Questions about Portage profiles and general installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
notCarl
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:17 pm    Post subject: Questions about Portage profiles and general installation Reply with quote

Hey everyone. I'm a total linux noob. I've found myself in a situation where I'm this extremely broke student who needs an inexpensive hobby and is interested in learning linux.
I played around with Ubuntu and it seemed too bloated, and the whole reason I wanted Linux was to "hack" my own system in a DIY way(not a leet haxor). It reminded me of a retail OS. It even came with Amazon lol... Then I tried Fedora. Same thing.

Fast forward, now I'm halfway through installing gentoo, the unforgiving OS that I didn't want to hold my hand.

My question is in regards to the Portage Profiles. I am installing gentoo and learning linux because I want to get as close to possible to controlling my system as I can, and learn along the way. From what I understand, the profiles like Desktop/Gnome and Desktop/KDE include packages that are commonly used with systems running Gnome or DKE. Essentially saving time as well as preventing me from downloading packages I don't need, unlike Windows 10 which stuffs our system with bloatware.

Is the vanilla gentoo desktop package what I want as someone who wants to go through the process of building their system themselves for experience?
I do want it to be a desktop system. I've seen very cool desktop customization online that I'd like to try.(window managers, color, self scripted notifications)
If I were to install Gnome or KDE Profile (almost certain I will not), can I remove them at a later time and get my system to a similar build as if I had never chose the Gnome or KDE Profile?