Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Freedesktop.org XServer ebuilds
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 18, 19, 20  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
not_registered
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mine freezes when i try open up an xterm (to start xcompmgr).
i have an nvidia card (Xfbdev doesnt work properly either)

Code:

#!/bin/bash

server="Xfbdev"
screen="-screen 800x600x16"
mouse="-mouse /dev/input/mice,5"
fonts="-fp /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts"
opts="-dpi 96 -nolisten tcp"
rgb="-rgba rgb"

xinit -- /opt/fdo/bin/$server $opts $rgb $screen $mouse $fonts

_________________
It's Floam, it's Floam. It's flying foam!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
S_aIN_t
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 488
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright... got it installed and working..

however, two problems.

1. some of the fonts (artwiz) are missing
2. when i quit xserver i either get a blue screen and a locked system or a black screen and a locked system. the only solution is to reboot.


if anyone could help me with these two problems i would use xserver i a heartbeat.
_________________
"That which is overdesigned, too highly
specific, anticipates outcome; the anicipation of
outcome guatantees, if not failure, the
absence of grace."
- William Gibson, "All Tomorrow's Parties"
----
http://petro.tanreisoftware.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eikketk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2003
Posts: 270
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got that 'locking' problem too after a Ctrl-Alt-Backspace (cant logout nicely, caus still havent got my OB working :-()
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dracnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 397
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The installation went OK (had xv and composite in USE flags), and I can bring up a gnome-session using Xfbdev. Everything seems to work fine, except for the eye-candy -- no shadows or menu transparency. I can manually set transparency on selected windows with transset and they work fine. xcompmgr starts OK but gives some errors when I open and close things:
Code:

error 136 request 138 minor 7
error 140 request 141 minor 2
error 136 request 138 minor 7
error 140 request 141 minor 2
error 3 request 2 minor 0
error 136 request 138 minor 7
error 140 request 141 minor 2
error 3 request 3 minor 0

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
S_aIN_t
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 488
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dracnor wrote:
The installation went OK (had xv and composite in USE flags), and I can bring up a gnome-session using Xfbdev. Everything seems to work fine, except for the eye-candy -- no shadows or menu transparency. I can manually set transparency on selected windows with transset and they work fine. xcompmgr starts OK but gives some errors when I open and close things:
Code:

error 136 request 138 minor 7
error 140 request 141 minor 2
error 136 request 138 minor 7
error 140 request 141 minor 2
error 3 request 2 minor 0
error 136 request 138 minor 7
error 140 request 141 minor 2
error 3 request 3 minor 0

Any ideas?


what is transset... i dont have it on my computer
thanks for your help
_________________
"That which is overdesigned, too highly
specific, anticipates outcome; the anicipation of
outcome guatantees, if not failure, the
absence of grace."
- William Gibson, "All Tomorrow's Parties"
----
http://petro.tanreisoftware.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dracnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 397
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spyderous wrote:
New stuff up. Highlights are transset and uncover, which allow setting window transparency and showing live program thumbnails, respectively.


it sets window transparency to a default of 15...not sure how to alter the alpha level. You'll have to grab the ebuilds of of spyderous. Still trying to figure out how to get shadows and menu trans.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
S_aIN_t
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 488
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am stupid. the ebuilds were in the x11-misc dir of the overlay provided by spyderous. however, with trasp enabled (especially in bigger windows) xsever becomes very slow. i guess I should wait till they do some more work on it and till my video card (neomagic) is better supported.
_________________
"That which is overdesigned, too highly
specific, anticipates outcome; the anicipation of
outcome guatantees, if not failure, the
absence of grace."
- William Gibson, "All Tomorrow's Parties"
----
http://petro.tanreisoftware.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ibrotha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dracnor wrote:
spyderous wrote:
New stuff up. Highlights are transset and uncover, which allow setting window transparency and showing live program thumbnails, respectively.


it sets window transparency to a default of 15...not sure how to alter the alpha level. You'll have to grab the ebuilds of of spyderous. Still trying to figure out how to get shadows and menu trans.
The alpha level is hardcoded into the transset routine. To change it you have to change the value and recompile... I tried to do this, but changing it doesnt seem to give any effect (other than different numbers showing when I run the program, the transparency seems to be the same).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dracnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 397
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about the shadows and menu trans? Are they hard set during the compile or is there a way to change them during run-time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
encon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Australia Perth

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I have an transparent aterm thanks to transset its not 100% how i would like it. I wish it only made the background transparent and the forground to be the same.

I still cant get a transparent menu :( (using gnome 2.5.0 compiling 2.5.1 atm)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ibrotha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dracnor wrote:
What about the shadows and menu trans? Are they hard set during the compile or is there a way to change them during run-time?

Menu trans can be set by transset as well, I think.As far as i understand mouse input is the only way to get object id in transset(and adjust the ids alpha value). Unfortunately, it is hard to use the transset routine to set the alpha value of menus, as it requires you to click on the menu, which can be hard to do... I see someone has been able to do it in kde but so far I haven't managed to do it in gnome...

Shadows are set in xcompmngr I think. In order to change the shadows you would have to hack that routine in some way, or make yourself a "shadowset" routine. Don't ask me how ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heijs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2002
Posts: 174
Location: Groningen

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2003 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bump so more people can enjoy this great xserver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fizz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow, lookin realy good, running vesa at 1600x1200
too bad opengl apps wont run..
_________________
Athlon 64 3200, MSI NEO NForce 3, 1Gig PC3700, EVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malloc
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody has any idea as to when will this support other X drivers beside the vesa driver? (Namely the nvidia driver?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

malloc wrote:
Anybody has any idea as to when will this support other X drivers beside the vesa driver? (Namely the nvidia driver?)


Not overly soon. They're gunning for their ideal architecture. They're aiming at semantics and structure first, then the grunt work on stuff like drivers. I think there's also a hope that X server is 'wow' enough to attact NVidia, ATI, etc to start producing drivers for it as well as XFree.

Anyway, they're still debating the structure of OpenGL inclusion. Once that's written, tested, and working (3+ months at least) then you'll start to hear people talking of creating drivers to fit the architecture.
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craftyc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 443
Location: Behind You.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charlieg wrote:
Anyway, they're still debating the structure of OpenGL inclusion. Once that's written, tested, and working (3+ months at least) then you'll start to hear people talking of creating drivers to fit the architecture.


I've been following the mailing list and I get the feeling that they will be including OpenGL. Some guys have already started writing code for it.
_________________
Postcount ++
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MighMoS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 416
Location: @ ~

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2003 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may have been covered, or I missed it, but my mouse seems both hypersensitive, and each click seems to count as a double click. Like, clicking once on a menubar will hide it, and I have to hold the button down to go across menus. Anyone have this problem? Anyone fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MighMoS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 416
Location: @ ~

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2003 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops...I had that mouse line twice in startxkd....I feel dumb. Always a reminder to RTFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chickpea
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Vancouver WA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone yet compiled this standalone ie no xfree and then compiled any X apps?

I tried a while back but was not able to get it to work by itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heijs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2002
Posts: 174
Location: Groningen

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did, but I don't know how to start my wm after I launch X :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MighMoS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 416
Location: @ ~

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do:
Code:
$ /opt/fdo/bin/startxkd&
(alt+F1 back to console)
$xterm -display :0.0&
(alt+F7)
/opt/fdo/bin/xcompmgr&
[your wm bin name here, (gnome-session starts gnome)]


There's prolly a better script, but that's what I do. :? If you don't know your wm bin, you can do
Code:
$ qpkg -l [wm you emerged]|grep bin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anarchron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2003
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey is it possible to get a resolution of 1400x1050 with Xvesa? If so, how?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markfl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 240
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Friendly bump to say this new x server is coming along very nicely, once the base code is done and is stable and driver work begins i sincerely hope that several major distros (read RH, MDK and others) take this up and give nVidia and ATI reasons to make drivers and/or provide the resources for open source drivers to be made for many cards.

An open source nVidia driver would be very popular

anyway
friendly bump on its way to fast, sexy looking GUI's for linux :)

MJ
_________________
Life it seems, will fade away
Drifting further every day
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MighMoS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Apr 2003
Posts: 416
Location: @ ~

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While I would love it (and many others I'm sure) if nVidia created opensourced drivers, they most likely wont for a LOOONG time, because it would reveal their secrets if the drivers were half-decent. And, while yes, ATI / anyone else copying them would be illegal, well, you know how quickly they would anyway. Its up to open source to create open source drivers...if someone ever gets decent ones, I'll beta-test!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mallchin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qball wrote:
does it support xinerama? I realy need that :)


I second this. I guess I will have to try it.
_________________
6700 @ 2.66GHz, 4Gb RAM, 2 x 500Gb, 8800 GTX, PhysX, X-Fi, 24" Widescreen, Tux mascot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 9 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum