Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Large UHD TV as a replacement for multiple monitors?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
1clue
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:55 pm    Post subject: Large UHD TV as a replacement for multiple monitors? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I currently am working with dual 24" 1920x1080 monitors. I'm 50 so my eyes are not so good as they once were. I'm a programmer, and I like to have multiple files open and on the screen at the same time.

I'm contemplating a large screen (50" or 125cm) UHD tv as a replacement for multiple monitors. I haven't bought yet, I'd like to get some sort of confirmation that this works before I do.

I know there are UHD monitors out there but they're generally smaller and being used as "retina" displays. I don't want that. A 24" 1920x1080 monitor is "retina" enough for me. I want real estate for lots of text on the screen at once.

So, questions:

1. Is it easy to get these monitors set up with the same dpi as a normal half-dimensions monitor?
  2. Can you divide this monitor into snap-to sections so they act as though they are several monitors, so browsers and such zoom out to fill one region rather than the entire monitor?
  3. What's the overall experience like?

Snap-to sections that I would find interesting:

1. Down the middle horizontally and vertically, to make a 2x2 array of visible 1080p resolution pseudo-monitors.
  2. 25% and 75%, so the main region is in the center and several smaller visible regions are around the edges.
  3. 33% and 66%, so you make a 3x3 grid.

Note that I also use a workspace switcher, that would not change.

Thanks.
thumper
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The DPI will likely be different, I have a Seki 39 inch 3840x2160 and it's DPI is 113.