View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
petan n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Jan 2016 Posts: 55
|
Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 10:13 am Post subject: CPU frequency doesn't auto-change |
|
|
Hi,
I have a serious issue with CPU on DELL E5550
Whenever I boot up the system while not plugged in, the kernel switches the frequency to 500MHZ:
Code: | Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order: Little Endian
CPU(s): 4
On-line CPU(s) list: 0-3
Thread(s) per core: 2
Core(s) per socket: 2
Socket(s): 1
NUMA node(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 61
Model name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5600U CPU @ 2.60GHz
Stepping: 4
CPU MHz: 500.000
CPU max MHz: 2601.0000
CPU min MHz: 500.0000
BogoMIPS: 5188.38
Virtualization: VT-x
NUMA node0 CPU(s): 0-3 |
When I boot up while plugged to wall socket, the frequency is 2600MHZ
Changing power while system is running has no effect and there seem to be no way to manually override this. That means always when I detect that laptop is in "power saving" mode, I have reboot while plugged in, otherwise it's terribly slow. Is there a way to make this work automatically? Or adjust the frequency by hand? Or basically, just disable power saving so that it's always max? I would rather have battery that doesn't last very long, than perma-slow laptop. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
khayyam Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/9397496074fd0189143bb7.png)
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 10:48 am Post subject: Re: CPU frequency doesn't auto-change |
|
|
petan wrote: | Changing power while system is running has no effect and there seem to be no way to manually override this. That means always when I detect that laptop is in "power saving" mode, I have reboot while plugged in, otherwise it's terribly slow. Is there a way to make this work automatically? Or adjust the frequency by hand? Or basically, just disable power saving so that it's always max? I would rather have battery that doesn't last very long, than perma-slow laptop. |
petan ... you perhaps have CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE as the DEFAULT_GOV ... 'grep CPU_FREQ /usr/src/linux/.config' will give some idea.
The method of setting/changing cpu_freq is via sys-power/cpupower, so for example to set the governer to 'performance' (assuming its enabled in the kernel).
Code: | # cpupower -c all frequency-set -g performance |
... or you can define the governer and parameters via /etc/conf.d/cpupower, or tie this in with acpid (so setting based on 'ac_adapter')
Also note that if you set 'ondemand' as the default govener the cpu will scale up/down dependent on the activity. This might providing the powersaving but still adjust cpu speed when needed.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
petan n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Jan 2016 Posts: 55
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 12:21 pm Post subject: Re: CPU frequency doesn't auto-change |
|
|
khayyam wrote: | petan wrote: | Changing power while system is running has no effect and there seem to be no way to manually override this. That means always when I detect that laptop is in "power saving" mode, I have reboot while plugged in, otherwise it's terribly slow. Is there a way to make this work automatically? Or adjust the frequency by hand? Or basically, just disable power saving so that it's always max? I would rather have battery that doesn't last very long, than perma-slow laptop. |
petan ... you perhaps have CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE as the DEFAULT_GOV ... 'grep CPU_FREQ /usr/src/linux/.config' will give some idea.
The method of setting/changing cpu_freq is via sys-power/cpupower, so for example to set the governer to 'performance' (assuming its enabled in the kernel).
Code: | # cpupower -c all frequency-set -g performance |
... or you can define the governer and parameters via /etc/conf.d/cpupower, or tie this in with acpid (so setting based on 'ac_adapter')
Also note that if you set 'ondemand' as the default govener the cpu will scale up/down dependent on the activity. This might providing the powersaving but still adjust cpu speed when needed.
best ... khay |
Seems it's "performance" that I have by default
Code: | petanb@localhost ~ $ grep CPU_FREQ /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_ACPI_CPU_FREQ_PSS=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_COMMON=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
khayyam Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/9397496074fd0189143bb7.png)
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 8:36 pm Post subject: Re: CPU frequency doesn't auto-change |
|
|
petan wrote: | Seems it's "performance" that I have by default |
petan ... in which case I can't explain why it is scaled to 500Mhz, do you perhaps have laptop-mode-tools installed/enabled?
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|