View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ascendant n00b
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 60 Location: / (USA)
|
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:52 am Post subject: Why does netifrc not set routes automatically like CentOS? |
|
|
Hi, all
I'm curious about an issue I've encountered setting up networking on a Gentoo guest as compared to a CentOS guest in KVM. CentOS is able to automatically set routes when bringing up the network without extra configuration, but Gentoo is not able to. I've searched forums and Google, and couldn't find others with a similar issue so I wonder if there's a configuration option or kernel module missing that prevents autodetection from working.
Here's the full configuration for CentOS, which works: /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0: | DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=none
ONBOOT=yes
USERCTL=no
IPV6INIT=no
PEERDNS=yes
TYPE=Ethernet
NETMASK=255.255.255.255
IPADDR=149.56.xx.xx
GATEWAY=192.99.233.254
ARP=yes
HWADDR=02:00:00:xx:xx:xx |
route -n: |
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
0.0.0.0 192.99.233.254 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0
149.56.xx.xx 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 UH 100 0 0 eth0
192.99.233.254 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 UH 100 0 0 eth0
|
Here's the expected configuration for Gentoo:
/etc/conf.d/net: | config_eth0="149.56.xx.xx"
routes_eth0="default via 192.99.233.254"
| Which results in init: | * Adding routes...
* default via 192.99.233.254 ...
RTNETLINK answers: Network is unreachable [ !! ] | and route -n: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo |
These lines were added to the net file in order to get routes off the container: /etc/conf.d/net: | routes_eth0="192.99.233.254/32 dev eth0
149.56.xx.xx/32 dev eth0
default via 192.99.233.254" | I eventually found this to be the minimum configuration required: /etc/conf.d/net: | config_eth0="149.56.xx.xx"
routes_eth0="192.99.233.254/32
default via 192.99.233.254"
|
_________________ This post brought to you by a cheap router.
Last edited by ascendant on Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:48 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54676 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
ascendant,
Your syntax is not correct. You need ...
Code: | routes_eth0="default via 192.168.0.1" |
See the Gentoo Handbook _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ascendant n00b
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 60 Location: / (USA)
|
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi NeddySeagoon,
Thanks for the reply! Sorry, this was a copy/paste error. The expected config file did have that line as you described it:
routes_eth0="default via 192.99.233.254"
The "Network is unreachable" error occurs with that configuration, edited. _________________ This post brought to you by a cheap router. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|