View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rileysu n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2018 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:56 pm Post subject: Apple G5 issues with yaboot |
|
|
So I've been running through the PPC handbook in order to install gentoo on my Apple G5 and so far am loving the gentoo philosophy of compiling from source rather than installing packages. I've worked my way to the installing bootloader section of the handbook although this is where I became stuck. I ran through the yabootconfig utility and everything seemed fine until i rebooted and ran into a somewhat notorious error that I later found a lot of threads relating to on the forums:
Code: | boot: Linux
Please wait, loading kernal...
ht@0,f2000000/pci@7/k2-sata-root@c/k2-sata@0/disk@0:5,/kernel: No such file or directory |
Although my open firmware device seems to be rather long compared to the other examples I saw online, not sure if this related to the problem, although upon running ofpath it seemed to be correct. I was also informed that yaboot was not compatible with ext4 so I created an ext3 boot partition, here is my current partition table:
Code: |
/dev/sda
# type name length base (size) system
/dev/sda1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1 (31.5k) Partition map
/dev/sda2 Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap 1600 @ 64 (800.0k) NewWorld bootblock
/dev/sda3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap 8388608 @ 1664 (4.0G) Linux Swap
/dev/sda4 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root 964689920 @ 8390272 (460.0G) Linux native
/dev/sda5 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 boot 3690863 @ 973080192 (1.8G) Linux native
|
Here is my yaboot.conf:
Code: |
## yaboot.conf generated by yabootconfig 1.0.8
##
## run: "man yaboot.conf" for details. Do not make changes until you have!!
##
## For a dual-boot menu, add one or more of:
## bsd=/dev/hdaX, macos=/dev/hdaY, macosx=/dev/hdaZ
boot=/dev/sda2
root=/dev/sda4
device=/ht@0,f2000000/pci@7/k2-sata-root@c/k2-sata@0/disk@0:
partition=5
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
image=/kernel
label=Linux
read-only
|
And my fstab just in case:
Code: |
/dev/sda3 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/sda4 / ext4 defaults 0 1
/dev/sda5 /boot ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto defaults 0 0
|
Does anyone know how to fix this problem or what steps I should take in order to try and do so? Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
guitou Guru
Joined: 02 Oct 2003 Posts: 534 Location: France
|
Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello.
I guess you should replace "kernel", with real kernel image path (relative to /boot)
++
Gi) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rileysu n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2018 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
guitou wrote: | Hello.
I guess you should replace "kernel", with real kernel image path (relative to /boot)
++
Gi) |
I was following the yaboot manual:
Code: |
It's worth noting that yaboot locates the kernel image within a partition's filesystem without regard to where that partition will eventually be mounted within the Linux root filesystem. So, for example, if you've placed a kernel image or symlink at /boot/vmlinux, but /boot is actually a separate partition on your system, then the image path for yaboot will just be image=/vmlinux.
|
But upon trying both methods it's worth noting that neither worked. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
guitou Guru
Joined: 02 Oct 2003 Posts: 534 Location: France
|
Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sure, but are you sure your kernel image is named "kernel"?..
++
Gi) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rileysu n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2018 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
guitou wrote: | Sure, but are you sure your kernel image is named "kernel"?..
++
Gi) |
Yeah I renamed it after I ran into these issues so it was easier to enter in after I had to constantly change the config. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
guitou Guru
Joined: 02 Oct 2003 Posts: 534 Location: France
|
Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry, having no experience with PPC in fact, then I'm afraid I won't be any help to you, but for the obvious.
Just triple check your config (what about your "device" setting?) and/or hope for an expert to give better advice.
Wish you good luck.
++
Gi) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|