Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
grub reporting error 17, how to fix?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:16 am    Post subject: grub reporting error 17, how to fix? Reply with quote

I formatted my boot partition with ext2 with journaling (it's ext3 now I'm assuming?) and now I get error 17 (From gnu.org: This error is returned if the partition requested exists, but the filesystem type cannot be recognized by GRUB.) from grub when trying to boot the system.

How can I fix this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7753
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe you are trying to access a windows partition (e.g., ntfs). look at 'fdisk -l' and choose the right partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pete_Keller
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 664
Location: Norwich, CT USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

z-lite,

yes the partition is ext-3 now.

please post the output of fdisk -l /dev/hda (and other hard drives if you are using them) and your grub.conf and your /etc/fstab.

Pete
_________________
I am a SIGNATURE VIRUS, help me spread - attach me to your signature file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to say but I had a failed dual-boot installation prior to this new Gentoo installation and Gentoo is the only OS installed now.

I am unable to use the OS since I can't boot into it. How would I be able to access /etc/grub/grub.conf and /etc/fstab? Could I use the LiveCD to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leander256
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 910
Location: Singapour

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

z-lite wrote:
Could I use the LiveCD to do this?


Of course you can ;)

Just boot with it, and mount the partitions in /mnt/gentoo (first mount your root partition, then your boot partition if you have both). You don't need to use chroot if it's just for editing files (if grub was correctly installed, you don't need to launch it again, it can read its own configuration file during the boot) . Don't forget to unmount partitions in reverse order when you're finished.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still a 0-day nubbie at Linux so to mount, I would:

mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo

and then look for /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf ? Then to unmount

umount /dev/hda1
umount /dev/hda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leander256
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 910
Location: Singapour

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you followed the doc, so:

Code:
mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot

to mount both partitions.

Then to print the files content on the screen, you can do something like:
Code:
cat /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab
cat /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf


Of course the "cat" command is just an example, you can also "more" or "less" if you find it more useful.

Then to unmount:
Code:
umount /mnt/gentoo/boot
umount /mnt/gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help, I'll check it out when I get home.

Happen to know what grub config I would use if I were to install Windows XP onto the remaining space of the disk [I used 20 GB for gentoo and saving 20 GB for Windows XP (it's being used as my home linux box and my lan gaming box)]?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leander256
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 910
Location: Singapour

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, installing XP besides gentoo can be a pain in the ass, especially if you try to install it on another partition than hda1. You should search through this forum, there are many posts about it. And the installation guide contains the lines to add to the grub.conf at the #23 section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried that but grub gave me an error during bootup to WinXP (I remember performing the hdparm command to my WinXP partition which could have messed it up, right? :oops: ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my fstab:
Code:
/dev/hda1               /boot           ext3            noauto,noatime         1
 1
/dev/hda3               /               reiserfs                noatime        0
 0
/dev/hda2               none            swap            sw                     0
 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro              0
 0

grub.conf
Code:
default 0
timeout 5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 1.4
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r8 root=/dev/hda3 vga=762
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r8

fdisk -l
Code:
   Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1             1         5     40131   83  Linux
/dev/hda2             6        68    506047+  82  Linux swap
/dev/hda3            69      2434  19004895   83  Linux


Is there an error in my configs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z-lite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I solved my error. I went through the grub prompt and I remember putting in setup (hd0,0) for some reason, and I checked the installation page and it said to use (hd0) and so I did that and it worked. Thanks anyways :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum