View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
nobody13 wrote: | I'm thinking I might just cut my losses and reinstall from scratch instead of fighting with it. |
nobody13 ... really? I would at least try copying mkdir from a backup, or stage3, and give that a go (as you can see it only requires glibc)
Code: | # ldd /bin/mkdir
linux-gate.so.1 (0xb7757000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb759e000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7758000) |
So, you might try finding a working 'mkdir', test, replace the broken one, and merge coreutils.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
For a temporary fix:
Code: | install --mode 0755 /bin/busybox /bin/mkdir |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ant P. wrote: | For a temporary fix:
Code: | install --mode 0755 /bin/busybox /bin/mkdir |
|
... what he said ;) ... only then 'emerge --oneshot coreutils'.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2202
|
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
cboldt wrote: | I didn't try as root, but as a user, both "./mkdir --help" and "mkdir --help" produced the help message, and neither one of those commands resulted in zero-byting ~/mkdir or /bin/mkdir |
You missed the (significant) ">" _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cboldt Veteran
Joined: 24 Aug 2005 Posts: 1046
|
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Goverp wrote: | You missed the (significant) ">" |
That's significant? Who knew? !! Well, yeah, that would tend to wipe things out, for sure! Looked right past it, took it as a prompt character, but on review, obviously it isn't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nobody13 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Jan 2006 Posts: 190
|
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did copy mkdir from another computer and it worked when i used mkdir aaa but had other issues. Add to that this computer is dreadfull slow. I had enough - went and put ubuntu on it. I have Gentoo running nicely on two other computers that i use regularly. This thing is just a dvr experiment. Thank you all for helping |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2202
|
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
cboldt wrote: | Goverp wrote: | You missed the (significant) ">" |
That's significant? Who knew? !! Well, yeah, that would tend to wipe things out, for sure! Looked right past it, took it as a prompt character, but on review, obviously it isn't. |
That was a made up example to show how easy it is to inadvertently wipe a file as root. As a real example of my own incompetence, spot the typo below:
Code: | cd /usr/src/linux-4.6.8
cp ../linux/.config ,
make oldconfig |
How not to upgrade a kernel config _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cboldt Veteran
Joined: 24 Aug 2005 Posts: 1046
|
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hahahah. I've probably done that. At least the file "comma" existed, I presume
When I do that operation, I cite the original or existing .conf similarly, except using the full directory name, e.g., "../linux-4.4.10-gentoo" So far, I haven't managed to copy the existing (old) config to comma, but give me time ... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|