View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:29 pm Post subject: How Do I Blacklist a Sync Mirror [Solved] |
|
|
Hi,
I am having a lot of problems with the Georgia Tech mirrors running at about 10k a second. It's consistently slow and it seems to come up as my preferred mirror about 8 in 10 times. Seeing as how it isn't 1993 anymore, how to I pick a more bandwidth appropriate mirror or at least prevent the Georgia Tech dial up mirror from being selected?
Thanks
Last edited by KWhat on Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:22 am; edited 5 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khayyam Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:27 am Post subject: Re: How Do I Blacklist a Sync Mirror |
|
|
KWhat wrote: | [...] how to I pick a more bandwidth appropriate mirror or at least prevent the Georgia Tech dial up mirror from being selected? |
KWhat ... app-portage/mirrorselect
Code: | # mirrorselect -c USA -s3 -b5 -D |
HTH & best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sigh...
Code: | plutonium244 kwhat # mirrorselect -c USA -s3 -b5 -D
* Using url: https://api.gentoo.org/mirrors/distfiles.xml
* Limiting test to "country=USA" hosts.
* Downloading a list of mirrors...
Got 155 mirrors.
* Downloading mirrorselect-test files from each mirror... [1 of 24]Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 305, in deeptime
addr_family, socket.SOCK_STREAM, 0, socket.AI_ADDRCONFIG):
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/socket.py", line 537, in getaddrinfo
for res in _socket.getaddrinfo(host, port, family, type, proto, flags):
socket.gaierror: [Errno -3] Temporary failure in name resolution
During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.4/mirrorselect", line 61, in <module>
MirrorSelect().main(sys.argv)
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/main.py", line 375, in main
urls = self.select_urls(hosts, options)
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/main.py", line 324, in select_urls
selector = Deep(hosts, options, self.output)
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 226, in __init__
self.deeptest()
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 253, in deeptest
mytime, ignore = self.deeptime(host, maxtime)
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 305, in deeptime
addr_family, socket.SOCK_STREAM, 0, socket.AI_ADDRCONFIG):
File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/site-packages/mirrorselect/selectors.py", line 199, in timeout_handler
raise TimeoutException()
mirrorselect.selectors.TimeoutException
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khayyam Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
KWhat wrote: | Code: | File "/usr/lib64/python3.4/socket.py", line 537, in getaddrinfo
for res in _socket.getaddrinfo(host, port, family, type, proto, flags):
socket.gaierror: [Errno -3] Temporary failure in name resolution |
|
KWhat ... you have USE=ipv6 on =dev-lang/python-3.4.x? If so then try adding '--ipv4' to the command.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
khayyam wrote: |
KWhat ... you have USE=ipv6 on =dev-lang/python-3.4.x? If so then try adding '--ipv4' to the command. |
Hmmm same issue with --ipv4. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khayyam Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
KWhat wrote: | Hmmm same issue with --ipv4. |
KWhat ... in which case are there python packages not built with python_targets_python3_4?
Code: | # eix '-Ice#' --installed-without-use python_targets_python3_4 |
If any of the following are in that list then your python3.4 install isn't in a consistant state:
emerge -pq app-portage/mirrorselect | awk '{print $4}': | net-analyzer/netselect-0.3-r3
dev-python/pyasn1-0.1.8
dev-python/six-1.10.0
dev-util/dialog-1.3.20160828
dev-python/py-1.4.30
dev-python/PySocks-1.5.6
dev-python/backports-1.0
dev-python/idna-2.0
dev-python/enum34-1.0.4
dev-python/ply-3.6-r1
dev-python/ipaddress-1.0.14
dev-python/backports-ssl-match-hostname-3.5.0.1-r1
dev-python/pycparser-2.14
virtual/python-ipaddress-1.0-r1
dev-python/cffi-1.5.2
dev-python/cryptography-1.5.2
dev-python/pyopenssl-16.2.0
dev-python/ndg-httpsclient-0.4.0
dev-python/urllib3-1.16
dev-python/requests-2.11.1
dev-python/ssl-fetch-0.3
app-portage/mirrorselect-2.2.2-r2 |
If that isn't the case do you get the same error with python2.7?
Code: | # /usr/lib/python-exec/python2.7/mirrorselect -c USA -s3 -b5 -D |
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like I have a consistent python setup and python 2.7 isn't working either. I did notice that eselect python list does not show any selected python version, but setting the version seems to change the version. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khayyam Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
KWhat ... stupid of me to think that the 'stable' package would 'just work', doh! Anyhow, it doesn't, see this 2014-09-20 (yes, 2014) bug (specifically comments #4 and #5). The issue/error is the same as your's so please try:
Code: | # mirrorselect --ipv4 -c USA -s3 -b5 -D -t20 |
or ... emerge =app-portage/mirrorselect-9999.
best ... khay (now with new improved brain damage). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, worked! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
HAHAHA and the first mirror it picks is Georgia Tech!? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
So of the 3 mirrors this shitbox program wrote to my make.conf, 1 was GA tech. Of the 10 times I ran sync, 8 were GA tech.... the same mirror whos download speed cant seem to break 10k a second. I guess I will just manually write out GENTOO_MIRRORS although I thought that was deprecated. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
... and that still doesn't stop GA tech as a sync mirror. #HELP |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
khayyam Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
KWhat wrote: | ... and that still doesn't stop GA tech as a sync mirror. #HELP |
KWhat ... you probably have rsync.us in /etc/portage/repos.conf ... that would be a round-robin ("[a]ny available mirror"). So, set it to whatever rsync mirror is closest/fastest, eg (University of Northern Iowa):
/etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf: | [DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo
[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
sync-type = rsync
sync-uri = rsync://rsync6.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage/ |
HTH & best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KWhat l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005 Posts: 660 Location: Los Angeles
|
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ahh they moved it! Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
thumper Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002 Posts: 554 Location: Venice FL
|
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Same problem with GA Tech.
What was suggested above worked for me as well.
A rsync blacklist would be a real nice feature so we could still round robin through a group of useful mirrors.
Thank you;
George |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|