcmcia pda pdflib perl png pnp -qt readline samba sdl spell sse ssl tcltk tcpd tiff truetype trusted usb X -xinerama xml2 xmms xv zlib"
ALSA_CARD="intel8x0"
FEATURES="sandbox ccache"
CCACHE_SIZE="1G"



after thinking a while (maybe not long enough) and reading mans i decided to change my CFLAGS since i do not intend to use stuff compiled on this machine anywhere else. this is what i did:

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"



after that i did a
Code:
emerge -e world


so far so good. but after emerging something like package 311/378 the whole thing stopped saying that openoffice needs blackdown-jdk and not the sun-jdk which i was using. ok, changed that, reemerged openoffice. but the bastard failed with some error message. then i got impatient and belive i made a big mistake. i rebooted the machine. and now it doesn't come up again ...

it hangs at: mounting proc on /proc (the first line with the neet green [ok], well it hangs before the [ok] comes).

thank good i still have my slackware installation arround. so i booted from that, and i'm able to enter and chroot to the gentoo partition.

now, before making any more stupid mistakes.
what is the best way to repair such a problem, preferebly without recompiling the whole thing?

my machine is a:
Dell Inspiron 8500 (BIOS A05)
CPU: Mobile Pentium 4 2.40GHz
RAM: 1024 MB @ 266MHz
Video: NVIDIA GeForce4 4200 64MB
Panel: 15.4" Wide UXGA
Audio: Sigmatel 9750 (AC'97)
Modem: PCTEL 2304WT
HD: 60GB
Modular Bay: CD-RW/DVD Combo | NEC USB Floppy

i intend to use it for:
java development (eclipse, xindice, sql)
office tasks (all i need to replace wintendo apps)
test-environment for building a home cinema/media server

everything i needed (except mrproject and tcpdump) was working. so it is quite frustrating to be at point 0 again. snief

anybody got an idea?

thanx for any help
sincerely
kaidon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 534
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe you have to re-emerge 'system' before trying 'world'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ed0n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 638
Location: Prishtine/Kosove

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guitou wrote:
I believe you have to re-emerge 'system' before trying 'world'.


I think it is the same thing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaidon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ed0n

you seem to be right

emerge -p system gives back
Code:

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating system dependencies ... done!
[ebuild UD] sys-apps/findutils-4.1.7-r5 [4.1.20]


while
emerge -p world gives back
Code:

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating system dependencies ... done!
[ebuild U] net-www/apache-2.0.48-r1 [2.0.48]
[ebuild UD] sys-apps/findutils-4.1.7-r5 [4.1.20]



so i assume "emerge world" includes resp. first does a "emerge system".

is that correct?

another thing i do not yet understand.
portage keeps giving me messages like:
[ebuild UD] some-group/some-package-1.1.1 [1.2.3]
[ebuild UD] some-group/another-package-0.1.2 [1.0.1]
etc.

if i read man emerge, it tells me that [ebuild UD] means that i have unstable/insecure packages installed which it wants to downgrade for me.

i am not aware of installing anything "unstable". how can this be? is it possible that a package "changes" from stable back to unstable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pete_Keller
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 664
Location: Norwich, CT USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kaidon,

When you look at the root partition, do you see the proc directory?

Pete
_________________
I am a SIGNATURE VIRUS, help me spread - attach me to your signature file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaidon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi Pete

this is what i tried before reading your post:
i followed the x86-install guide as i did the first time.

Code:

slackware# mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
slackware# cp /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf
slackware# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
# source /etc/profile
# emerge sync
# emerge -v system
# emerge -v world
# etc-update
# exit
slackware# cd /
slackware# umount /mnt/gentoo/boot
slackware# umount /mnt/gentoo/proc
slackware# umount /mnt/gentoo
slackware# reboot


after reboot i'm stuck where i started of:

* Mounting proc at /proc


if i do a ls -al /mnt/gentoo from slackware
there is a empty directory /mnt/gentoo/proc.
after chrooting to the gentoo installation as described above /proc is there and there seems to be everything ok.
i mean i can do something like cat /proc/cpuinfo and it gives me back the same as before a ruined my installation. well that probably doesn't mean anything cause as far as my understanding of this is it's the "slackware-proc" i see here.

it seems that as long as i'm in the chroot "everythings" ok. but when i leave it and try to boot gentoo i end up with the *Mountig proc at /proc.

slackware and gentoo are sharing the /boot and swap partition.
i didn't find anything which i could map to the problem in the log files.
just looks like the box thinks it's monday or something like that.

any ideas how to proceed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pete_Keller
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 664
Location: Norwich, CT USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kaidon,

Check and see if you accidentally deleted the /proc partition, reboot with the install cd, mount your root partition on /mnt/gentoo, and look and see if you have a /mnt/gentoo/proc partition listed.

Pete
_________________
I am a SIGNATURE VIRUS, help me spread - attach me to your signature file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaidon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi Pete

thanks for responding again.

i did what you told me to.
there is a folder /mnt/gentoo/proc, but its empty.

i've installed gentoo on one single 10000MB partition. except for /boot and swap which are shared with slackware.

as you can see of my postings i don't really know what i'm dooing.
anyway - not ready to give up yet.

what do i do now?
should i just install from scratch again? i guess that would solve the problem. just would take a LONG time.

ps: just finished reading the "how to ask smart-questions" guide. sorry for the stupid subject and questions asked. i'll try to do better in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pete_Keller
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 664
Location: Norwich, CT USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kaidan,

the proc directory is supposed to be empty, your mount proc command will tell the kernel to mount virtual files there.

I am not sure what else to try, so a rebuild might be in order. Try a stage 3 rebuild, with that there is less time compiling stuff, then once you get everything correct, you can perform a emerge -e world and rebuild everything.

Pete
_________________
I am a SIGNATURE VIRUS, help me spread - attach me to your signature file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaidon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi Pete

i'll do that and post again when done.

thanx again for helping me out.

best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum