Network failure, config is correct
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kickstart70
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2003 9:59 am    Post subject: Network failure, config is correct Reply with quote

Ok,quite seriously here. I've been using linux for nearly 10 years and am absolutely sure that the network setup is correct, yet fails to work.

Here's what I know:
- Using Athlon LiveCD
- Installed with Stage3+GRP
- Network worked fine (DHCP and Static) with previous linux installs (Redhat, Debian, Knoppix)
- Network worked fine during install booted to LiveCD
- Network doesn't work after reboot, using DHCP or Static
- Driver 8139cp failed to load initially, so I removed it from config and recompiled (genkernel --config)
- Still failed with 8139too after reboot
- Still failed after removing IPv6 support
- Disabled on-board RealTek8139 NIC, installed a Digital card that I had lying around. Identical failure to above. Tulip module loaded fine, but network is unreachable (DNS and Static)
- 'route' takes quite a while to respond (dunno if that means anything)
- manually setting up network card with 'ifconfig' results are same
- manually setting up gatewar route results are same
- 'dhcpcd eth0' returns nothing and does not receive DHCP info
- Booting to windows on same hardware (different HD) using DHCP and Static works fine
- checked all applicable command responses against other linux machines on the same network and have come to the conclusion that something low-level in the installation or code is broken

I will do anything you suggest, however repeating the above steps will result in same response. I've tried everything more than twice with identical results.

Thanks for any info you can give - developers, if you'd like to reach me directly please email to gregwebPLEASENOSPAM@dowco.com (remove PLEASENOSPAM).

Greg
peshwengi
n00b
n00b